We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“First Class Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

This is the place to stay in Paso. Right in the downtown area with great access to fine restaurants and shops with the feel of small town America. First class linens in clean well decorated rooms, some with courtyards or balconies. Very dog friendly. The included omelet bar on Saturday was excellent with a large tasty omelet, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    48
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
267
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Beautiful small hotel, wonderful indoor outdoor bar area. Comfy fireplace lounging areas in the courtyard. Very quiet and cozy. This hotel is right in downtown Paso Robles. We walked to eat, shop and just cruise around.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs on the alley. We thought it might be noisy but it was very quiet. Ahhh happy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

What a darling hotel ! We were thrilled to stay at this lovely hotel for our wine tasting visit with 2 other couples and had the best time.The Cheval is just beautiful and so comfortable and just happened to be there to see their lovely Christmas decorations. We came home to our rooms to find fresh wreaths hung beautifully on each of our doors. The nightly entertainment in the bar was very good as was their breakfast each morning. We missed having the s'mores made each night out in the courtyard by the fireplaces because the excellent restaurants we chose( Bistro Laurent,Il Cortile and Artisan)where we ate dinner had the best desserts. We really loved being able to walk to our restaurants from our hotel each night too.
We all had such a lovely stay here and will definitely return to the Cheval when returning to Paso Robles for another fun wine tasting weekend !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

To the smallest detail, this is the perfect hotel to stay at while visiting the wineries of Paso Robles – period. Great architecture and decor, successfully combining an interior courtyard of Spanish inspiration (appointed with several outdoor fireplaces and many comfortable couches and armchairs) with interiors (rooms, reception and sitting areas, a library) decorated in English style. Everything is class and stylish, completed in the best taste by someone who obviously had this project at heart. Comfortable beds, rooms with fireplace, luxurious creams and soaps in the bathroom, homemade cookies discreetly placed in the room upon arrival, the local newspaper and a personalized letter at the doorstep each morning (with the weather conditions and suggestions for things to do in the region), amazing breakfast, a great bar with great wines, great service – well, in just a few words, everything that you desire will be there. I could return to Paso Robles only to stay at the Cheval -- it is that great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florins11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The service, staff and setting are just excellent. Paso Robles has come a long way in the last 20 years and this hotel is just one of the great additions. The rooms are well decorated and unique. One of the highlights is the two fireplaces in the courtyard that are burining brightly every night. A destination for peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: Whistlejacket, Kingston, Rosebud and Feathers are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you are visiting the Wine Country in Paso Robles this is the place to stay. When you drive up to the front of Hotel Cheval you are enchanted. From the time you enter the front room to register you are pleased. All the employees are wonderful, friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful, classy and the beds are so comfortable. The Pony Room is a wonderful place for the perfect breakfast or a evening glass of wine. We look forward to our next visit to Hotel Cheval.

Room Tip: Any room is a joy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I loved staying in this beautiful hotel in Paso Robles. I loved the way the room was decorated (felt so large and luxurious, but also cozy at the same time. This is definitely a romantic place to go for an anniversary or to celebrate something special. We were also able to stay with our large dogs (I was surprised that they allowed our 2- 80 lb. dogs in a place like this!). Anyway, it had a great wine bar, patio (with fireplaces that were lit at night- nice touch). It was a great way to end our trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whirldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Property: Hotel Cheval
Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing