We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cheval
Nearby Hotels
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Black Oak(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oaks Hotel & Suites(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Marriott Paso Robles(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express & Suites(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Croad Vineyards(Paso Robles)
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paso Robles Inn(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melody Ranch Motel(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
413
54
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
54
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspony barwood burningclub barwonderful boutique hotelsmall hotelwine tastinginner courtyardmultiple fireplacesluxury roomwithin walking distancelovely courtyardwindow seattown squarecoffee cakecontinental breakfastoutdoor fireguest services
Filter
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I were on a "wine getaway" and discovered the Hotel Cheval in Paso Robles. What a great property: Sitting in the courtyard with a glass of wine, you could close your eyes and think you were in the south of France or a bodega in Mendoza, Argentina. A full service hotel that cares about its customers and makes every effort to enhance your visit. The location is perfect as you can walk to lunch and dinner and stroll around the town. A REAL find!

Room Tip: Get a lower level room if you purchase wine, felt bad having the bellman bring up 4 cases of wine to the room............
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review. The staff are only too happy to help with the delivery of wine cases to guest rooms. To us that is the sign of a very successful vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Small, boutique hotel one block off of the Paso Robles central square; walking distance to several very good restaurants, downtown tasting rooms, etc. We had a very comfortable room overlooking the central courtyard with laidback seating and two fireplaces. There are also secluded seating areas on the second floor. Our weekend stay included happy hour music in the Pony Lounge and gourmet s'mores as dessert prepared by the staff in the courtyard fireplace (yes it was over 90 degrees but who could turn down sitting out there). The staff were very helpful in planning an inaugural tour of the Paso area, suggesting wineries, where to get food for a picnic and dinner locations. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwolfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Despite the unusually high June Temperatures, I am happy to read that you enjoyed the S'mores and our outside fireplaces!
Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Though this hotel is right in the center of Paso Robles, a lovely walk from some of the finest restaurants we've experienced in California, its classical layout around a serene interior courtyard with room windows which look into the surrounding trees make it a place of peace and solitude. The service and serenity was just what was called for after a day of wine-touring in this beautiful region. The library which sits at one end of the courtyard was exquisite, but it was the open-air fireplaces, best enjoyed in the evening with wine foraged from the surrounding countryside and cheese from local shops, which really make this place superb.

Each morning, a lovely breakfast bar was available and we took our food out to the courtyard, sitting amongst beautiful plants with the sun warming the cool stone.

Room Tip: While many of the first floor rooms had private courtyards, we enjoyed the more private second floor rooms and the camaraderie of the interior courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review. It sounds like you were able to relax and enjoy the hotel and the surrounding wine country. The great thing about the hotel's location is that you get to enjoy our “oasis” whilst still benefitting from the proximity to downtown!
Please come back and see us again the next time you are on the west coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent two nights at Hotel Cheval, and enjoyed it so much I wished it was longer. This place has a very upscale California rustic vibe, with comfortable rooms clustered around a lovely courtyard that features a soothing waterfall and two large wood burning fireplaces. It's a delightful place to sit in the evening, and I highly recommend the s'mores. I think they primarily do them a couple nights a week (Sunday & Thursday?) but on request they will give you the materials to make your own. They also have big furry blankets for chilly evenings, and there is a library at one end of the courtyard which I assume gets more use in bad weather, with its own fireplace and some games.

The rooms are well-appointed and spacious, with very comfy beds, complimentary water bottles and chocolates for the evening turn-down service. The Pony Club onsite is open for drinks in the evening, and serves the included breakfast every morning. Weekday breakfast is more limited, but still adequate - fresh fruit and juices, muffins, a pastry, English muffins, bagels, cream cheese, lox and capers, hard boiled eggs, and cereals.

Service was gracious and attentive to detail. They are happy to help with recommendations, directions, reservations...and when I asked if they sold postage stamps, they instead just gave me one. Overall, a first class experience, and I look forward to returning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad that you got to experience our courtyard and wood burning fireplaces. Although we are located in sunny California, there is sometimes a need for an extra layer in the evening so the furry blankets are in demand! The S'mores certainly are a hit. We serve them Thursday through Sunday and during the week if we have a special request!
Please do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here in May for three nights. They really do such a nice job. Very cozy courtyard and outdoor patio. Very friendly staff.

We did the wine tour with Jessica. She was so easy-going and laid back, but very informative. It was fun to see "off the beaten path" wineries. Such a great sense of community at all of them in Paso....

My only complaint about this hotel is that some of the rooms, although quaint, are on the small side. Most do not have soaking tubs. And I did not like the bathroom doors - two 1/2 doors on each side that swing close, leaving a small crack down the middle. I love my husband but like a little more privacy than that. There was also no separate toilet room...for those who care about that.

In all, this is the only place to stay in Paso. I especially appreciated that it was tucked down a quiet side street, vs. on a busy road, as many of them are. We also enjoyed the easy walking distance to the main square/park and restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was over the bar's outdoor patio, which can be used by the public. With windows open we could hear conversations. It wasn't bad at all, but if you want true quiet, ask for a room not over the patio.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5ExpatsInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your private wine tour with Jessica, our certified sommelier.
I have passed on your comments, with regard to the crack between the doors, to our maintenance manager. We will see if we can improve that situation.
I hope that you will stay with us again next time you are wine tasting in Paso!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews