We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panolivo

Panolivo
Reserve with OpenTable
Panolivo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 191 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 14th Street
Description: Tasty, comforting and healthy, French-inspired California cuisine, in a warm, inviting, casual chic atmosphere. Breakfast, lunch & dinner served nonstop, all-day, everyday. Dedicated Vegan Menu. Dedicated Gluten free menu. Menu also featuring Mediterranean dishes from Jaffa Cafe.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Panolivo is consistently a great place for lunch or dinner. The service is always good, the food is tasty, and the atmosphere is great. They have an area for sit-down dining or a more casual bakery area that also sells pastries. The bread and pastries alone make this establishment worth visiting. The menu includes both French inspired items as well as Middle Eastern fare. Recommend the french onion soup with 1/2 tuna sandwich with harissa mayo.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    105
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good quality in paso robles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Just had a very good meal, all high quality at a reasonable cost and good service.Family owned resturant using best ingredients and cannot fault.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“more sophisticated food than what you'd expect, homemade bakery and ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have had several meals now and have never been disappointed because of the wide variety of well foods, pleasant patient staff, and good wine list for the average customer. Last Friday we arrived for the weekend and needed a place for 8 for dinner. They had room in the back and quickly seated us. Although the ambience is not the usual type for a downtown Paso restaurant at supper, the food is definitely quality and interesting. From mustard glazed rack of lamb to butternut ravioli to a great Peachy Canyon red zin, we were very happy with everything from desserts to wine. The waitress, then sommelier, were very patient in trying to accomodate 8 people with different tastes and meals and it turned out fantastic. They were also patient with how long we stayed which was too long. We were family meeting up for the first time in almost a decade so the conversation just kept going.
One of the dinner guests with us remarked that they were very pleasantly surprised with the menu and quality of food because the restaurant deceptively looked more like a sandwich shop than a restaurant with beef bourgignon. They do have great burgers but they also have a fantastic salmon dish and homemade ice cream and desserts from their bakery. I've tried salads, hummus and more and never been disappointed. HIdden gem with seating available.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Txmagca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“FRENCH FLAIR IN PASO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

First, I'd rate this bistro 4 1/2 stars, but that's not a T-A option.

Second, go there for the food. The atmosphere is OK, but it's "glorified coffee shop"-style, clean and friendly, but not fancy.

The owners are from Paris, and it rubs off, in a pleasant way, if you like French food. We had both a dinner and a breakfast here, and both were very good, with a Parisian accent.

The French fries and breakfast omelet looked (and tasted) like they were straight out of a Parisian cafe. Thin-cut, fresh french-fries and an omelet with a thin egg layer, and lots of stuffing is expected in Paris, but unusual here. It was delicious! The breakfast pastries (as are all their pastries) are fresh-made on the premises, and taste like it.

For dinner, we had a filet steak, and the salmon. As you might expect in Paris, both were very good, but the biggest emphasis was on the sauces, the vegetables, and the presentation. Good, good, and better, but the hit of the night was the apple tatin, that was the best I've had since - you guessed it - Paris! And, again, like in France, the wine list included some pretty good wines by the glass, half-carafe, or carafe, as well as bottles of local wines and wines from France. Gutsy to serve French wines in Paso Robles, but you do have a choice.

Service was friendly, with the owner helping to pick up the slack by bringing us fresh, hot coffee within seconds of our arrival. The place seemed to be more popular for our late breakfast/early lunch than at dinner, but they did have a great looking breakfast menu. We'll be back - I can't wait to try the "breakfast burrito" (in a French-type bistro ???).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brngrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Burnt and bruised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Rarely do we get bad service and poor food from this type of establishment. Granted my review may be affected by being almost knocked over and my foot stepped on by one of the waiters, who simply turned around, said "Oops" and ran off, without checking to see if I was ok. The rest of the experience was not any better. Not sure if this type of service is "usual" as we are visiting and have never eaten there before. This place has been in business for over 10 years and has gotten local "best dining" awards in the past. We ordered lunch which totalled about $60.00 for a party of 3, and one person only ordered dessert. For the two meals, we got "good" soup, nothing to brag about, a GF sandwich with burnt bread, and some nice ravioli. I do think that the "bad service" might have affected the food quality, in that the server (different one from the football lineman hopeful who almost knocked me over) should have immediately sent the burnt sandwich back to the kitchen. We also ordered 3 desserts, 1 was ordered off the Gluten Free a menu and arrived with a cookie inserted into the whipped cream. When asked about the cookie, the server said that it would be removed along with the whipped cream and re-served. note - She did know about "cross contamination" issues as she informed us that we could not order the fries, due to these issues. The seating cause some discomfort for an older diner. Her back was hurting for hours after leaving the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSchandler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanolivoRestaurant, Owner at Panolivo, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
I am sorry about your recent experience. Please be assured that this is not typical on how we handle special requests. I have addressed the issue with the individuals who have been involved and used this incident with the rest of our staff . I would appreciate if you can call me at the restaurant at 805-239-3366.

Didier Cop
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panolivo also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Panolivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing