We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Spent 3 nights here mid week 15 - 17 sept. The room was spotlessly clean and fresh. The big plus of this place was the pool. My bug bear is often hotel pools are too shallow ( below 4ft) but this one had depths upto 6-7ft. That and the sauna and jacuzzi made it a winner after a day sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhhtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2009

This was a fine hotel with a clean, spacious room. It was also a good location and we found a very good Mexican Restaurant close by called Senor Sanchos. If you like Mexican food don't miss this for dinner or lunch. They don't offer a breakfast; however, they do have a restaurant the adjoins the property, but it's expensive, so we opted for MacDonalds just down the street.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattib65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We were looking for a no-frills lodging on our way back from a trip to Monterey. This place was great! Although we contemplated paying (much) more to stay in a charming, historic-type room in the downtown area, we decided to save our money for other things. The inn was not very full, and we had the good fortune to be upgraded to a "super-delux" room, for a price under $100.00. It was beautiful! Large clean, new room with all the ammenities, including a jacuzzi tub, microwave, fridge, two separate sinks, big screen TV, etc; everything new and nice. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and gave us coupons for free wine tastings, plus Paso area maps and suggestions. For the morning, you get a $5.00 off coupon each, for the diner next door. (good, standard breakfast fare; no turkey sausage or anything fancy!)

We drove into town that night (Friday) and walked around the charming downtown area, then had a lovely delicious dinner at the Butterfly-something restaurant - very reasonably priced, compared to the $30.00+ entree places we had looked at around town. 5 minutes back to the inn, and we had a great night's sleep.

All in all, a great, reasonably-priced place to stay, if you don't mind being right on the main road, and not close enough to walk to downtown. Stay here if you want to save a few bucks, and spend your money on wine tasting the next day! Although our room was an upgrade, I suspect that the standard, cheaper rooms are probably nice, as well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drbev2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I wasn't really expecting too much from this place. We stopped overnight on our drive up the coast. We were completely surprised. The following night we stayed in a ritzy, expensive hotel/spa in Monterey and honestly, this place was much better. The staff person at check-in was very pleasant. We were able to park our car right outside the room which made un-packing very easy. The room was spacious and comfy. Furnishings were new and attractive and it had a fridge and microwave. The cot we requested was waiting for us too. All in all - a great place for a great price. The breakfast on premises was very tasty too!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

For a Best Western, this motel was very nice. The rooms were spacious and very clean. There was free hi-speed internet in the rooms. It is is a good location, right off the highway and convenient for wine tasting. Overall, a very good value. There is a greasy diner next door that's good for breakfast. They will even give you $5 per person coupons to use at the diner. If we're ever back in Paso Robles, we will definetely stay at the Best Western again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed at the Black Oak for a single Saturday night during a quick wine tasting trip to Paso. We booked late in the week and the city was nearly full, so we did not know what to expect from this hotel. Simply put, the other reviews on TA are right on the money -- this is a clean, well kept, well-located property that is a great option when staying in Paso.

The staff upon check-in were friendly and accomodating. We mentioned we were in town for the wine and were given a number of tasting coupons from some of the better local wineries. Only one came in handy, but it saved us a $20 tasting fee, which we appreciated.

The room was a basic Best Western room. Moderate in size, no frills, but no complaints either. Living quarters and the bathroom were very clean and modern. Room had a big Samsung plazma TV and cold AC. No noise issues and we slept well.

The staff at checkout was again very friendly. The bill was as expected with no surprises. This was a good stay with good value (we paid about $125 for a weekend, high-season stay.) I would stay here again without hesitation. It is a great spot to see Paso, hit the wineries or if you are just passing down the 101.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsr914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

This hotel far exceeded my expectations for a value priced hotel. The rooms are very clean and spacious, and the service has been excellent. My husband & I love the Paso Robles 'wine country' and will visit and stay here again. (FYI: our favorite winery to visit is Tobin James for their complimentary tasting and gracious hospitality, to their wonderful Zinfandels and beautiful logo gifts.)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeebah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
707 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
79 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
3.7 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Black Oak

Address: 1135 24th St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#3 Green Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: £93 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Black Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 220 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles. Newly added in late 2014 a centrally located elevator allowing easy access to the second floor. A fitness room with state of the art equipment including personal fitness station and a multi-purpose room for small meetings or gatherings round out recent upgrades all set in a beautifully landscaped setting with additional seating options to enjoy Paso Robles' mild weather. Our staff continues to receive accolades for service and cleanliness standards. We hope you will come see for yourself our amazing 53 year young property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing