We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Bad Lighting/Electricity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Overall, the hotel was nice. I had a lot of family staying at the Paso Robles Innwho were unhappy with their accommodations, for the amount we paid at Best Western, it was a better choice. The only issue we had was that the lighting in the bathroom kept going out while we were in the shower, or just using the bathroom in general. This made for uncomfortable times at night when you needed to use the restroom. I would stay at this hotel again because everything else was great, but hopefully they get their electricity fixed in the meantime.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel was great for the value, felt at home. Beds were comfortable. Very peaceful area, felt very secure and good places to eat just a short walk away. Right off the highway it has a great location. Love the free internet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Raul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel was conveniently located, clean, comfortable and the staff at the lobby were very friendly and helpful. I like the wiffi at Best Western because you don't need a password and is very easy to connect. If you need a play to sleep and do not plan to spend much time in the hotel this is a good value hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is perfect each year for us to attend the Mid State Fair, however, they do raise prices during this time of year. A little on the expensive side but right across the street from the fair. They have a small pool area. Rooms are decent size, reception staff are polite. They used to give a coupon for $5 off at Margies restaurant but we did not receive on this year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Peyton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I thought this place was fairly overpriced for a Best Western, but it appears status quot for Paso Robles. But I was pleasantly surprised by little details: half n half at the coffee machine instead f just packets of non-dairy creamer, a shower cap, hand sanitizer, and Vaseline lotion, as well as the candy dish, were very pleasant little touches that will make me definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Pros: Great, though small, pool and hot tub Very clean grounds and rooms Friendly staff Beautiful room Cons: Paper-thin walls, didn't get to sleep until 4am due to loud party next door Internet was extremely spotty in our room (worked only about 15% of the time), severely impacted work, was not offered other room. Made essential online things happen by walking down closer to office with my computer. Restaurant very overpriced and diner-ish. Elevator and fitness room not accessible, not finished yet (but this is a temporary problem and it is terrific they are upgrading in these ways).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MaryOyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOMLBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I am sorry that you did not get a good rest due to noisy neighbors. When the staff is alerted to such issues, we certainly do what we can to let them know that their activity is not acceptable.

Unfortunately, the Internet issue was determined to be a wireless access point being misunderstood by another guest that had inadvertently plugged the loose end of the cat5e cable into the wireless access point. Over time, the "collisions" caused the Internet to be unusable. This could not be determined to be the issue until the guest checked out. We recently upgraded to 100 mbps Internet service and this was truly a fluke instance. Again, we apologize for all of your inconveniences, and do hope that you will give us another try. Angela McKee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My Husband & i never stayed in Paso Robles before so were dependent on the accuracy & representation of the hotel's website. We were a bit disappointed with our overall experience at The BW Black Oak. If we were on a family vacation, this would have been a good place to stay, but there was nothing romantic nor quaint about this place -- it is very average and blah in appearance and accomodations. I will say that the bed was comfortable and everything was quiet in the evening, but for what we paid our expectations were certainly not met.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellarose1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOMLBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I am surely sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have never thought of our 53 year young property as quaint or romantic either, but definitely leisure and family travel. Again, I am sorry we did not have what you were looking for for your first getaway to wonderful Paso Robles. I hope that you might come visit the area again, and consider one of the boutique hotels that might make for a romantic getaway. Angela McKee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
716 reviews
1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,547 reviews
1 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Black Oak

Address: 1135 24th St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paso Robles
#3 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: £85 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Black Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 220 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles. Newly added in late 2014 a centrally located elevator allowing easy access to the second floor. A fitness room with state of the art equipment including personal fitness station and a multi-purpose room for small meetings or gatherings round out recent upgrades all set in a beautifully landscaped setting with additional seating options to enjoy Paso Robles' mild weather. Our staff continues to receive accolades for service and cleanliness standards. We hope you will come see for yourself our amazing 53 year young property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing