We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure I'm ready to share this place...I want it all to myself!”
Review of Comus House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Comus House
Ranked #16 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not sure I'm ready to share this place...I want it all to myself!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

It literally has taken me a week to write this review because this is a place I'm not sure I want to share! And I've been told I'm not the only one who stays here and feels the same way! We were so lucky to stay at the Comus House after friends of ours invited us for a surprise 50th birthday party. If first impressions are everything, then this place is it. From the winding driveway up the hill and through the vines to the detailed custom architecture to the gorgeous infinity pool overlooking the vineyard covered hillsides, this is heaven. Our friends couldn't get over how incredibly peaceful and relaxing this place is. And to add to this heaven on earth? Ron and Felisa are the gold standard (platinum?) when it comes to the perfect hosts. This is no little country B&B, this place exudes style. From the tantalizing gourmet breakfasts in the morning to the fabulous 4 o'clock wine and cheese spreads, to the handwritten thank you note we received when we returned home, we were delighted with their incredible attention to detail. They love what they do and it shows. We were "wowed" and then some. We stayed in the Ditchdigger room which was spacious and comfy. We will most definitely be back. Shhhh...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a very special place. We stayed 2 nights in The Pelletiere, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Three of the 4 rooms overlook the gorgeous valley and rolling vineyard hills. Everything is set up for comfort, and it's hard to leave the inn to taste the wines of the region, but you must make time for that as well. The outstanding wines of Paso Robles is a secret that's beginning to get out.

Our hosts, Don and Felisa, couldn't have been nicer, and their breakfasts were wonderful. They laid out a cheese plate for us each evening, along with a nice glass of a Denner wine. The inn is a part of the Denner Winery (some of the best of the region), and wine club members get a discount at the inn.

The house is available for sitting and visiting, and so it is ideal to book with friends.

Room Tip: The Pelletiere is the only room with a tub, if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is a can't miss. Stayed during zin feat and had a fantastic time. Home an setting is great. Our hosts were fantastic. Only 4 rooms so make your reservations early. Will be back next year. Already made our reservations

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This gorgeous house sits on top of a hill in the middle of beautiful Paso Robles wine region. The 360 views of the surrounding Denner Vineyards is absolutely breathtaking. The inn is comfortable, very tastefully decorated, and very convenient to the bulk of the westside vineyards. The afternoon cheese & wine pairing, the views, and the hospitality of the innkeepers, Ron & Felisa, makes this b&b a perfect spot for a weekend get away!

We stayed at the Janis room which was comfortable but small. We recommend the DitchDigger or DirtWorshipper.

Room Tip: DitchDigger or DirtWorshipper would be our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanAndAssana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed at the Comus House for 3 nights in early July. We had the Janis room which is in the front of the house. There are 4 rooms total. The rooms and the house in general are immaculate. The house is unbelievably beautiful. Felisa is a great host and cooks a fantastic breakfast in the morning. The views from the house are unreal as the house sits atop a hill overlooking much of Paso. The convenience of the house cannot be beat. You are within an easy drive of all of the great wineries in the area. Only negative is that the House has a beautiful pool with an infinite edge which looks out toward the valley and the "Tuscanesque" setting, but the County will not allow guests to use it. You have to sign a statement acknowledging that you won't use it. But that minor flaw would not prevent me from booking this B&B in the future. The cost is well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csuosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
8.1 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
5.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
631 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
673 reviews
8.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comus House

Property: Comus House
Address: 2885 Willow Creek Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9696
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing