We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Paso Robles”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Paso Robles”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Charming inn with very nice rooms and great location. Everything was fine until bed time. The A/C unit is very noisy with it's cycling on and off through out the night. We got up several times and tried to shut if off but even with it off it makes noises... every 5 minutes a 5 second humming/buzzing noise that I imagine is the cold water cooling system circulating water to provide cool air if needed. VERY ANNOYING. For a $300 room not good...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RetiredAirlinePilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    49
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
283
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Location can't be beat, right off the town square--walk to restaurants and shops. Comfortable beds, showers were uncontrollably,uncomfortably hot--no worry about a cold shower.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCYOUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Very luxurious and comfortable. Attentive staff. Very nice interior courtyard for relaxing and drinking vino. Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Easy walk to everything, except the vineyards of course, which you have to drive or be driven to.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinorosso54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
222 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Just came back from a week's stay at Hotel Cheval. This is a small boutique hotel. Very charming. The way the rooms are built around the courtyard makes it feel as though you were in a small European town. In the courtyard are planters of small trees and flowers as well as plenty of little alcoves to sit in. There are two fireplaces with chairs around them. The fires are always lit in the evenings. A nice place to have a glass of wine or an after dinner drink.
Our room "Feathers" was nicely located just above one of the fireplaces with our windows , on two sides, facing the courtyard. The room was not big but not tight either.
The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. The bathroom was a good size, with a shower for two and lots of space on the counter around the sink. Good toiletries .
There were two bathrobes to use as well as good quality towels in abundance. Also in the room there was an armoire, large enough to unpack all of your things. There was also a window seat with a small table. There was a coffee maker, wine glasses, ice bucket and everyday they left 2 bottles of water. The only thing I found the room was missing was a small refrigerator.
Breakfast on the weekends (Saturday & Sunday) was served in the Pony Room. It was buffet style and had something warm, either quiches, scrambled eggs and bacon, quesadilla's, etc. There was also fresh fruit, pastries, cereal and yogurt. Also bread to toast. Coffee and orange juice. It was very good and substantial. During the week they delivered to your door a bowl of fruit and either a muffin or pastry. I found this breakfast a little chintzy for the money you pay . For me that would be the only weak point for this hotel. They could use the Pony Room everyday and it would be a lot more comfortable for people to sit and have breakfast. The Pony Room was a bar in the late afternoon into the evening with entertainment.
There was ample parking, either on the hotel property or on the street. We slept with the window open and were woken up one evening by noise from the street cleaners. Otherwise the hotel was not noisy and everything shuts down at 10 pm. They lock the doors and you have to use a key to get in if you happen to be out later than that.
The staff were accommodating and helpful with requests for information or directions.
In all , it was a very pleasant stay and would recommend this charming little hotel to anyone and would certainly revisit it myself.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzypumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

One often wonders if the pictures they see on a hotel/inn website will be true to form, and this lovely inn was well depicted on their website. Once within the courtyard of the inn, one feels as if they are transported to a different place and time in Europe. The accommodations are beautiful and luxurious. We were upgraded to the Lexington room which was beautifully decorated and had a lovely tree in front of the big balcony window that added a calmness to the room. The room was small, but not tight. The bathroom had a simple elegance that I wish I could duplicate in my own home. There was a generous supply of bath products, and a lovely jar of bath salts to use in the soaking tub. The best part of the room was how the bed, fireplace, and tv was positioned to each other. It was the perfect place to relax in a comfy bed in front of a large flat screen tv and warmed by a fireplace. The chocolates left during turn down service was also very delicious. The courtyard is beautiful with many lovely tucked away spots to sit outdoors on both levels of this inn. You can sit by one of two fireplaces, infront of water features, or in seating areas near your room. This was a plus, as there was no place for two people to sit and enjoy the complimentary breakfast in the king room we had or nibble on cheese and wine in our room. Maureen at the desk was such a sweetheart! She really took care of us and made us feel very welcome like family. My only criticism is at this price point, the food seemed minimal compared to other fine inns that we have been to. The food is delievered to your room. Two welcome cookies, one bowl of fruit, and two fancy pastries for two people. It seemed so chintzy when they did everything else well! Since it was difficult to eat in our king room (only one chair and no tables), it makes more sense to allow people to help themselves to an expanded continental breakfast in the Pony Club and take their meal out to the courtyard table areas. Just a thought! All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebirds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Valley, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

This was to be a treat for us to stay at the lovely hotel. The staff was great and gave us a wonderful upgrade and the room was beautiful. The staff knew we were tired and had driven 7 hours to get to the hotel and had a long drive the next morning. Why would they give us the noisiest room in the hotel. The staff start vaccuuming at 3:45 in the morning, the street cleaners come at 4 in the morning (that's right they gave us a room in the front of the hotel) then at 4:15 IN THE MORNING the train comes through and then about 5 they start dropping things on the floor in the lobby which is right below your room. It is nice they give you a "How did you like your stay" form, but unfortunately they must not care, because no one contacted us to ask why we didn't enjoy our stay. For the price they had better get some sound proofing.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vickinbobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

Beautiful hotel. A lovely Cabernet in front of a roaring fire on the private patio. Felt like we were the only people in the world. Quiet and romantic. Serene. A wonderful, relaxing, lovely retreat.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Property: Hotel Cheval
Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing