We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but Overpriced”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2009

With a long, steep driveway lined by lavender and olive trees, Villa Veldemosa is nestled in the hills about 20 minutes east of Paso Robles. Remotely located, animal lovers will rejoice watching the deer, hawks, and quail at this quaint, five-room B&B.

With high ceilings and solid, comfy furniture, the main house is warm and inviting. For music lovers, there is a piano. The heliocentric will love the pool with hot tub, while those more used to veg-ing out in front of the TV will revel in the enormous DVD collection.

The personable and outgoing innkeeper, Tom, loves to talk about wine and personally attends to guests' needs.

While potentially idyllic, the setting is marred by a few flaws. Two or three guest rooms are in a converted garage, and fixtures are low-end for an establishment that is otherwise so nice. There was no closet to store clothes, just a wire utility shelf from Home Depot bolted to the wall. There were only a few $0.39 plastic hanger on which to hang clothes. The screen door was nearly falling off. The bathroom door did not shut properly. The screen of the combo TV/DVD player was so small as to be un-viewable from the bed. Etc. Etc.

If you are looking to experience a rural, wine country B&B, Villa Valdemosa may be for you. If you are looking for a home base from which to explore west-side wineries and local restaurants, there are better options: Villa Bellasera ($199+), SummerWood B&B ($250+), and Hotel Cheval ($325+) are your "go to" properties.

Regardless of your holiday goals, in these times for $275 a night, Villa Valdemosa (or any other property) should deliver true wine country luxury. A personable innkeeper can only go so far; for that kind of money, one can, and should, expect more.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Desperado Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 191 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2009

Just got home from a wonderful weekend in the Paso Robles wine country and we had a lovely time at the Villa Valdemosa. Tom was a wonderful host and he and his wife do a beautiful job of being very inviting and accommodating. We could have had a better time. The food was terrific. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The views are terrific from any room in the home. Great experience and looking forward to another romantic weekend away... thanks! Analee & Ed

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank analeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed in the Bordeaux Suite - a very comfortable room with a nice view. The bathroom is large enough to entertain a small group of people. A large soaking tub and a seperate large walk-in shower are featured along with two seperate countertop face bowl areas. The full breakfasts were quite substantial and tasty. Everything was neat and clean. Tom, the Innkeeper,goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is pleasant experience. The property is situated about 1/4th of a mile off the highway on a knoll overlooking farm land and vineyards. Complete quiet and within easy driving distance to many wineries.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melvinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Villa Valdemosa is located in one of the most picturesque settings I have ever seen, right in the heart of Paso Roble's Backroads Wine Trail. Every inch of this place is gorgeous! Mention Valdemosa at any of the wineries along the trail, and you'll instantly be treated like family. A veteran himself, the proprietor is a gracious host to those who serve. Villa Valdemosa is the perfect spot for romance, and for discovering fantastic, little-known wines!




Owner/winemaker's creations

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G128G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

The first thing you notice about Villa Valdemosa is the incredible view. There is not a window without a breathtaking scene. The second thing you notice is the luxury of the accommodations: from the high thread-count sheets, to the garden tub overlooking a vineyard, to the gourmet breakfasts every aspect of your stay is high-end. Finally, you will be struck by the perfect setting for the pool and hot tub at the crest of the hill.
If you are looking for a romantic getaway, away from the noise of the city, but close to beautiful vineyards, this is the perfect place for you.
The innkeepers are extremely welcoming. The made both of us, and our four legged companion, feel right at home.
Each morning began with fresh made scones, fresh fruit, and fresh brewed coffee, which were provided while a delicately flavored, but hearty breakfast was prepared.
I would recommend Villa Valdemosa to any of my friends or family and am looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMGA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Our stay at Villa Valdemosa was to be our splurge night in the area with a possible 2nd night if we liked it. We took one of the higher-priced rooms. What a disappointment! The room was no better than a mid-priced motel, in fact it was smaller; had no closet, just a rod to hang clothes on; had a space heater to heat the room, as the regular heat didn't do the job; had a very small bathroom with a jacuzzi tub with an unworkable drain and no counter around the sink to put any toiletries; and had a tiny "patio" overlooking earth-moving equipment next door. The lack of TV service wasn't a problem to us but might be to others. The breakfast was ok but nothing to rave about. The good part? the views on two sides were lovely - overlooking vineyards.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank myadviceNewHaven_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2009

We were very disapointed to see a negative review of our property posted without first having an opportunity to work through the issues with the visitor involved.
We have had over 150 visitors since opening last year.
This is the first time we have had any negative feedback. We especially get rave reviews regarding our home cooked meals and attention to guest satisfaction. While we are not a hotel and do not advertise satelite TV as one of our amenities, we do have a DVD library of over 400 movies and WIFI Internet access, and flat screen TV's with built in DVD players available for our guests. Our room sizes are above average in terms of size in the price range offered, and all our rooms have ten foot ceilings. Our larger rooms are 380-675 S.F. in size and all have private baths, jacuzzi tubs or deep soaking tubs, and even private view patios. We would have preferred to mitigate the situation if we had the opportunity to do so. We believe that the opinion expressed by this review does not fairly represent our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
5.1 mi away
Inn Paradiso
Inn Paradiso
#9 of 30 in Paso Robles
139 reviews
6.7 mi away
Emily's House B & B
Emily's House B & B
#13 of 30 in Paso Robles
48 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 30 in Paso Robles
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Ridge Manor
High Ridge Manor
#8 of 30 in Paso Robles
128 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sundance Bed and Breakfast
Sundance Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 30 in Paso Robles
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range: £163 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing