We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cheval
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Paso Robles Inn(Paso Robles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melody Ranch Motel(Paso Robles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn on Spring(Paso Robles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmhouse Motel(Paso Robles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Way Inn(Paso Robles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adelaide Inn(Paso Robles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town House Motel(Paso Robles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
402
54
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
54
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspony barwood burningclub barwonderful boutique hotelsmall hotelwine tastinginner courtyardmultiple fireplacesluxury roomwithin walking distancelovely courtyardwindow seattown squarecoffee cakecontinental breakfastoutdoor fireguest services
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We were recommended this hotel by a friend. Although I'm sure this hotel would be very nice for a couple on a romantic weekend, we were traveling with our infant son and it was totally inappropriate. The room was small so that it was hard to find a place for the portable crib, there was no bath tub for him to have a bath and the sink was too small for him to sit in. All of the furniture was wobbly and there was no cover on the fireplace so he could not go on the floor. They did not have pay per view television or wireless internet. There was not room service nor was the staff at all helpful in helping us find somewhere to get dinner. The only place on the property was a bar where children were not allowed. We arrived late and hadn't eaten. When you have a baby in a hotel room, you cannot leave that room once he is asleep. Our room had a view of the parking lot and dumpsters and the air conditioning was horribly loud which made for a restless night. The cost of this hotel is on par with staying at such places as Baccarra, The Four Seasons, The Ritz, or Shutters, all places I have stayed with children which were much more accommodating. It was our wedding anniversary and we had been married in Paso Robles and decided to splurge on somewhere nice on our way through town. I was very dissapointed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank buttonpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My wife took me there for my 50th Birthday. It was fantastic! The rooms are remarkable with a great fireplace. The courtyard with the real wood burning fireplace and chairs is a great place to unwind after a day of wine tasting and dining. It is right in the middle of town next to great dining, shopping and relaxation. You can also get an in room massage. The service was stellar. Recommend deborah's room for diningat Justin winery.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLMCELROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

If quiet luxury is your aim, this is a wonderful spot from which to explore the wonderful Central Coast. Outdoor fireplaces are lit nightly in the central courtyard, breakfasts are hand delivered to your door each morning and rooms are spacious and serene. Cocktail parties each afternoon buzzed with cheerful energy but we were focused on wineries by day and more wines for evening and didn't join in. Our room had a gas fireplace which also added to the luxurious elegant setting. One dilemma you will face: whether to relax in your room or loll about in the beautiful outdoor seating areas which are full of beckoning comfortable furniture! Ah, decisions!
The Cheval is located in town and you can walk everywhere. Restaurants and shops and the park are steps away.
We don't always need such superb concierge-type attention since we normally are great planners and have our own agenda but the staff here is wonderful and could probably find a needle in a haystack for you if that was your request.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bravo-cinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcheval1021, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. Since your stay with us we have upgraded our breakfast, a much greater selection is now served from 7am in The Pony Club. Guests have reacted really favorably to this change but we still offer delivery to your door should a guest request it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This is a luxury hotel. The hotel is small and built around a courtyard with two fireplaces, one in an inglenook to keep you out of the rain on the rare occasions it rains in Paso Robles. There is a chocolate with turn down service, fresh cookies when you arrive, flowers in the room, real artwork, lovely larger sized toiletries, and a horse and carriage to take you to dinner if needed (really, a real horse named Chester). Attached is a little tiny bar called the Pony Club (where breakfast is also served, cold during the week, hot on the weekends). It is not a bargain hotel, don’t expect it to be reasonably priced, do not bring your children.
If you are content with hip poster artwork, lamps attached to the wall, vast halls of rooms and motor court awnings, and feel that granite countertops mean quality, then you will be very happy at a less expensive hotel.
There is no "motor court", no parking in front of the hotel, no polyester coverlets or matchy art prints and no tacky little fridges in the room ( there is a tacky fake plant, but also real flowers). Some room have a little patio and small fountain to reduce the street noise (it is just off the main square and kitty corner from the train station after all) and some rooms have fireplaces. The location is fantastic, across the street is the old train station ( and yes you hear it from time to time if you are in the front of the hotel) BUT there are several wine tasting rooms in the train station area, also a fine cheese shop next door to the hotel that will put together a picnic cheese plate to take on your wine tasting wanderings, also two very fine restaurants in walking distance and of course the little town square and park a few steps away.
What could the hotel do better? There is not quite enough staff, so you may wander in to the lobby and have no one to greet you or check you out. The Jewelry sales in the lobby is just out of place, there is no connection ( for example if the jewelry was horse related then it would make sense in the context of the hotel). The fake plant in the room added no value to the otherwise charming room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CABungalowGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcheval1021, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are actually 3 blocks from the train station - near enough that guests can walk there, but far enough away that we do not hear the engines in the station!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Spent three nights last week at Hotel Cheval and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rooms are very well appointed and quite comfortable. Air conditioning was not noisy nor was the room even though the city was doing a lot of road work outside the hotel. The staff was exceptional with various recommendations and making reservations. Wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We will return and hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews