We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“snob hotel, very rude to guests, cant make any noise” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
orange county
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“snob hotel, very rude to guests, cant make any noise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

This hotel is very nice for a new hotel, but the hotel manager is one of the rudest people I have ever met. We had a group of 8 that went and we sat by the fireplace at 10 pm and were talking they kept telling us to keep it down. well if you don't want people to talk then don't have sitting areas around your hotel. In the morning she blamed it all on my wife and I. well there was 4 other people from the hotel talking and the singer that was in the bar. she had to comp someone's room, someone had the nerve to complain about noise at 10 pm, If you want a small hotel with whispers then come here. the house carriage driver was rude to us and the bar at the hotel smells. At 7 am the maids make noise and will wake you up. so plan on going to bed at 9 and being up before 7. the city is great and one of the best restaurants with nice workers is level 4, I would go to Paso robles inn in its place. hotel cheval is a total waste on money and you will feel un welcome at the cheval. the cheval is a hush hotel - don't go- don't talk -and don't tell anyone about it.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — the hotel manager
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ocpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    48
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
267
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

This place is gorgeous, quiet and comfortable. When we arrived at the hotel Annabelle immediately helped us with our bags and escorted us to our room. We had a normal room on the first floor that had a very cute private patio. We slept like rocks our 2 nights there. We very much appreciated the no noise policy between 10pm and 7am. The breakfast that was delivered to our room was simple and absolutely delicious!! I used to live in France and the croissants tasted like they were from some of the best bakeries I have ever been to. They also delivered a morning paper to the room. One night at the hotel was 212.00 with taxes and I did not at all feel ripped off.
The shower was great too!!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbiflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2008

We had high expectations considering the reviews and the price. It was just average. The room was clean with a good bed. The shampoos and extras in the room were nice. There is a lot of noise from the street and the movie theather across the street.

The service was poor to average. The bar staff was rude. The breakfast was again average. Parking is limited. When we asked for helping parking they told us to park in the street.

When we told them of our concerns they didnt even care.

This place is way overpriced!!!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richmondtraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

Friends recommended this hotel and we had passed by it on a previous trip to Paso. The check-in was flawless as we were greeted as we walked in from the parking area, were whisked to our room and set within minutes.
We got the last room for the evening (Trumpator, in the 'Classic' category) and it was in the very front ofr the hotel. We were concerned there might be street noise, but we didn't notice any except when we first sat out on our patio that had a fountain on it.

The bed was luxurious and they paid close attention to details, from the big pillows, soft robes, textured carpet, flatscreen TV, huge shower, lots of towels, vessel sinks, great contemporary decor , horsetail do not disturb marker to the complimentary bottled water and coffee set up in the library. The king bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever been in. Both of us slept soundly and never woke up during the night - highly unusual in some place that isn't home!
We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard by the roaring fire in the evening. It was a little chilly and that was a nice touch to warm us up.
Hotel staff was helpful and excellent in accommodating us. We asked to see a Deluxe or Luxury room before we left in the morning. Only a Luxury was available and it was larger than ours, with a window seating area and a fire place. Not convinced it was worth $100 more per night, but it was very nice.
Good dinner recommendations from the staff for Artisan and Villa Creek. We'll be back!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank CAKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

This was our second time staying at the Hotel Cheval, and overall, I still love the place - but there were two consistent negatives from our last trip, so I'll mention them. First, there must be something wrong with the thermostats in the rooms - this was a cool time of year and yet our room felt warm to both my husband and myself, even though we had the thermostat set at 66, the read-out kept displaying 71, it never really cooled off from there.
The other negative is that we got shushed at 10:30 on a Saturday night during the Zin Fest. There were 6 of us, and we brought our voices down - and we heard all the noise from the bars on the street - but at midnight we got shushed again. I can understand midnight, not 10:30. They were nice enough to let us gather in the library room though.
One of the best things about the hotel are the huge comfy beds. We felt tiny surrounded by the great pillows and fluffy comforters.
The staff is always helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Comfy beds, nice amenities
  • Disliked — getting 'shushed' at 10:30 by the fire
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

I usually visit the Santa Ynez wine country and very much enjoy the vineyards and location. For a change of pace, my girlfriend and I wanted to check out Paso Robles. Cheval seemed to be the nicest hotel around so we gave it a shot (early feb 2008).

We were not disappointed with the hotel! Very romantic and luxurious feel both in the courtyard and in the high-end room we stayed in.

The room was designed with romance in mind. Lights all had dimmers, large shower area, etc...

The staff was excellent and even booked a restaurant reservation for us.

Morning breakfast was great but not vegetarian friendly. I would recommend eating at the bakery that supplies the breakfast (Panolivo) a few blocks away. Simply amazing pastries and breakfast food. Stick to the sweets.

Downtown Paso Robles was moderately disappointing. This hotel stands out as a gem in this area. Once inside the courtyard, you feel as though transported into a private villa. The outdoor fireplaces are very romantic, especially in the rain.

Quite honestly, wine tasting in this region didn't seem as charming as the Santa Ynez area so our trip was relatively disappointing.

There is a horse theme throughout the art and decorations that exists in a realm dangerously close to cheesy though...that said, everything in the room is of a refined taste.

The target crowd seemed to skew a bit older...we are in our late 20's/
early 30's and it seems to appeal to individuals in over 40.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank nickk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Del Rey CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2008

My husband and I became familiar with downtown Paso Robles on previous trips and wanted to stay near the downtown area. We wandered into the Hotel Cheval and to our pleasant surprise (this was a Monday) we were able to book a room.
This is an upscale property and every detail is personalized and geared to convenience. Comfortable beds, marble bathrooms, funcitioning internet, basket of warm muffins for breakfast -- many hotels promise or furnish these amenities but often they are "faux" special and not quite right. At the Cheval everything was spot on.
Best of all we were able to stroll out of our room and go wine tasting at several tasting rooms just blocks away. One of these shops was even willing to deliver our purchases to our hotel room at no additional charge.
Following that we had dinner at an excellent restaurant before returning happy and well fed to the hotel for a comfortable night's rest.
We spent in the $200 range for the room and, compared to the $135 or so we had spent at a neaby Best Western on other trips, this was a bargain. It is more expensive on weekends and most of the time I would suspect that advance reservations are required.

  • Liked — Location, luxury amenities, good service with personal touches
  • Disliked — No negatives I can think of
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EBDMarinaDelReyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Property: Hotel Cheval
Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing