We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Innkeepers in Paso or...”
Review of Comus House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Comus House
Ranked #16 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

...anywhere! B & B inns can be intimate or can just lack privacy. Comus House had the perfect balance of interaction between the genuine innkeepers with experiences being tailored to the preferences of the guests. We were touched with the warmth of Felisha during our stay. Highlights were the divine wine reception plate including lovely almonds, salume, figs, and special cheeses which was easily our best meal in Paso and the breakfast which was heavenly stuffed french toast.

The Comus House which is located about 10-15 minute walk from the tasting room (complimentary tasting for inn guests) has excellent views of the vineyards from 3 of the 4 rooms (Janis does not have any views/windows but has french doors out to a nice front porch seating area). Rooms were comfortable, but the larger rooms were more suited for hanging out. Otherwise the backyard offers plenty of seating to take in the serenity of the property with extremely comfortable furniture and stunning decor inside and outside of the home. We felt like our vacation began when we arrived to the Comus House. Every detail was tended to and the emphasis on "green" was appreciated.

Note: Check-in times of 3-6pm and check-out at 11am are firm. Plan your arrival and departure accordingly. Location is convenient to other wineries on vineyard drive as well as shops (Trader Joe's and Pier 46) in Templeton and downtown Paso. The innkeepers kindly showed us a refrigerator for putting items to keep cold.

Room Tip: If you want a bath tub choose the Pelletiere. Three rooms (other than Janis) offer vineyard views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreamtravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed one night for wine tasting and the Mid-State California Fair (Rascal Flatts concert). The contemporary design is stylish and inviting. Felisa, the manager, was cheerful and accommodating, providing a tasty snack plate on arrival that we enjoyed in the backyard with complementary glasses of Denner Syrah. The grounds are gorgeous. The hilltop backyard overlooks vineyards, and open space, with deer visibly active in the morning and evening in the surrounding valley. The breakfast, served on the backyard patio, was ample and delicious.

The room was spacious and well designed, and one of only four in the house. Would certainly return, but would not stay in the Pelletiere room. The heating unit in the adjacent utility room is just on the other side of bed's headboard. When the heating system goes on, it's like being in the cabin of a 737. Other than that, everything else about Comus House is right for a relaxing Paso Robles getaway.

Room Tip: Would request the Ditch Digger or the Dirt Worshipper on our next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictorEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Nothing else will likely ever compare to this wonderful stay. I view this visit as an experience, not just a first class B&B.

The property is amazing and sits atop the vineyards. The innkeepers are genuine and genious. They do it all just right. Food is delicious and presented beautifully.

Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MappyPhoenixAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I'm hoping that will keep people away since this really is the type of place you want to keep a secret. We really have never had such a wonderful experience at a B&B...anyplace. Not only is it set in fabulous surroundings (the views are indescribable), but the house itself is a contemporary architectural masterpiece. Somehow it combines concrete, wood, and metal and manages to exude a rare country charm and coziness that is truly unique. The innkeepers Ron and Felisa are the absolute role models for perfection. We felt like friends by the time our short stay was over. We cannot say enough about our stay at Comus House. We will only stay here when we visit the area again.

Room Tip: The Janis has a nice soft bed, it's a bit smaller and has no windows that open at night. The Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bike-n-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Our stay at Comus house was simply divine. As fairly seasoned travelers, Comus House is definitely a solid five stars in luxury and comfort bed and breakfast point of view.
First impression: WoW. Main door opens and you are invited into the living room. High ceilings with floor to ceiling windows. Very grandiose and your eyes are instantly drawn into outside. Vineyard is what you see and you feel very serene and relaxed.

We stayed 2 nights: dirt worshipper and pelletiere. Both are very clean (important factor for us), and great, each with their own appeals. Dirt worshipper has corner windows so you get a great view of the vineyard owned by Denner, and it is bigger room. Firm mattress is exactly how we prefer our bed. Water pressure in shower is good. Although, we later found out that Pelletiere bath is superior as it has shower and separate tub with even stronger water pressure. Comus offers shampoo, conditioner, and in Pelletiere room, you get bonuses like bath salt and bubble bath. Pelletiere room is on the smaller side but we did not mind this. Actually, we prefer this room (although the mattress is softer, but that is personal preference).

During our stay, breakfast was served outside in the patio which we loved. Everything was yummy and filling. Table presentation was a bonus. You can make your own coffee (with the fancy expresso-like-machine) and snack on the delicious blueberry or chocolate with banana sliced pound cake while you wait for your breakfast to be served. I love their wine hour as well. Since they market themselves as B&B, food needs to be quite good, and we think they succeeded in this area. Comus House does have an infinity pool and I believe jacuzzi overlooking the vineyard, but due to city's regulation, guests are now allowed to use them. I know it's very tempting but guests who enjoy their stay should respects the rules.

The innkeepers, Felicia and Ron were friendly, approachable and gave us tips on wineries in Paso Robles. We would definitely come back to try more wineries and would stay here again.

Room Tip: 3 rooms (pelletiere, dirt worshipper and ditch digger) get lovely natural light and faces the breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneAddictedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

It literally has taken me a week to write this review because this is a place I'm not sure I want to share! And I've been told I'm not the only one who stays here and feels the same way! We were so lucky to stay at the Comus House after friends of ours invited us for a surprise 50th birthday party. If first impressions are everything, then this place is it. From the winding driveway up the hill and through the vines to the detailed custom architecture to the gorgeous infinity pool overlooking the vineyard covered hillsides, this is heaven. Our friends couldn't get over how incredibly peaceful and relaxing this place is. And to add to this heaven on earth? Ron and Felisa are the gold standard (platinum?) when it comes to the perfect hosts. This is no little country B&B, this place exudes style. From the tantalizing gourmet breakfasts in the morning to the fabulous 4 o'clock wine and cheese spreads, to the handwritten thank you note we received when we returned home, we were delighted with their incredible attention to detail. They love what they do and it shows. We were "wowed" and then some. We stayed in the Ditchdigger room which was spacious and comfy. We will most definitely be back. Shhhh...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a very special place. We stayed 2 nights in The Pelletiere, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Three of the 4 rooms overlook the gorgeous valley and rolling vineyard hills. Everything is set up for comfort, and it's hard to leave the inn to taste the wines of the region, but you must make time for that as well. The outstanding wines of Paso Robles is a secret that's beginning to get out.

Our hosts, Don and Felisa, couldn't have been nicer, and their breakfasts were wonderful. They laid out a cheese plate for us each evening, along with a nice glass of a Denner wine. The inn is a part of the Denner Winery (some of the best of the region), and wine club members get a discount at the inn.

The house is available for sitting and visiting, and so it is ideal to book with friends.

Room Tip: The Pelletiere is the only room with a tub, if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
8.1 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
5 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
664 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 30 in Paso Robles
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
High Ridge Manor
High Ridge Manor
#6 of 30 in Paso Robles
143 reviews
8.9 mi away
CaliPaso Inn
CaliPaso Inn
#14 of 30 in Paso Robles
13 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Cheval
Hotel Cheval
#1 of 18 in Paso Robles
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comus House

Address: 2885 Willow Creek Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9696
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing