We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location ok”
Review of The Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oaks Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I think this is a good option if you want to stay in Paso Robles proper, and not at, say a bed and breakfast out by the vineyards. That being said, the hotel is still a 5 min drive to the main part of town where the restaurants and tasting rooms are. Normally this is not an issue, but if your main purpose is to drink wine, then driving to town is not ideal (although there are many transportation options which the front desk will happily arrange).

However, I agree with the reviewers that the hotel is clean and the rooms are nicely appointed. The service here is the standout, as they are a new hotel and building up their name. I came here for a girls getaway to escape super bowl weekend. We did not meet the owners, but were instead greeted very enthusiastically by Jennifer, who proceeded to give us a suggested winery list, waived tasting fees, arranged our transportation with "Destination Drivers" (highly recommended) and made our dinner reservation at Buono Tavela (also recommended).

We were ambitious and hit five wineries the first day, which leads me to the next highlight of this hotel - the bed. I slept for 12 hours (partly due to the wine) because the bed was fantastically comfortable.

I would not stay here if you are looking for high luxury necessarily, but since this is Marriott prices, you get way more than you would pay for then at a Courtyard. You could pay much more to stay at other hotels in Paso and I'm sure they are interesting, however, for us (especially since we were only at the hotel to sleep off the wine) this was the perfect option.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

The number one thing that sets this hotel apart is the owners, Mary and Philip, who really care about the place and accommodating their guests. Their friendliness gives The Oaks a bit of a B&B feel. The rooms are spacious, the beds very comfortable, and the linens, towels, robes, slippers all feel luxurious. The owners put a lot of care into selecting quality fixtures and furniture.

We enjoyed the included got breakfast each morning, and they even let use their blender to make our own Bulletproof Coffee every morning. They deserve a 6th star for that!

Others have mentioned the location is amidst a commercial/industrial part of town. This is true, but does not at all detract from the great experience. Nothing is "far" in Paso, and we didn't hear any noise from outside except a rooster.

We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdgarFassbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Spent the weekend at Paso Robles, and stay at The Oaks Hotel. The Hotel is brand new, is clean, and is very friendly. Easy to find, near the town and freeway.
Front desk, Jennifer is friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and wine. Made lots good suggestion, where to eat, to see, to drink. Inside the room, our room was on third floor, and it is high celling. Bedding sheets soft, and has double sheets. Plenty of the outlet for electronic to charges. Very easy to find. No need to move the lamp, or furnitures around. The room we were in has two TV. Can sit on the soft watching. No need to sit on the bed watch TV at day time. Bath room fixtures are high-end brand, Kohler. Very elegant. And clean. Bathroom has two bathrobe and slippers.
All those small things make trip on the road more comfortable and enjoyable.
Will stay there again when we in the area for sure.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Qrottyspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

On our way home from Monterey to L.A., we stayed at the Oaks Hotel to enjoy a day of wine tasting. The owners are the most kind and accommodating people. I will be staying here again without a doubt. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the room was so fresh and clean.
In the morning we had a hot buffet style breakfast that included the most delicious cheesy hash browns that are hard to forget, and the meal was included! The hotel is very hospitality based and
is owned by a family which is wonderful. Thank you to Mary and Cheryl for making our stay the best! I look forward to seeing you again!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treborandglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We recently were guests at The Oaks in Paso Robles. This is a new hotel so we expected it to be clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, especially since it is included in the room cost. We were there to visit wineries, so the central location worked for us. It is close to downtown restaurants and shopping, but too far to walk. The bartender at the hotel bar was great. These were very nice accommodations for a much better rate than many of the other hotels and bed and breakfasts in the area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scamp55190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a guys weekend eatting good food and wine tasting. I booked this on the reviews. I must say it more than exceeded my expectations. The hotel was only 2 months old. The planning was well thought out down to the fact the in room safes were large enough to fit an i pad/lap top. The ceilings were 10-12 ft and our room was so spacious. The staff was great with the owners making sure anything you needed was taken care of. The location was in an up and coming area. However, one of the main streets was only 2 blocks away with starbucks etc.right by the highway. The town square was only a 5 min cab ride away for dinner plans(If you are drinking) They gave reusable bags upon check in as they stated Paso does not use plastic in the stores. Nice touch. All in all I would have to say I would stay here again in a second and highly recommend it. Although, after this review I might not be able to get in. :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is a very nice, new hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable. The heat worked well and was not noisy as in some hotels. There were little extras like free bottled water, slippers, robes, and thick towels. My only complaint is that the free breakfast was not available until 7am and I had to leave before that on a weekday. Other than that, everything was perfect. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KookaburraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.4 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,544 reviews
1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
664 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Address: 3000 Riverside Ave, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Price Range: £89 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in the fall of 2012, this brand new three story hotel offers ninety spacious rooms and suites, numerous amenities, a selection-rich bar and Indulge, restaurant for breakfast. We invite you to come and explore our new facilities and relax in one of Paso Robles’ finest hotels. Combining eloquent boutique design with modern finishes, The Oaks Hotel is the perfect destination after driving through the gentle rolling hills of vineyards and coastal mountain ranges of Central California. With nearby attractions such as the historic Hearst Castle, over 180 local wineries and quaint family owned shops located downtown, we wish to make you feel at home in between exploring and experiencing the beautiful wine country of Paso Robles. The Oaks Hotel and Suites is your ultimate choice when looking for a comfortable and elegant place to stay during your visit to this beautiful wine country. At The Oaks, you will discover that we are the new standard of comfort and convenience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing