We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

My wife took me there for my 50th Birthday. It was fantastic! The rooms are remarkable with a great fireplace. The courtyard with the real wood burning fireplace and chairs is a great place to unwind after a day of wine tasting and dining. It is right in the middle of town next to great dining, shopping and relaxation. You can also get an in room massage. The service was stellar. Recommend deborah's room for diningat Justin winery.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLMCELROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    48
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
267
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
278 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

If quiet luxury is your aim, this is a wonderful spot from which to explore the wonderful Central Coast. Outdoor fireplaces are lit nightly in the central courtyard, breakfasts are hand delivered to your door each morning and rooms are spacious and serene. Cocktail parties each afternoon buzzed with cheerful energy but we were focused on wineries by day and more wines for evening and didn't join in. Our room had a gas fireplace which also added to the luxurious elegant setting. One dilemma you will face: whether to relax in your room or loll about in the beautiful outdoor seating areas which are full of beckoning comfortable furniture! Ah, decisions!
The Cheval is located in town and you can walk everywhere. Restaurants and shops and the park are steps away.
We don't always need such superb concierge-type attention since we normally are great planners and have our own agenda but the staff here is wonderful and could probably find a needle in a haystack for you if that was your request.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bravo-cinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcheval1021, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. Since your stay with us we have upgraded our breakfast, a much greater selection is now served from 7am in The Pony Club. Guests have reacted really favorably to this change but we still offer delivery to your door should a guest request it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

This is a luxury hotel. The hotel is small and built around a courtyard with two fireplaces, one in an inglenook to keep you out of the rain on the rare occasions it rains in Paso Robles. There is a chocolate with turn down service, fresh cookies when you arrive, flowers in the room, real artwork, lovely larger sized toiletries, and a horse and carriage to take you to dinner if needed (really, a real horse named Chester). Attached is a little tiny bar called the Pony Club (where breakfast is also served, cold during the week, hot on the weekends). It is not a bargain hotel, don’t expect it to be reasonably priced, do not bring your children.
If you are content with hip poster artwork, lamps attached to the wall, vast halls of rooms and motor court awnings, and feel that granite countertops mean quality, then you will be very happy at a less expensive hotel.
There is no "motor court", no parking in front of the hotel, no polyester coverlets or matchy art prints and no tacky little fridges in the room ( there is a tacky fake plant, but also real flowers). Some room have a little patio and small fountain to reduce the street noise (it is just off the main square and kitty corner from the train station after all) and some rooms have fireplaces. The location is fantastic, across the street is the old train station ( and yes you hear it from time to time if you are in the front of the hotel) BUT there are several wine tasting rooms in the train station area, also a fine cheese shop next door to the hotel that will put together a picnic cheese plate to take on your wine tasting wanderings, also two very fine restaurants in walking distance and of course the little town square and park a few steps away.
What could the hotel do better? There is not quite enough staff, so you may wander in to the lobby and have no one to greet you or check you out. The Jewelry sales in the lobby is just out of place, there is no connection ( for example if the jewelry was horse related then it would make sense in the context of the hotel). The fake plant in the room added no value to the otherwise charming room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CABungalowGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcheval1021, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are actually 3 blocks from the train station - near enough that guests can walk there, but far enough away that we do not hear the engines in the station!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotati, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Spent three nights last week at Hotel Cheval and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rooms are very well appointed and quite comfortable. Air conditioning was not noisy nor was the room even though the city was doing a lot of road work outside the hotel. The staff was exceptional with various recommendations and making reservations. Wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We will return and hopefully soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

My wife and I visited Paso Robles for the weekend and had a wonderful time at Hotel Cheval. It is a small hotel that caters to making you feel welcome. We loved sitting around the fireplaces in the courtyard in the evening. The location is great...just off the main square in Paso Robles. The rooms and beds were oh so comfortable. The staff was wonderful and their recommendations regarding restaurants and wineries were terrific. We loved the hotel and look forward to staying there the next time we go to the Paso area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

We had been driving the Pacific Coast highway for a few days when we stopped off in Paso Robles for one night at Hotel Cheval. I was very pleased to see that the photos from the website were true to form and that the hotel was beautiful.

We had a ground floor room to the left side of the courtyard. Beautifully decorated with a gorgeous bathroom (great towels, toiletries and robes) and the most comfortable bed we've slept in. Very quiet and a great night's sleep - DID NOT want to get up the next day. Breakfast was a simply affair, served in the bar area. We just went and grabbed bagels and juice and took them back to our room.

The staff were super helpful - we were intending on driving the wineries but were informed that there were tasting stations in a building around the corner. You literally get given a swipe-card and go from booth to booth learning about the wineries and tasting the wines. Perfect as nobody needs to be designated driver!

Paso Robles is charming. You can still sense that it was once a bit of a 'hick' town but it has been gentrified with the growth of the wine industry in the region. The hotel recommended a great restaurant and made the reservation for us. The drive from the highway in and out of the town is beautiful and it's great to see yet another landscape of California after the Big Sur and Santa Cruz.

We wished that we'd been able to stay here longer!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJo2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Spent a night there. Pleasant rooms, helpful staff. We were lucky not to experience the noise that some reviews mention.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot_P1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Property: Hotel Cheval
Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing