We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aaaamazing Wines and Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ecluse Wines

Ecluse Wines
Ranked #24 of 163 things to do in Paso Robles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Écluse may not be familiar to you yet but we will be! We invite you to discover us and experience wine tasting the old fashion way – in the barrel room with the winemaker! We are a small family owned winery & vineyard dedicated to producing limited production, hand-crafted, award-winning Rhone and Bordeaux style wines. Located on 30 beautiful acres of gently rolling hillside terroir on the desired Westside of the Paso Robles AVA, our philosophy is to make the very best wines from the very best fruit. Come "Savor the Wine that is truly Écluse"!Cheers!We are a small, boutique family owned winery therefore a reservation is required for groups of 7-10 and must be made in advance. We are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10. To schedule a tasting reservation, please give us a call. We look forward to welcoming you into our tasting room!
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Aaaamazing Wines and Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

It is off the beaten path but it is well worth putting it in the GPS and enjoying the countryside. They only do tastings on Friday to Sunday so plan ahead.

Our visit was late in the day and we had the place to ourselves. Friendly, well educated staff added to the experience of the fantastic, customized experience. All the wines we tasted were low volume, well crafted wines. Barrel tasting was also a fun highlight of our trip. It's a great complement to some of the big, well traveled wineries in the region.

It really is one of the all time best winery visits that we've had in 20 years of wine tasting!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Spi-kids_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
238 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rhone Style Wine in Paso Robles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We discovered this winery from our attendance at the Paso Robles Wine Festival. This is a small privately owned winery specializing in the blending of French Varietals in French or Hungarian Oak. The tasting was complimentary and included a sample of one blend being aged in Hungarian Oak and then a taste of the same blend, same age out of French Oak. The difference in the wine was amazing but both were delicious with deep fruit at only about 10 months in the barrels. They have a good selection of wines and the prices are reasonable considering that all are hand crafted. There is limited production but these are a good value for special occasion wines that are unique. The discussion with John who has 10 years with this winery was very informative. It pays to go to smaller wineries on Friday when the crowds are minimal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gem of a winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

One of the best places in Paso Robles for really solid wines at excellent prices. A true undiscovered gem. Worth the time to go there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlsbad
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“John was very knowledgeable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Be careful getting off the 101 on the right street, as Paso Robles insists on making streets difficult. John poured our wine when we arrived and was a walking book on wine, etc. Very nice place, very nice guy. Write out all your questions, he will know everything! Heck, I dislike wine and I even was getting into it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlsbadJohn_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila Beach, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Must visit winery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is a beautiful place among the rolling hills. Don't let the windy dirt road scare you from coming here. It's so peaceful.

My husband and I were a little reluctant to visit some wineries since we had our 10 month old baby in tow, but the girls here made us feel really comfortable saying children and dogs are welcome! You can tell they love wine and are really passionate about it. We did the free wine tasting and even got to taste a few Cabs wines straight from the barrels! Nice!

We ending up buying 2 bottles of the 2010 Zinfandel and a bottle of the "Prelude" - a delicious white blend...can't wait to open our bottles and dream about walking in the hills of this beautiful place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ecluse Wines also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ecluse Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing