We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Central Coast...”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Just a lovely hotel. Each suite is named after a horse (look for the little framed story about your horse in the room). Each room seems to be different. Mine had a fireplace, a balcony and a window seat overlooking the courtyard. Bed was comfortable and the amenities were Gilchrist & Soames. Breakfast & morning paper were delivered in a charming metal bucket. The courtyard had 2 lovely fireplaces where you can sip your wine. There's even a great library stocked with books for your reading pleasure. I'm even told that they are dog-friendly. 2 Negatives: One is parking - street mostly. The few spaces under the portico are very tight between pillars - so mind your sides! The other is the spotty wi-fi reception. I had to take my Mac to the lobby to get a good signal. Wonderful hospitality from all staff and walking distance to the plaza and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reyledda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

We went to the Hotel Cheval for our anniversary. It was a very charming hotel with lovely staff to help you with anything you may need. We enjoyed music on the patio in the evening and a wonderful breakfast buffet on the weekend. A complimentary horse and carriage ride to dinner was the icing on the cake! The courtyard and its fireplaces are incrediblel! I will be going back again and again. We loved it!
The Worl's

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmicheline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We happened upon the Hotel Cheval while searching the internet for a place to stay in the wine country of Paso Robles. One visit to their web site and we were hooked. We stayed for only one brief night but found it to be a delightful hidden gem. The price was a little steep, even at the lower rates offered on a Sunday night, but we decided to splurge and give it a try.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and very cozy and comfy (but not small - we were put in a handicap accessible suite which seemed like it might have been a bit roomier than other suites). There is a lovely inner courtyard where you can relax by the fire on a chilly mountain evening. The gas fireplace in the room added a nice warm touch as well. Breakfast was delivered in the morning to our door - really delicious pastries and a large bowl of freshly cut fruit. The staff was extremely personable, helpful and friendly! Overall, the inn had the feel of a sumptuous country inn.

There are several restaurants within walking distance - we went with our hostesses recommendation and enjoyed a very tasty dinner at Artisan. The town seemed quiet on our Sunday evening walk over there - so we were pleasantly surprised to find Artisan buzzing with people - usually a sign of a good meal to come. We were not disappointed!

It's tough to complain about anything as the inn is truly lovely and clearly a lot of thought was put into making guests comfortable. So we will only mention that the pillows and beds are on the softer side...so if you are used to a firm bed (as we are) you may find them a bit soft for your taste.

And finally...if you are doing the wine tasting thing...we recommend both the Justin Winery and the Tablas Winery.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

The only question myself and my family asked was "is this the best hotel we have ever stayed in?" When we first drove into the town we were worried that we'd made a bit of a mistake as it did seem a bit "hick" however when we found the hotel we were overwhelmed with its absolute beauty and quality. The receptionist was wonderful and soon showed us to our rooms which were absolutely splendid. There was a problem as they couldnt put a 3rd bed in our room for our youngest ( we were sure we'd told them!) but, within a flash, they sorted it by giving us a third room which was simply stunning. We spent the evening sat around a wonderful log fire in the court yard watching the stars - it was magical! As mentioned - the rooms are simply stunning and wonderfully clean - the only thing you must be aware of is the fact there is NO restaurant at the hotel and although they do provide a breakfast box in the morning its a bit of a shock

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENGLANDMAN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I was utterly charmed by the Hotel Cheval, a place we'd booked simply because it was conveniently located between LA and Big Sur. Those seeking decadence may wish to look elsewhere, but those looking for tastefully designed rooms, fantastic linens, up-to-date amenities (including great toiletries and wireless internet access), a bar stocked with a great selection of local wines and a courtyard with multiple fireplaces for the cool nights, all centrally located in this pleasant little town, should look no further than the Hotel Cheval.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPV-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This is a beautiful, full service luxury inn with a peaceful courtyard and an amazingly attentive staff. You feel like you're out in the European countryside when you wake up to your served-on-the-balcony breakfast. But you're actually right off the quaint town square of Paso Robles, so you are conveniently in walking distance of everything.

I actually didn't stay here myself. I put up my particular mother-in-law at Cheval. Then I spent just about as much time in her room as she did... having wine by the courtyard fireplace in the evening and returning to share breakfast the next morning. Even as a local, I would consider staying here just because.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PookeyPasoRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Hotel Chevel is a wonderful botique hotel in Paso. Wonderfu location- walking distance to the charming downtown area. The rooms are wonderful- Fireplace, comfy bed, great shower. The outdoor fireplaces are wonderful to enjoy a glass of wine by- The Pony Bar is awesome. Great wine selection and delicious complementary cheese plate! If you stay there Monday- Friday they deliver treats to your doorstep along with the paper! We took the VIP Wine tour that they offer- Wonderful experience. Chris our driver was very knowledgable and took great care of us at the wineries. We had a wonderful time at the Cheval and WILL be returning!!

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank OCCouple2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
715 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: £297 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing