We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best View and also nice wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Daou Vineyards

Daou Vineyards
Ranked #12 of 163 things to do in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brothers Daniel and Georges searched and found the ideal place with a perfect terroir in the Adelaida AVA in Paso Robles, California. Two brothers, one dream. Grow and produce great Cabernet Sauvignon and Bordeaux Blends.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best View and also nice wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went here because we heard from several people that it was worth it for the amazing view. That is so true and there's plenty of seating close to the edge and also outside under cover on the porch. I believe you can pre-order a lunch and get some wine to take outside and just relax. We tasted the wine which was really very good but pricey we thought.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    52
    26
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
542 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Probably one of the best views of any winery in the Paso Robles area. The wines are top notch and have a great staff. When the Lavender is in bloom on the hill below the tasting room the air is full of fragrance. Great venue to kick back on their patio have a nice glass of wine and enjoy the beautiful view. Twice on our way up there was a flock of Wild Turkey's running arount the property.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank csarchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pastoral Daou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Daou Vineyards is beautiful; from its Spanish influenced architecture to the pastoral vineyards, the environment beacons your senses. Our wine tasting experience was perfect and the sommelier very knowledgeable. We purchased the Granache Blanc and the Reserved Zinfandel in celebration of our California vacation. I would recommend Daou Vinyards to anyone seeking an afternoon of sensual delight.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Its all about the view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We decided against doing a tasting here and opted instead for a glass of wine and a chance to relax and enjoy the view. The views really are spectacular and the tasting room is very swanky. I can't comment on all their wine but the glass I had wasn't to my taste. Worth a stop and it would make an amazing wedding venue.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just a big rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The views may be beautiful, but so are lots of places in Paso. The $20 tasting fee with 1/2 oz pour stopper on tastings barely gives you a taste of their ok wine. The staff is rude, the service poor and you don't get to keep the glass. In fact they have a surly old lady monitoring the glasses. We paid $60 (3 tastings) for nothing more than a nice view. There are too many other good Paso wineries to waste time & money on just a nice view. We belong to wine clubs in Paso & Napa, so I do consider ourselves Daou target market. Definitely won't be coming back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank screwtopprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daou Vineyards also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Daou Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing