We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
450
56
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
56
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pony bar club bar wood burning wonderful boutique hotel small hotel wine tasting dark chocolate inner courtyard multiple fireplaces lovely courtyard within walking distance window seat coffee cake continental breakfast town square outdoor fire quiche
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This was the thrid time we have stayed here - and will do so again!
The hotel is charming - from the living room style check in, to the patio with fireplaces and sitting nooks, to the library for a place to wind down, to the Pony Club and finally the rooms. My husband and I have stayed in many fine chain hotels, top of the line for brand names and the Hotel Cheval is our absolute favorite.
The rooms are wonderful - may seem a bit tight in the smaller rooms, but the furnishings are lovely and you feel right at home.
The staff is tremendous and takes care of any need.
Selfishly, I would like to keep this gem to myself, but the success the hotel has had has allowed them to plan for expansion across the street.
We remember Chester, the Clydsdale that pulled a carraige, and missed him, but the S'mores - really a treat at night!
A must for your stay in Paso!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear lha726,

We never take our repeat guests for granted and so it was an absolute pleasure to read your review. Chester, our Clydesdale, has retired to a local farm and is currently pulling his carriage through a pumpkin patch!
I really do hope that we see you again soon, we will have a S'more waiting for you.

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Always a pleasure to come back and experience the elegance and charm of a private home atmosphere. Wine server spent time with us discussing the wines and informing us of restaurants that had special wines on their menu.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear John J,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are lucky to have such knowledgeable staff on our team. They love sharing their love of wine and Paso!

We look froward to welcoming you back in the not too distant furture.

Sincerely,

Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

This was our second visit to Hotel Cheval and it was just as wonderful the second time around. We traveled with family members who were delighted with the accommodations and everything about the hotel. We had Classic Rooms right off the courtyard on the ground floor. The rooms, beds, amenities were exceptional. The atmosphere of the hotel is so cozy and welcoming, you feel like you are staying in your own private village with friends. Sitting by the fire after dinner at night was delightful. Hotel Cheval is definately the hotel we would come back to when traveling to Paso Robles. Staff is welcoming and helpful. Keep up the good work !

Room Tip: Stayed in both a Luxury and Classic Rooms, both on ground floor. We loved the convenience of walking out door right into the courtyard.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evelyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Evelyn N,

Thank you so much for your review, I was thrilled to read that your family enjoyed their stay with us. Our courtyard is certainly a wonderful place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine with family and friends.
We will indeed try and keep up the good work! Please visit again when your travels bring you back to Paso.

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our weekend away and we're so happy we did! The staff and service is awesome! We lived sitting out in the Pony Club terrace under the magical lights listening to live music, while enjoying drinks. The contrary is really cool - s'mores sommelier and all! These are not your plain old s'mores! Our room was really beautiful - we had an awesome window seat and a private balcony and the staff had a chilled bottle of bubbly waiting for us in the room - so thoughtful!! Stay here when you're in Paso Robles - you won't regret it! Everything is within walking distance - a park, several shops, wine tasting rooms, and restaurants!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Rachelle S,

Thank you so much for your review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and your celebration! You picked a perfect weekend to visit, the weather was incredible.
The Pony Club really is a magical place at night, the trees and lights are beautiful.
I hope that you will think of us again when you are planning another trip.

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and had an excellent experience. There is a great attention to detail and the staff are proactive in asking if they can help. The checking-in was warm and welcoming and also very easy. The hotel offers a range of accommodations to suit different needs: everything is very well appointed. The large courtyard with its two log fires is a great asset, as is the Pony Club bar where light food is also served at the weekends.
The complimentary breakfast was a bonus: all the usual things plus freshly cooked items.
Although there is no restaurant as such, there are many excellent places within a five minute walk of the hotel.
This is certainly the place to stay in Paso Robles: highly recommended as the many five star reviews from others indicate.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank DoctorTraveller1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear DoctorTraveller1959,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Cheval with TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Pony Club is a popular bar. We serve some great food and are lucky to attract some wonderful local musicians who play on our patio at the weekends.
I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Paso Robles.

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews