We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“40th wedding celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oaks Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“40th wedding celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We were passing through Paso during a recent trip to celebrate our 40th wedding annivesary. We were very pleased with this hotel. The owners and hotel staff are top shelf. They are kind and on top of every issue. I felt they gave us extra attention due to our celebration. It was most appreciated since we arrived the day of the Boston Marathon bombings. Since we are from the Boston area, it was a sad day for us but the staff at this hotel changed our mood within minutes of our arrival. Very hard working owners. We wish you all the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1665JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    130
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
152
292
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

The hotel is located conveniently off of 101 at route 46E. Besides wine tasting there's plenty to do in the area and all close to the hotel. The hotel is very new which means everything is still very clean. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. They provided me all the information I needed about the hotel and the area. Nothing was wrong with the room. It was a good temperature when I walked in, everything worked and was easily available. The restaurant that is now onsite is relatively new and only open on weekends. It was a little odd to be asked how we wanted our fish cooked, but considering the restaurant has only been open 3 weeks, they still have a few kinks to work out. The food and service were both good, so despite the odd question everything was still fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

In Paso, expect to pay an average of $200/night for a hotel in the Holiday Inn Express category. Paso Oaks is a new, private-owned hotel where the owner works behind the desk at night and helps make breakfast for the guests in the morning. We were impressed by all of the friendly, efficient, hotel staff; the new, very clean room - which had all the amenities of a nice Hampton Inn room, and then some - and the breakfast, which was included in the price. In a town where hotels are hard to come by, I surely hope this one will thrive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, though the street is not too busy, either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKCAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Just returned from Paso Robles, went to see Horsemans Reunion. The Oaks Hotel had a special rate for the Horsemans Reunion and after reading the reviews decided to try it out. It is nice, stayed in a suite and everything is new and clean, granite countertops, big room, nice down conforters for bedding. The owners work there, Mary could not have been nicer, I had a small cooler of frozen salmon that needed to be in a freezer for 3 days and she says no problem, off to their freezer it went, wanted to stay in and eat but their on site restaurant is currently open thurs thru Sunday for dinner so she says order pizza and we'll set you up at the bar. Breakfast was included in our stay and it is good food, eggs, waffels, pancakes, saugage, bacon and cereal, toast all kinds of things to eat. Great place to stay in Paso Robles..

Room Tip: We stayed on the far end of elevators, was peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elrod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Excellent service and very clean room. Comfortable bed, well stocked bathrooms
and good continental breakfast. Very helpful reception and five minutes from downtown.
Only slight drawback is location: rather unsightly warehouse district next to highway, which makes
it somewhat noisy. An otherwise lovely place w/nice rooms; just bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn-jf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at the Oaks for one night so we could visit our grandnephew. It's fairly new and only recently added bar service and dinner to their offerings. As the "new kid on the block" most of the locals weren't even aware they existed, thus we depended on the Trip Advisor reviews to guide us since everywhere else we checked was booked. Basically, we agree with most of what has been said positive about this place. But, we must comment on the "high-tech" way in which they are trying to be "green." The lights in your room can only be turned on while your room key is placed in a master slot. Once removed, all the lights go out within ~60 seconds. We found this annoying and problematic. Their breakfast service is excellent but, being early risers, we found that they were not prepared to open on time and it took 30 minutes past their official opening to actually have all the food offerings ready (like eggs & bacon)! When it came time to check out, they had messed up our Booking.com reservation and accused us of being in the wrong -- not cool whether true or not! There are less expensive (and equally good) places to stay in Paso, you just have to book far enough in advance to make sure you can get in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
565 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Going up for a Wild Coyote wine club member event, the five rooms in their B&B were full so for the first time in a long time I had to find an alternative place to hang my hat. You TripAdvisor reviewers showed me the way by making The Oaks #1 in Paso Robles.

I think of the Paso Robles market as having two distinct lodging markets. There are the many, small B&B's and then there are the hotels. The hotels seem to range from a 5-star like Cheval in downtown Paso to the 2 and 3-star chains like Holiday Inn, La Quinta Inn and Courtyard by Marriott as well as some unique facilities like the historic Paso Robles Inn, the ordinary Adelaide Inn, the upscale La Bellasera and the ever-present Best Western Black Oaks.

The question then becomes one of price and location. Because The Oaks opened in November 2012, I am suspicious of the current pricing. We paid about $160.00 on Saturday for a King sized room, and $140.00 on Sunday. Will that be the price a year from now if they continue to get stellar reviews?

There is a lot to like about this hotel besides the newness and moderate price. With three floors and 90 rooms, they remind me of a Hampton Inn. Their amenities are better, however, since they offer high end soaps, lotions and body wash. Each room comes with two bathrobes and slippers. The towels are fluffy and large as you would expect from a new facility. The staff is very personable in keeping with management's training, I am sure.

Because they were not crowded, we were upgraded to a King suite. The suite, unlike say an Embassy Suites which has separate living rooms and bedrooms, is just a longer room where they place a full sized sleeper sofa and an extra TV. The room is otherwise pretty standard for what you would expect for most 3 and 4-star hotels.

We didn't use the pool but I could see it outside the hotel. It has plenty of use along with the adjoining jacuzzi. The dining room was packed in the morning. The cooks were visible from the serving area so you knew they were making fresh eggs, potatoes, bacon & sausage. On the second morning there were fresh baked biscuits and sausage gravy. Each day they put out a menu for dinners which were served in their dining room. We didn't participate in that but I could see that on Saturday it was fixed price either steak or lamb chops for $35.00.

The hotel is on the north end of town, just around the corner from the Holiday Inn, Adelaide Inn, a Motel 6 and the Best Western Black Oaks. There are plenty of fast food type options within walking distance as well as gas stations and access to the 101 Freeway and 46 East. To get to downtown Paso Robles it was as easy as going straight through the traffic light, past the fair grounds and into town the back way so you can avoid the Spring Street traffic.

So why the "Very Good" review and not the "Excellent" review? Because the rooms nice but not extraordinary, because the price is competitive but not below market, because the breakfast was good but not great, because the location is nice but not blissful, because the service was wonderful but hard to believe it can be maintained. Would I go back, absolutely, but I would also think about trying the Marriott or La Quinta. More than anything I would rather be back at my B&B up on the hill watching the hawks circle lazily over the valley.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back overlook the pool and some homes, rooms overlooking the front look into retail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
3.9 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Property: The Oaks Hotel
Address: 3000 Riverside Ave, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1305
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in the fall of 2012, this brand new three story hotel offers ninety spacious rooms and suites, numerous amenities, a selection-rich bar and Indulge, restaurant for breakfast. We invite you to come and explore our new facilities and relax in one of Paso Robles’ finest hotels. Combining eloquent boutique design with modern finishes, The Oaks Hotel is the perfect destination after driving through the gentle rolling hills of vineyards and coastal mountain ranges of Central California. With nearby attractions such as the historic Hearst Castle, over 180 local wineries and quaint family owned shops located downtown, we wish to make you feel at home in between exploring and experiencing the beautiful wine country of Paso Robles. The Oaks Hotel and Suites is your ultimate choice when looking for a comfortable and elegant place to stay during your visit to this beautiful wine country. At The Oaks, you will discover that we are the new standard of comfort and convenience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing