We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melody Ranch Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melody Ranch Motel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Retro feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here July 6th while cruising around California's Central Valley and Coast. This place is your quintessential motel from the 50's and 60's. Clean and as inexpensive as you'll get in Paso. Staff friendly and helpful. Cute pool too! Bed was on the firm side and tv small but great value for being downtown. You can walk to the square, and all the restaurants and shopping. We will definitely stay here next time we come to Paso.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hulajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    54
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
54
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've stayed at the Melody Ranch six times in the past several years in get away trips up and down the state. We try to make Paso a stop in all our travels and this motel is the place to stay in Paso. It's old, it's been used, it has character. If you're looking for squeaky new high-tech you won't like it. If you want a friendly, comfortable, old-fashioned motel, one block from the center of town, stay here! It is owner operated and Frank, the charming owner, is everywhere -- in the office, cleaning the pool, laying sod, toting mini-fridges. If you have time, stop and chat with him for a while. You'll see why local on-site owner beats faceless corporate management any day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here truly based off other reviewers. This is motel is located within walking distance of downtown. There is a pool on site. This hotel was clean and reminded my of growing up in the 60's so if you are looking for an updated hotel--this isn't the place. The front desk was very pleasant. We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wabeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our travels brought us from Yosemite to Paso Robles and it's well worth the stay. Melody Ranch Motel is a right out of the 1960's. But this little jewel is well taken care of by Frank Fritschle and his parents would be proud. The room was clean, shower hot, the price was great, and Frank even provided a small refrigerator for us. I would definitely recommend Melody Ranch Motel for your next stay. The pool looked inviting too, but we didn't have time for a swim. Our afternoon was spent at Daou Winery sipping delicious wines and enjoying the pastoral views. It's only a 15 minute drive from the motel. Our dinner choice was the Paso Robles Inn Steakhouse, one block away, and the food and service were excellent. Thank you Frank for making our stay-over in Paso Robles a comfortable one!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison Twp.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

It's a flash back to a 60's motel but VERY clean and pleasant. We were very happy with our stay and you cannot beat the price. Great location. Walking distance to downtown and many good restaurants near by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne
Level Contributor
400 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

An Oldie but a Goodie. Carefully maintained. Clean and welcoming — not as up-to-date as others, but it certainly suited us. Nice people.
The 'Buona Tavola' Italian restaurant is right next door - fifty feet away - and we thought that it's seriously good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed one night, on a drive to Southern California. The reviews on Tripadvisor were really good, so we gave it a try. Check in was easy, the room was comfortable, quiet and clean. It's obviously an older motel, that has been well cared for. We enjoyed our stay, it was a good value and we will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CWSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
0.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.5 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn on Spring
The Inn on Spring
#14 of 18 in Paso Robles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melody Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Ranch Motel

Property: Melody Ranch Motel
Address: 939 Spring St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2513
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paso Robles
#11 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Melody Ranch Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Melody Ranch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melody Ranch Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing