We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a very good Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Paso Robles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Paso Robles
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a very good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

While it's true that supply and demand drives hotel pricing, it doesn't mean a property management should let their investment deteriorate.

Pros: close to wineries - easy on/off Hwy 101 - lots of parking - good appetizers, and quick room service - nice staff.

Cons: Tiny rooms even for a Courtyard - you have to keep the bathroom door closed to get in and out of the room - sofa and chairs are faded and old - peeling wallpaper around the toilet - HVAC constantly hunts between AC and Heat so as soon as it reaches set temp from AC it starts heating the room, crazy and horribly wasteful! - AND THE WORST INTERNET speeds and access of ANY Marriott property I've ever stayed at. This is DIAL-UP speed! How can they call themselves a business hotel? They claim they are addressing it soon. However, if you use the Net, consider another hotel. - noisy on the freeway side - the $12 breakfast is no better than the free ones provided at other Marriott properties.

With some investments back into the rooms and property this could be a very fine hotel.

Room Tip: High floor, corner, opposite of the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassey22000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, General Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your concerns and bringing these matters to our attention. Customer service is always our top priority. On the bright side, we have great news. We just upgraded our internet speeds September 24, and also have renovation scheduled for the entire hotel December 1 through January. We are upgrading all décor and rooms, lobby, furnature and will have a bistro with Starbucks as well as our continued restaurant and wine bar. As we will have limited rooms available during renovation, we will still be able to accommodate guests and completion is scheduled for Mid-January 2013. We hope to see you then, and will be eager to hear your feedback once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    146
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
79
162
23
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Enjoyed our one night stay here as part of our NW US road trip.

Stayed on Sunday 8th September as we drove down from El Portal / Yosemite. Missed visiting the Missions on the way in due to the longish drive not being able to drive east to west in California on an Interstate. Staff on reception were helpful and the room was pretty large, paid $155 for the night.

Lobby bar was showing the Giants v Cowboys game which was great as I had wanted to watch the earlier Rams game but had been stuck on the road when it kicked off. Free laundry was good and I had a couple of beers in the bar while I waited for the wash and dryer to finish.

Ordered room service (Philly cheese steak, Quesadillas, Coconut shrimp and Onion Rings) which was great and pretty quick in arriving.

Was awake early the next day so started my day with a quick trip to the outdoor hot tub and pool which was good as the sun was just coming up - still felt pretty warm to this englishman.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHWBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, General Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are a proud sponsor of the NFL, and we always enjoy having our guests down in our lounge/bar area for Monday Night Football, Thursday Night Football, and Sunday. Sorry to hear you missed the Rams vs. Falcons game, but if you’re a Rams fan…it was probably best that you did to save the heartache. Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant selection, and it’s always good to note that our laundry room is open 24 hours and it is complimentary as well. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent 5 days at the Courtyard and the stay was quite enjoyable. The staff was friendly, extremely helpful with directions and dining suggestions, and always willing to help. Norma, the hostess and waitress for the breakfast buffet, is a walking encyclopedia for local information. The rooms were clean, as well as the common areas. If I were to offer a suggestion it would be to provide better fitness equipment, plus an elliptical machine, in the fitness center. This is very important to many guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, General Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. Every staff member here has plenty of recommendations for destination points in Paso Robles, and Norma is always a person we insist people talk to during our breakfast hours to get tips on how to spend your time here in Wine Country. As far as our fitness equipment goes, we are currently looking into implementing upgrades and free-weights, so stay tuned! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I've been staying up and down 101 at a lot of these Marriotts in Buellton, Santa Maria, SLO, and now Paso. This one is similar to the others, except that corners have been cut on the room types. There are no balconies at all, which is hard for us claustrophobic types that really need air. The window in my room didn't open at all. And I don't think they have any suites.
On the plus side, the service is extremely friendly. Checking in I learned that there was a comp Kenneth Volk wine tasting scheduled on the patio, and an inexpensive bbq dinner offered. The wine tasting was nicely attended, a fellow played music, and it was a pleasure not to have to leave the building after my long drive. I think they do this on Wednesdays.
A quick shout out to Stacie, our server, who was great at making everyone comfortable (I was traveling alone), and always standing by with a smile and whatever we needed.
Next time I may try the sushi bar up the road, I hear it's good. Def get a room on the non-fwy side.

Room Tip: If you want a window that opens, be sure to make that request. There are no balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpgradeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, General Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We have 8 king suites on property, all with an extra bedroom with an HD TV, sofa furniture, a wet bar and plenty of additional space. These rooms are in high demand for bridal parties as they tend to use these rooms for preparation for their very special day. Word is spreading about our “Wine Down Wednesdays” here at our hotel from 5:30-8:00PM, which we have one of our hundreds of local wineries come pour complimentary for our guests. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and recommendations for our guests. We are always looking to improve our property. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

My son and I with two friends spent the Day in Paso Robles and Hearts Castle. It was to be a very quick 1 day trip. Suddenly it was lengthened when we had a flat tire on the airplane. It was late Saturday night when I called to see if rooms were available. Luckily, they had two remaining, although they were king suites which, size wise, we didn't really need. She was very professional and friendly over the phone and even lowered the price quite a bit! When we arrived she was even more amazing by making check in a breeze and hooking us up with needed toiletries. If I was Mr. Marriott, I would give her a raise and a fat promotion for her attentiveness, and outgoing attitude. People like her will always keep my business. The room was huge, CLEAN and fresh smelling. Kudos to the housekeeping staff! Breakfast was good and reasonably priced with plenty of options. Overall, you can't go wrong with this place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Layne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, General Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are a destination hotel for travelers seeking to venture off to Hearst Castle. We are also partnered with Hearst Ranch Winery, which we highly recommend. Guests who stay with us receive a complimentary tasting for 2 at Hearst Ranch Winery, so be sure to ask the front desk for a voucher. We’re sorry to hear about your misfortune with your flight reducing time spent here in Paso Robles but are pleased for the comments regarding our property. We really appreciate your praise for our staff and breakfast and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dekalb,IL
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great place to stay, not to far from shopping if that is what you like, Wineries on 46 west are just 2 miles away, and if you like beer Firestone Walker is only a short drive away as well. Rooms were clean and well kept, staff was friendly and helpful. Giving suggestions on their favorite wineries and restaurants. The entire property seems to be maintained quite well, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the entrance side and higher floor for some nice views of the wine country. Other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soccer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, General Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Wineries, dinning, and land marks such as Firestone Walker are located extremely close to our property. For shopping purposes, be sure to venture off to downtown Paso Robles to find some boutique clothing stores and more. Also, for more selection, we are a smooth 20-25 Min drive to San Luis Obispo which offers more known fashion stores such as Banana Republic, Express, etc. Our staff is always able to give advice and preferences on “hot spot” wineries and dinning, be sure to ask us as we have plenty of discount and complimentary tasting cards. Thank you for your comments on our property and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Although we did not spend too much time in the room we enjoyed the comfort of the bed and friendly service. The room we had had okay furniture and decor, but what stood out was the location and well maintained appearance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happypilgrim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodger H, General Manager at Courtyard Paso Robles, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We find it often that most leisure guests spend after hours after our property because the amount of activities to do in Paso Robles, Ca. We hope you were able to visit at least a few of our 225 wineries within a 5 mile radius or a chance to eat at some of the very fine dining restaurants in downtown. Our location is superb and we make sure to keep our rooms clean and the appearance well-maintained. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
2.6 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.8 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Paso Robles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Paso Robles

Property: Courtyard Paso Robles
Address: 120 S Vine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-3736
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#9 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Paso Robles 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a guest at the Courtyard Marriott Paso Robles, you'll be embraced with superior accommodations here in the heart of wine country, ideally situated off of Highway 101 surrounded by over 225 local wineries within a 5 mile radius as well as the famous FireStone Walker Brewing Company. We are centrally located near beaches and attractions such as Hearst Castle, which allows our guests to take advantage of the best of the central coast region while staying with us. We are also excited to announce that our hotel has just completed renovations / remodel February of 2014, which focuses to further increase comfort for families and business travelers alike. Guests will see and feel a difference the second they step foot into one of 122 rooms or 8 suites with fresh carpets, draperies, new furnishings, light fixtures and wall vinyls. New, cotton-rich linens and plenty of fluffy pillows will ease guests into a sound night's sleep, while top-notch amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet, in-room coffeemakers, mini-refrigerators, comfy sofas, and large flat-screen TVs with premium movie channels are designed to spoil even the pickiest of leisure travelers. Business executives will enjoy new ergonomic chairs while working at spacious desks with plenty of electrical outlets along with 24/7 access to our new business center located adjacent to lobby. Visitors who need to grab something to eat can do so with ease thanks to the centerpiece of the newer lobby renovation, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Open for breakfast and dinner, The Bistro offers Starbucks coffee, a wide selection of healthy food options and a number of tasteful selections of Paso Robles' own local wine and beer. With its superior accommodations, unexpected touches and focus on the needs of today's business & leisure traveler, the Courtyard Paso Robles hotel offers an outstanding value. Furthermore, just as you'd expect from a fine hotel in Paso Robles, California, there's a heated pool and spa to soothe and relax you. We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard Paso Robles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Paso Robles Hotel Paso Robles
Paso Robles Courtyard
Paso Robles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing