We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spanish Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estrella - CLOSED

Estrella
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Park St
Transit: AM Track Train Depot 2 blocks south on cross street -Pine street
Description: 11-2 Lunch daily - 11-2:30 Fri, sat Dinner 5-10 pm Daily. A beautiful restaurant down town directly on the city park in a gorgeous old brick bldg., "Modern Latin" menu w/ influences from Spain, Argentina and the Mexico. Large groups, rehearsal dinners and private parties welcomed. Executive Chef Travis Borba, Michael Learned and team, offer fresh, savory dishes w/out heavy sauces. More popular dishes include 3 varieties of Chile Relleno, Patagonia NY Strip, Enchaladas and moist fish entrees. Prime Rib-Eye Steaks with a fantastic Chimichurri sauce. The house made Sangria is well known, and compliments the long list of remarkable local wines and brews. Very friendly service and professional decor complete with handmade furniture and plush upholstered chairs. Beautiful Patio dining out front overlooking the city park - 815 12TH ST ACROSS FROM THE PARK GAZEBO, find us open table
Calabasas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spanish Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The wine list is a bit sparse. I would recommend you bring your own.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DSCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    112
    34
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
243 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Such good tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Dinner on Friday night 25 April 2014 was wonderful. They have two menus, the full dinner and the tapas menu. We had tapas and loved everything we ordered. The manager spent fifteen minutes with us discussing the winery options in the area and we followed his advice with great success in winery visiting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Faxon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We all enjoyed the food and service here at Estrella. Lovely decorations and just adjacent to the downtown park so lots of shops and other restaurants nearby. The special for the evening was a Cajun spiced grilled steak with bacon Demi-glacé on a green salad with sautéed veggies and roasted potatoes. Very yummy?corkage is only $10 so we brought a local wine to share. I would definitely eat here again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MGA57GAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great service , disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We made a reservation a few days in advance as we were concerned about a Saturday night crowd. Not. necessary. The place was nearly empty. We were looking forward to an Argentinian experience. Food was bland and the meat was over cooked. We had good wine and the mussels were a pleasant surprise. They were delicious. Our server was delightful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Banjogirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prescott,arizona
Level Contributor
305 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“latin fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Promptly seated with comfortable decor and extensive menu and wine list. Server efficient and friendly. Uneven preparation of 4 different entrees, i.e. overcooked steak and slightly different curry flavor. Raves for other 2 entrees. A little noisy and frenetic, but full of people having a good time. A convenient location.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sueprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estrella also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing