We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wine”
Review of Grey Wolf Cellars

Grey Wolf Cellars
Ranked #45 of 164 things to do in Paso Robles
Attraction details
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good wine”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Conveniently located on W 46. Not the best wine in Paso Robles but worth a wine tasting stop.

Helpful?
Thank beaken66213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escondido
Level Contributor
231 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Grey Wolf, 2174 Hwy 46. By mentioning the ad, we were give free tastings. The price otherwise is a modest $5 (a tip jar allows balancing this offer). The tasting room is in a older and modest house, with some of the “antiques” visible. The house bathroom is available to visitors. Only one of the seven wines we tasted was named with a grape in mind, and that was the Chard. There were 3 whites and 4 reds, priced in the $20’s, except the Lone Wolf Red that was $16. The wines were well worth the stop. Service was good. No pressure to buy. Somewhat recommended, especially for the Zins.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ranles76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
433 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“the real deal”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is it; the quintessence of Paso Robles wines - boutique winery, small production, attention to detail, massive ethereal wines, personal service, astonishing value. A highlight visit amongst many similar, but not all so excellent, in the region. I used to think that Puglia, Italy or the Languedoc, France were where the best value reds were to be found but this region has been a revelation; a paradigm shift for me; if you choose your visits carefully.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda Dunes, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent wine”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We just spent a long weekend in Paso Robles, and of the many delightful wineries we visited, we thought this one offered some of the very best wines. The cozy, Southwestern adobe tasting room is perched high on a hill with a nice view of surrounding vineyards. A beautiful setting and excellent wines!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank skistopalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Add This to Your List of Wineries to Visit”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The tasting room at Grey Wolf Cellars is warm and inviting. The server was knowledgeable and friendly, but the best of all are the zinfandels. We particularly liked the full bodied finish of the 2009 Jackal zin. As for the white wines, we selected the 2009 Sauvignon Blanc. We didn’t see a Grey Wolf (except for the bronze image which stands guard outside), but we loved the laid back presence of a white lab. This winery should be on your itinerary of tasting rooms.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank arniepalmerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grey Wolf Cellars also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Grey Wolf Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing