We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID Couryard Marriott in Paso Robles, California”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Paso Robles
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AVOID Couryard Marriott in Paso Robles, California”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was the worst stay I have ever had in a Marriott facility of any category/brand! Period!

We arrived on Sat Jan 19, in late afternoon from all-day driving just in time to take a quick shower and dress for a dinner engagement. The shower started weakly, with only half or so of the water reaching the shower head and the remainder leaking away from the tap. But I thought I could manage. Halfway through, once covered with shampoo and with my body lathered up, the shower head stopped flowing altogether and very little cold water was dripping from the tap. There I was, cold, covered in soap, a dinner party commitment looming, no rinse water, and madder than I can express. Eventually, by crouching under the tap in the tub, I was able to more or less rinse off the soap. Needless to say, we were late for dinner.

The desk clerk sent up the Maintenance Manager (Mr. Steve Rice, Chief Engineer apparently, also the site manager) to fix the problem while we were gone. When we discussed it in the morning with Mr. Steve Rice, we learned that the problem was due to low water pressure and a poor diverter design. This, we were told, is a known problem and "they" may have to redesign the diverter and install new ones. With a large smile and profuse apologies for our inconvenience and ruined evening, Mr Rice offered to credit us 1,000 points as compensation - talk about insult piled on injury!!.

Now think about this. This is a known problem which is not fixed so Paso Robles Marriott's management, is KNOWINGLY exposing their customers to this annoying inconvenience!! Mr Rice insulted us with an offer of compensation equivalent to 4% of the point value of a stay (25,000 points) at this Marriott – four ([--]) percent!!! This is neither the performance nor the level of service we have come to expect from Marriott. Incidentally, we stayed the next night at the Courtyard Marriott in Salinas and it met all expectations. The management of Paso Robles Marriott should do some bench marking and send Mr. Rice (Chief Engineer) visit them and take lessons.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1stMalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, General Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
We are very sorry for the inconveinence this has caused. I am terribly sorry you were late for your dinner event. Sometime when we do not meet a guest's expectations we always invite them back to prove we do our very best to satisfy every guest, everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    153
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
83
167
25
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This property has remained consistantly well-managed since opening. The staff is friendly and the wine bar is a nice gathering place to discuss the days adventures over local wines.
The location is convenient to all winery locations in Paso Robles and Templeton.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the west side do not face the freeway, but don't have as good of a view. I like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank its_Marci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We booked this hotel for some wine tasting and relaxing before the new year. We were so impressed by the knowledge, friendly staff. They helped us plan out our itinerary of tastings, even calling ahead to the different wineries to double check on wines we were interested in. Surprised to find this level of concierge services at such a modestly priced hotel. On our last night we chose to stay in and ordered room service with our friends. Again so surprised to find the high level of quality meals available. Needless to say, we will be back!! Again and again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, General Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank You for being our guest. I'm glad to hear how great of service you received. The food here is awesome and on top of that our new menu is rolling out soon! Thanks again and have a wonderful New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed for two nights after Christmas, doing a little bit of post-holiday wine tasting and relaxing. We booked this hotel based on Courtyards generally being great places to stay, this property's location, and price. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by a fantastic front desk staff who we enjoyed talking to throughout our stay.

Room was nice, only real complaint was the fact that the fan was noisy, but it wasn't enough for us to complain about, so can't say too much negative. As touched on, the location was fantastic, just south of downtown, so an easy jaunt onto the 46 west for wine tasting, close by the Firestone Taproom, and close to downtown. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel on one of our days, $10 gets you a full buffet with an egg station and drinks, definitely worth it!

We had a slight issue with our reservation - our discount was not correctly applied and they were unable to figure this out at the front desk, so I emailed Marriott after we returned, and they quickly credited the amount in question to us. This type of customer service is noticed and appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, General Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank You for staying with us and taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. One of the many great things about our property is the location! We are centrally located between Firestone Brewery and downtown Paso Robles with easy access to the 101 and 46 freeways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is conveniently located just outside of downtown and not far from many of the wineries in Paso Robles. I found the hotel to be clean. They set out cookies in the lobby at 5:30. They have a restaurant that serves a breakfast buffet for $9.95 that includes omelets made to order. I have stayed there twice and will stay there again. Nothing fabulous, but it is a nice place to stay if you are going wine tasting. If you are going wine tasting around Christmas, the town is pretty dead before Christmas, but pretty lively after Christmas and before New Years.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank You for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We do offer many options for breakfast, continental buffet is $6.95, full buffet is $9.95 and we also have our ala carte menu. I hope you enjoyed spening the holidays in Paso Robles, Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed two nights for a wedding. Great location, right off the freeway with a shopping plaza ~2min away. Our king bed room was clean and comfortable, with a decent-sized desk, couch, coffee table, and wardrobe closet. Lighting was very good (something that most hotel rooms lack). Wifi was fast, bathroom was clean, spacious, and had good water pressure. No complaints whatsoever.

Would definitely recommend, although the price was a bit steep (not sure if that's par for the course in Paso Robles).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

If you havnt been to Paso yet dont be too shocked at the prices...everything is a little higher than a normal small town due to the "wine" culture. I thought Courtyard was nice but there were no frills. Breakfast had to be paid for ( albeit not much $7) and there were no frills in the room except free wifi. We ordered room service one night and even though we both had fries with our meal, we got no ketchup, no salt, no pepper no waters no nothing other than the food !!! But, again, the price for the room service was much less than a normal hotel would charge. All in all we would easily stay there again. Very central to all wine tasting and the coast and highways. If you are wine tasting, talk to Erika, she is a sweetheart and will fix you up with free tastings. She's the best they got !!

Room Tip: Ask for the non highway side of the building and face the mountains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billinvegas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.8 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,353 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Paso Robles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Paso Robles

Property: Courtyard Paso Robles
Address: 120 S Vine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-3736
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#9 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Paso Robles 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a guest at the Courtyard Marriott Paso Robles, you'll be embraced with superior accommodations here in the heart of wine country, ideally situated off of Highway 101 surrounded by over 225 local wineries within a 5 mile radius as well as the famous FireStone Walker Brewing Company. We are centrally located near beaches and attractions such as Hearst Castle, which allows our guests to take advantage of the best of the central coast region while staying with us. We are also excited to announce that our hotel has just completed renovations / remodel February of 2014, which focuses to further increase comfort for families and business travelers alike. Guests will see and feel a difference the second they step foot into one of 122 rooms or 8 suites with fresh carpets, draperies, new furnishings, light fixtures and wall vinyls. New, cotton-rich linens and plenty of fluffy pillows will ease guests into a sound night's sleep, while top-notch amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet, in-room coffeemakers, mini-refrigerators, comfy sofas, and large flat-screen TVs with premium movie channels are designed to spoil even the pickiest of leisure travelers. Business executives will enjoy new ergonomic chairs while working at spacious desks with plenty of electrical outlets along with 24/7 access to our new business center located adjacent to lobby. Visitors who need to grab something to eat can do so with ease thanks to the centerpiece of the newer lobby renovation, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Open for breakfast and dinner, The Bistro offers Starbucks coffee, a wide selection of healthy food options and a number of tasteful selections of Paso Robles' own local wine and beer. With its superior accommodations, unexpected touches and focus on the needs of today's business & leisure traveler, the Courtyard Paso Robles hotel offers an outstanding value. Furthermore, just as you'd expect from a fine hotel in Paso Robles, California, there's a heated pool and spa to soothe and relax you. We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Paso Robles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Paso Robles Hotel Paso Robles
Paso Robles Marriott
Paso Robles Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing