We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GREAT experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oaks Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A GREAT experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I was very impressed by this NEW hotel. It is family owned and you could tell they wanted you to be happy, as they were extremely friendly and accommodating. When we had missed the cut off of breakfast by 10 minutes and they still allowed us to come in and have a fantastic breakfast, made to order! There is no comparable breakfast at any of the chain hotels, and chef Sheryl was very personable and wanted to be sure we had all we could eat (we did!). I am a very picky coffee drinker, too, and I loved their coffee.

The room was more than adequate for two. It was very well appointed with lovely new beds (so comfy) and bathrooms that were also very spacious. The noise level was fine especially since our room was right by an elevator. They have a pool and spa which we didn't use, but a little girl said the spa was cold (all outdoors). They also have a small, but adequate fitness center. I really liked their "green" way of controlling electricity use with the key card.

The location is fine as there are other hotels very close by and if you are going to wineries, you would have to drive to them anyway. We were pretty close to downtown Paso Robles, too, where there are many fine restaurants and cute shops.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Paso Robles. (our friends even changed hotels when they came and saw ours!)

Room Tip: Third floor had high ceilings, but not sure if 1 and 2 did, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty13L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    130
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
152
292
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I happened upon The Oaks when I couldn't get a room at the Marriott. Even though I am big on points because I travel a lot, I would absolutely stay at The Oaks again when I pass through town because of how much value I got for the price.

It was comparable in price and room quality to a Marriott Courtyard or a Hampton Inn...its actually a little nicer, maybe because it's brand spanking new. And it comes with what felt like an upgraded free breakfast that's better than the other free breakfasts I've tried - As a huge bacon lover, I really appreciated thick-cut applewood-smoked bacon, as opposed to the thin industrial food service kind you usually get with free breakfasts.

And it's full of personal touches. Fresh backed cookies at night, a really friendly bartender, and coffee and tea in the lobby all day. I happened to visit on a weekend when they had several local wineries do wine tastings for the guests and I ended up buying a few bottles. When I asked what chain the hotel was part of (so I could maybe see about points!), I learned it was family-owned and run, and later the owners came up to chat with me. They were so friendly, it just felt like I was at a bigger bed and breakfast!

Even though I love my points, I loved the service and feel and really want to see the owners succeed, so I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 3rd floor and had a great nights rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

The Oaks Hotel is on par with Courtyard Marriott, at half the price! From check-in to check-out, the staff is professional, friendly and accommodating. A culinary-schooled chef cooks up omelets made to order (included in room charge), the beds are heavenly and the room luxurious. Just a short drive from the center of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

My boyfriend and I were down in Paso Robles with his mom this past weekend to help his sister plan her wedding. In the search for a nice hotel, I happened to stumble upon The Oaks Hotel on TripAdvisor. The reviews did not disappoint! We loved staying here!

The staff is so nice and helpful (front desk, bartender, and owner, Phillip)! They wanted us to make sure that our stay was great.

The hotel itself is very clean and had great amenities. Room - large with high ceilings. Beds - firm and comfortable.Bedding - luxurious and soft. Shower - great water pressure! Bathroom - large with lots of lighting.

My boyfriend and I even tried the fitness center (one treadmill, one elliptical, one recumbent bike, and one functional trainer) while watching the NFL playoffs. Fabulous new Precor equipment! It would have been nice if there was a yoga mat and an exercise ball in there too. Also maybe a bottle of cleaner (tea tree oil + water? or orange oil + water?) and paper towels to wipe the equipment down after use (I'm just used to doing that at the gym).

The hot breakfast the next morning was also great! Scrambled eggs, country potatoes, cheesy potatoes, bacon, sausage, and french toast!

Overall, my boyfriend, his mom, and I loved our stay here! While the location is not walkable from downtown Paso Robles, The Oaks Hotel is less than 5 minutes away by car and it has a better location for highway access. (Don't worry about the noise, we couldn't hear any! Highway or elevator!)

TL;DR: Compared to other hotels with similar pricing, definitely stay here! Warm cookies at night, breakfast in the morning, comfy beds, great shower, nice staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We selected this hotel in Paso Robles for a one night stay, based on previous TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel is a real gem. Mary and Philip were very warm and helpful hosts and our children loved the fresh cookies!

The room easily accommodated five. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the room was spotless. The breakfast was also of high quality with great variety of hot options.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We are in the process of relocating to the Central Coast from Denver Co, and upon our realtors recommendation we checked out the Oaks Hotel. What a FIND!!! After long days of looking at real estate, the owners and staff were always there to greet and welcome us back. They have a very efficient staff in a beautiful, and clean establishment. We have stayed in many hotels in the area over the years and this was the best. Upon our departure they invited us to use the hotel office as our own if needed during our move. Great food, great staff, great hotel. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Our room faced the front of building and had no noise what so ever. I can't imagine a bad locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

What more can be said about this new clean hotel? I was surprised that there was such low occupancy during our stay - people must not read reviews online before booking! The cook to order breakfast buffet was great. Try the waffles, they were much richer and tastier than typical hotel waffles.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
3.9 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Property: The Oaks Hotel
Address: 3000 Riverside Ave, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1305
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in the fall of 2012, this brand new three story hotel offers ninety spacious rooms and suites, numerous amenities, a selection-rich bar and Indulge, restaurant for breakfast. We invite you to come and explore our new facilities and relax in one of Paso Robles’ finest hotels. Combining eloquent boutique design with modern finishes, The Oaks Hotel is the perfect destination after driving through the gentle rolling hills of vineyards and coastal mountain ranges of Central California. With nearby attractions such as the historic Hearst Castle, over 180 local wineries and quaint family owned shops located downtown, we wish to make you feel at home in between exploring and experiencing the beautiful wine country of Paso Robles. The Oaks Hotel and Suites is your ultimate choice when looking for a comfortable and elegant place to stay during your visit to this beautiful wine country. At The Oaks, you will discover that we are the new standard of comfort and convenience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing