We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This may be Paso' s best kept secret”
Review of Caparone Winery

Caparone Winery
Ranked #67 of 164 things to do in Paso Robles
Attraction details
San Miguel, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This may be Paso' s best kept secret”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have been in as many as 14 wine clubs at once. As we continue to explore local wineries for another great find, I compare them overall to Caparone. We have been members for fourteen years. Last night we had a ten year old merlot, incomparable to anything in our collection. Luckily, there are a few of those left.

As much as we love this winery, it may not be for everyone. Unfiltered wines may not suit your taste. For us, we like every one of Mark and Dave's accomplishments reduced to a bottle. Finally, if you find a better price anywhere, for a very good wine that will lay down like these, please post it here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jas0381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Charming Old School Winery”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We decided to visit Caparone Winery because of the Trip Advisor reviews. We are not fans of the large fancy wineries, we like unfiltered red wines and like good value. It is not fancy and what you see is what you get. This visit they had six varietals all from their land. Mark and his Dad run the operation and all the wines are $16.00 per bottle. All were good value and cannot be found generally except at the winery. Mark was a wealth of information regarding all the growth in the Paso Robles area over the last 40 years. Just chatting with him was worth the visit but we will return to meet his Dad. The tasting was all free and we left with a special half case of unique Italian red.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
207 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Don't let the plain building keep you from visiting!”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Yes, please do not be deterred by the very simple surroundings of this fantastic winery. As the other reviews very correctly state, simple, absolutely no frills what so ever so.. if you need glitz and glitter for the wine to be impressive, this place is not for you BUT if you really want to try unfined, unfiltered.....very true wines at unreal low prices then this is theeeee place!
Dave served us and gave us some info about each wine tasted and we tried them all and bought them all....uh seriously $14 per bottle how could I pass on that deal....it's great, unique, real...straight forward. We are definitely going to join the club and be waiting by the door for the UPS man!
You must go here, yes it's a short drive, so what, totally worth it, say hi to Dave and enjoy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good wine at a great price!”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Caparone is a father and son venture with a very simple premise - make good wine, offer it at a decent price, and it will sell itself. Tastings are complimentary and all wines are $14. The tasting room consists of a counter in the barrel room with one of the winemakers (Dave) pouring. Marc responded promptly to an email sent prior to our visit. Be wary of online mapping directions, instead use the directions available on the Caparone website. We left with a bottle of Sangiovese and one of the Aglianico (a very unique Italian varietal we had not tried before).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LovetoScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very good reds”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Owners are proud of not doing much marketing; the tasting room could not be simpler. If you are looking for very good reds for $14, check this out. One of the oldest wineries in the Paso region. My ratings are not for the wines, which seem to be as good as you'll find, but for the overall experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Milocat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caparone Winery also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Caparone Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing