We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable experience”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2009

If you want to stay in a boutique hotel that makes you feel like you have been transported to a Tuscan villa with all the comforts of a 5 star hotel, look no further. From the stone and ivy covered walls, outdoor fountains, and cozy fireplaces in the courtyard to the magnificent bedding and beautiful decor in the rooms you couldn't ask for anything more Plus, there were so many small personal touches during our stay that helped make the experience so memorable. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pande49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cheval
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2009

i had the pleasure of staying at the hotel cheval for a business trip in march. my only regret was not having my honey there to experience the stay with me! details, details, details....from the vintage burnished stirrups hanging from the shabby chic shelf in the lobby to the horsetail hair do not disturb door hangers to the dark chocolate horseshoe on my pillow at turn down. exquisitely executed from every angle. complimentary breakfast came to my door in a galvanized pail with a personalized letter from the hotel offering ideas available for the day ahead.

i've been in the hospitality business for almost 20 years and have stayed at everything from motel 6 to the ritz carlton. this was by far the most comfortable, chic, romantic and private i've had the pleasure of staying at. a must is getting the chance to meet chester - the cheval's clydesdale who appears on friday and saturday evenings for buggy rides.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buvez_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

My wife and I went to Hotel Cheval for a weekend getaway to do some wine tasting. The hotel recently became "dog friendly" so we brought our 5 year old yellow lab with us. The staff of the Cheval could not have been more friendly and inviting to all three of us. The physical facilities are wonderful ... but it is always the little things that make the difference and that is where Cheval shined.

First off, the hotel is wonderfully decorated and appointed. Great layout of the room (we stayed in Whistlejacket) and very good amenities ... temple spa bathroom products and a coffee maker where - instead of the typical "pods" or packets of coffee - they actually have coffee and a scooper so that you can make it yourself to the strength you desire ... a really nice touch. The bed is SUPER fluffy ... now that doesn't happen to be the style of bed we like, but if you do, you're in business. And for our dog, the staff supplied food and water bowls, a huge fluffy bed and a small bag of dog treats. In the courtyard area are two huge fireplaces with very comfortable chairs ... perfect for having a glass of wine in preparation for dinner and enjoying the crisp night air. And on Saturday and Sunday mornings, the hotel serves a really nice buffett breakfast in the Polo Club bar ... a great way to start the day. Throughout the day, coffee and bottled water are available for the asking ... you never really want for much at this place.

The location of the Cheval was also perfect. We never moved our car once we arrived. It is a stone's throw from the town square and many terrific restaurants (we really loved Artisan!). And for our Saturday of wine tasting, we chose to use "The Wine Line" van service (found at www.hoponthewineline.com) which was terrific as well. And the best deal in town for sure.

We will definitely be back to Paso and wouldn't think of staying anywere but Hotel Cheval. Thank you Anabelle and the rest of the staff for making our time there so much fun!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTC-BAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We had such high hopes. Booked it for our anniversary on a recommendation from a friend. Very disappointed. Room seems delightful, until evening when you hear the continuous noise of a nearby pump ALL night long. Got there late afternoon and asked about getting a bite to eat, and some wine of course, being in wine country, and considering that their bar/restaurant doesn't open until evening (strange since they would likely have leisure clients, there for wine tasting and nibbling anytime of day!). They had no recommendations whatsoever. In fact we asked several workers there and no one even seemed to know the town at all. Luckily we ventured RIGHT NEXT DOOR and had a fabulous panini and several glasses of local wine in a lovely courtyard. At least we had our in-room massage to look forward to - nope, the spa service messed up and there was only one therapist available. They tried to make up for it, but I would've expected that they'd have better communication with their outsourced spa service. The next morning we were surprised to find that there was no room service. By the time we got dressed and ready to head out to breakfast, we opened the door to find a delicious looking continental breakfast that had gone untouched and spoiled, since no one bothered to mention it when we checked in or even include it in the room literature. Oh, and if it matters, the shower was beautiful and completely dysfunctional since the water pressure was so terribly low. We decided next time to stay at the new Courtyard Marriott and save our money for more bottles of wine. For the money, they've really missed the mark!

Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
3  Thank luvsailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We just spent 2 wonderful days at the Hotel Cheval.  From the moment we arrived the service was excellent and the location was perfect.  My husband and I wanted a nice getaway to celebrate our Anniversary-and we picked the perfect place.  We planned on touring as many winerys as possible-but decided to limit the tours and spend time just relaxing at the hotel-It may not be inexpensive, but it is worth every cent spent.  We will be returning to Hotel Chaval-already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Don't tell anyone else about this jewel in Paso (not Pasa) Robles! Don't tell anyone that we, as others have reported, lounged in that wonderful bed. We were so lazy that I grabbed all the goodies from the breakfast (cheesy-rich little quiches, yum!) buffet served in the adjoining bar, and brought it to our room so we could hang out in bed and in the cozy seating area.

I wondered about the noise reported by one guest, since the wood burning fireplaces are in the central courtyard area--no one partied late on the chilly night we spent in January, but I could see how it might be a bit much in the summer. The only solution? Join the party with a nice glass of wine!

Can you tell we loved Hotel Cheval? Sssshhh.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineloverVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Cheval for four nights last week. I wanted to extend a sincere 'thank you' for the excellent service and compliment the hotel on such wonderful accomodations. It was an absolute pleasure to lounge in a plush bed in the morning, turn on the fireplace and TV, snack on the amazing breakfast, and relax!! The room was spectacular, the bartender at the Pony Club was fabulous, the guest services were fantastic with making reservations and various recommendations, and I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed sipping a glass of wine at the fireplaces in the courtyard.

The hotel was convenient to everywhere in town...we were able to walk every bar and restaurant.

We've traveled quite a bit, and I can say with confidence that Hotel Cheval was our best experience, anywhere. Thank you so very much for making us feel so spoiled on our getaway!!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evodkativ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,452 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
693 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: £312 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing