We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value. Great Stay. Reviews are on point.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Value. Great Stay. Reviews are on point.”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed at the Black Oak for a single Saturday night during a quick wine tasting trip to Paso. We booked late in the week and the city was nearly full, so we did not know what to expect from this hotel. Simply put, the other reviews on TA are right on the money -- this is a clean, well kept, well-located property that is a great option when staying in Paso.

The staff upon check-in were friendly and accomodating. We mentioned we were in town for the wine and were given a number of tasting coupons from some of the better local wineries. Only one came in handy, but it saved us a $20 tasting fee, which we appreciated.

The room was a basic Best Western room. Moderate in size, no frills, but no complaints either. Living quarters and the bathroom were very clean and modern. Room had a big Samsung plazma TV and cold AC. No noise issues and we slept well.

The staff at checkout was again very friendly. The bill was as expected with no surprises. This was a good stay with good value (we paid about $125 for a weekend, high-season stay.) I would stay here again without hesitation. It is a great spot to see Paso, hit the wineries or if you are just passing down the 101.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsr914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    305
    68
    9
    10
See reviews for
208
358
43
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, CA
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2009

This hotel far exceeded my expectations for a value priced hotel. The rooms are very clean and spacious, and the service has been excellent. My husband & I love the Paso Robles 'wine country' and will visit and stay here again. (FYI: our favorite winery to visit is Tobin James for their complimentary tasting and gracious hospitality, to their wonderful Zinfandels and beautiful logo gifts.)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeebah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We decided to go to Paso Robles for the weekend at the last minute over the 4th of July weekend. The "Black Oak" had rooms available at a good price, so we decided to forego our usual choice of a charming B&B, or boutique hotel for the big name Best Western. We couldn't be more pleased with the result. Our room was HUGE, with a king size bed, large sitting room area, desk (which we used as a dining table), reclining chair, and large bathroom area with two sinks and a jacuzzi tub. We utilized the pool/spa area and will use the lovely BBQ/picnic area next time. Close enough to ride bikes into town, and conviniently located close to the 101/46. $5 off coupons are available for breakfast at Margie's next door... a greasy dive, but quick and easy. Will stay again and would recommend to friends!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neurojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I have been traveling to Paso Robles for wine fun for several years now, and after staying at several places, this is my preferred place to stay. It's not perfect, but here are my experiences:

Pros: Can't beat the location. It's very convenient since it's located near the 101 and 46. The rooms are clean. They have wireless Internet. Parking is convenient, and it's generally quiet. It's the best value for the quality ... generally I wouldn't expect this quality at this price. La Quinta is more expensive.

Cons: At our last stay we were located under the stairwell during a kids' soccer tournament. 'Nuff said. The front desk can be kind of, well, *leisurely* in their customer service. That being said, I still haven't had a bad experience with them.

All in all, a great place to stay for a reasonable price. Located close enough to downtown, very close to freeways, and with restaurants within walking distance, it's hard to beat. I have had no reason (other than room availability) to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasWineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I have stayed at both the La Quinta and this hotel, and actually prefer the Best Western though some co-workers prefer the La Quinta. Rooms are slightly dated, and not quite as nice as the La Quinta. But the sound insulation seems better, and I actually like the exterior hallways. Also it is a (long) walk from downtown Paso, so you can drink and walk back if you feel like it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukhoi_584th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

There were too front office people but after helping one couple the young man ignored me and left me to wait until the young woman checked me in. The room had two beds and I normally book one. I was told that the Best Western site was notorious for making mistakes, and even if I had a confirmation for one bed they weren't going to honor it.
There was a horrible smell in the room (musty and sour) and when I complained I was told to keep my windows and doors open. The young lady eventually came up to "smell" the room. Her comment was that she couldn't smell a thing and then said that the room just smelled stale and to keep the door open. This was after the door had been open for 15 minutes as well as the ceiling fan. She left and then yelled back that I was paying for the room whether I liked it or not.
Terrible customer service. I would not recommend this place at all which is a shame as I am a Best Western Crown Club Diamond member.

  • Liked — It was in Paso Robles
  • Disliked — The room smelled and the facility lacked quality customer service.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NucGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We recently stayed at the Black Oak and was pleasantly surprised. The room appeared to be recently updated. It was very clean and nicely appointed. I don't mind rooms looking dated as long as they are CLEAN. The architecture of the motor lodge is older but very well kept, with the entrance to the rooms by outside corridors, definitely a motor lodge. Although the hotel was fully booked, we were not disturbed by hearing other guests in nearby rooms or noise from the outside corridors (even with the window open). Ample parking despite being full. There are restaurants and a Starbucks within easy walking distance. We will definitely stay here again. The price, comfort of the room and service is hard to beat!

  • Liked — The cleaniness
  • Disliked — Not in the center of downtown
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Black Oak

Property: Best Western Plus Black Oak
Address: 1135 24th St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paso Robles
#3 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Black Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 220 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles. Newly added in late 2014 a centrally located elevator allowing easy access to the second floor. A fitness room with state of the art equipment including personal fitness station and a multi-purpose room for small meetings or gatherings round out recent upgrades all set in a beautifully landscaped setting with additional seating options to enjoy Paso Robles' mild weather. Our staff continues to receive accolades for service and cleanliness standards. We hope you will come see for yourself our amazing 53 year young property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing