We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hwy One”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hwy One”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

What an amazing hotel! The owners did not spare any expense to create a small hotel that makes you feel like you are in the middle of the wine country in France. It is obvious that the owners spent a lot of time trying to create an authentic European experience. The choice of the building materials, design of the fireplaces, slate floors and furnishes are first class. Nice job and thank you for making our anniversary romantic!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    51
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
304
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

After two nights in Cambria, we finished our weekend at the Hotel Cheval in Paso Robles. Everything was wonderful from the time we arrived. Our room was on the second floor and was absolutely immaculate! The photos on the website are a wonderful representation of what this hotel offers so it is not necessary to post any of my own photos. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants that would satisfy a "foodie" and great tasting rooms. The Rhone blends are some of the best reds I've tasted. Make sure to check out the "Herman Story" tasting room which is a few streets down from the main part of the town but well worth the walk. The continental breakfast the next morning was enjoyable. We took a basket of banana bread, fruit, granola to our room and then a few extra slices of banana bread with us for the trip home since it was so good. This is a true gem in downtown Paso Robles. If you want to treat yourself to a five star experience in Paso Robles you won't be disappointed at the Hotel Cheval.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasGreeneyedLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I took my mom here for a mothers day retreat. After a day of wine tasting were able to conveniently walk to the main square for dinner and walk back to Hotel Cheval after more wine at dinner. We sat by the fire in the courtyard and talked with a other guests while enjoying smores made to order by the hotel staff. These were not your average smores, we were able to choose from a variety of homemade marshmallows and different types of chocolate. Yum!
Breakfast was also delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bladuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

It was our first time going to Paso Robles and Hotel Cheval was the most amazing hotel experience we have had for being in such a quaint little town. It is the only place to stay when in Paso. Their customer service was executed to an art. Everything from our check in, to the homemade smor’s each night in the courtyard to the lovely personalized little notes left outside our bedroom door each morning. And I can't forget to mention the delicious breakfasts each morning included in the room rate! We could not have asked for a more exceptional stay and experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cheval for 3 nights over Memorial Weekend. There was a little mix up with our reservations as we had added the first night later, but luckily they had an open room when we arrived. We should have confirmed ahead of arrival. The Hotel is quite upscale for the Paso Robles area. Our room was lovely and included a fireplace and outdoor patio with lounge chairs. The bathroom was rather small for a luxury hotel and I was disappointed that there was no tub for $378 a night, but the shower was roomy. The sink was very difficult to maneuver for a short person as it was an above counter bowl and was set back from the edge. The faucet stuck into the sink quite a ways too making washing your face awkward. Also, there was no way to plug the sink to fill with water for shaving.

I thought the breakfast was quite nice, the pastries were fresh baked and on Sat and Sun they offer an omelet bar. Also, in the afternoon, they offered brownies and lemon squares which were delicious. The wine bar on premises is very popular locally as they serve premium wines at reasonable prices for happy hour. The staff was very friendly and attentive.

The parking is a little tight--literally. Some of the spaces require you to park between arches which can be a little difficult to maneuver with a large car, but there were some other spaces that were larger. Just want to get parked before those are all full.

We enjoyed our stay and will come back again. The best thing is that you can easily walk to everything in town in just a few minutes.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have large patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS_in_the_OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Very nice European style hotel. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and was well appointed. The staff was attentive, friendly and always available. A faulty coffee maker was quickly replaced. The continental breakfast was well done though a few more choices would be welcome. The center courtyard was very nice with several private sitting areas with fireplaces. The evenings were chilly and there was always a cozy fire waiting our return from dinner.

I did think it was odd that the television service did not include CNBC.

We would definitely stay here again on a return to this area.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Large, comfortable and quite room. Good bath, large flat screenTV and very comfy bed. Breakfast pretty good but maybe a little short of choices. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location just one block off the picturesque square lined with neat shops and places to eat. Parking is a little tricky. Cozy lounge with live music with nice outdoor seating. Hotel Cheval feels like a European Inn in the middle of a very neat town, Paso Robles.

This is a very good boutique hotel. We would not hesitate to stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
673 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Property: Hotel Cheval
Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing