We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite tasting rooms ever!”

Tobin James Cellars
Ranked #1 of 165 things to do in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TOBIN JAMES-IT'S ALL TRUE!! Open 10 - 6 daily. Tobin James Cellars, established in 1985, is famous for its rich, intense Cabernet Sauvignons, Zinfandels, Syrahs, Merlot, Bordeaux blends, Chardonnay and many other varietals. Tasting at the Grand Antique Bar, the popular Tasting Room is always a must for wine lovers. The legendary James Gang Wine Club is a growing testament to the winery's commitment to excellent quality and its fun, unpretentious approach to wine. Complimentary tasting. Only closed Christmas Day.
Fresno, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of my favorite tasting rooms ever!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Epic wine tasting room! If tasting in Paso Robles, it's the first place you should visit (or maybe last because you will be hooked). There is no fee to taste, and they aren't stingy. It's themed as a saloon, has amazing wines (bold, spicy, and fruit forward...a good range). If you like a dry light wine, this may not appeal to you. Wines in many price ranges, many pretty reasonable, especially after you have had some tastings. Staff is always good, chatty, friendly, smiling, and polite. I've been here many times and have never had a bad experience ever. Paso Robles has over 200 wineries. If you want to simplify and have a route, hit Tobin James, corner of 46 and Union road, then stick to a Union Road trip as there are many to try that are good, Pear Valley, Penman Springs, Clautiere, All must visits! Tobin rules the Paso roost though!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShannonLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S, Owner at Tobin James Cellars, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Wow! We really appreciate being your favorite winery and tasting room! Thank you so much for your glowing review and your expert help steering new Paso Robles winery explorers in the best direction! Cheers, and hope to see you soon in the Tasting Room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    97
    58
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sackville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great stop and tasting!”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Friendly staff and a great tasting. The reserve list is a must try and the Blue Moon Zin in particular is perfect! One orf the best rooms to visit in this area - thank you!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marlene47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great wine without the attitude”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I routed my trip through Paso just to hit T.J. and replenish my stock of Syrah Rose. Finally, a winery owner that is smart enough to realize that if people can actually taste your product (no tasting fee) they might actually purchase more! I also have to commend the young lady pouring for my friend and me. When I told her I was a repeat customer and what I liked, she presented the reserve list and poured whatever I wanted (important to just taste and not drink the entire sample at this point). She quite correctly guessed that I was already good for a half case of the Syrah & that she could probably work me up to a full mixed case (quite correct, as it turned out). So I got great wine, great customer service, and a great case discount. I keep wondering why other wineries can't figure it out, but am happy to have T.James!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank USC-Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S, Owner at Tobin James Cellars, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for loving our wines so much and for taking the time to write such a great review. That Syrah Rose' is Lance's favorite five o'clock wine! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There are no rules, just enjoy!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a fully bodied robust zinfindel this is your place! They have several different ones to choose from. There isn't a tasting fee, and many to choose from and you can go right down their list. There are better wines that are not on the first wine list they show you. They are off list. So if you act interested or ask they will bring out the better wines and that is where they shine. They have an amazing Petite Syrah, and my favorite of their Zins is their Fat Boy, very jammy and delicious. I prefer to go on a weekday when they aren't so crowded, but it is always a fun experience.

Helpful?
Thank Clhendricks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must stop here!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Tobin James is one of the first wineries you come to on Hwy 46. STOP! You must visit this one if you love wine and want to have lots of fun. We have been members of TJ for several years but don't get to visit nearly enough. The hardest part is deciding which wine to buy because they have so many fabulous ones. You'll love the servers and the old-time western tasting room.

Helpful?
Thank 5_Frosts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tobin James Cellars also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Tobin James Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing