We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great base for exploring Paso on foot”
Review of Paso Robles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paso Robles Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

After days of driving and family holiday events, we were exhausted and ready to park the car and chill. Staying at the Inn, we had access on foot to wonderful restaurants all over town, and freedom from our vehicle felt like an amazing vacation, as we grazed our way through downtown, then returned to soak in our private sulfur tub overlooking the garden. The location just across the street from City Park meant we also walked out the door and into a farmers' market one afternoon, which we really enjoyed.
Later in our trip, we got back into the car to drive to wineries, but before that, we were able to enjoy flights at several restaurants and tasting rooms, so we didn't have to give up that aspect of being in Paso even though we were on foot.

This was our third, and longest stay at the Inn. Really appreciate the helpful staff.

Room Tip: we thought it was worth it to get the spa room , which we had never done before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zeytinlari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,303 - 1,309 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

The Paso Robles Inn boasts beautiful grounds with well-appointed rooms and a colorful history. Its location is adjacent to the town's best restaurants and bars. Plans to update the property with a health center and spa will make it a better value should rates stay the same.

We upgraded to the spa room. The room itself was very spacious, but the jacuzzi spa was not in the best shape; controls were confusing and the sulfur smell for the "mineral bath" was overwhelming.

Room Tip: Our upgraded spa suite was MUCH larger than the rather smallish rooms of our friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdp5q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We booked one of the expensive spa rooms and told the woman at the desk how much we were looking forward to using the spa. However once in the unheated chilly room we spent an hour trying to bring the spa up to temperature but it remained freezing cold. The room was still cold too since it was -3 deg when we arrived and it takes time to warm a room from that temp with basic heating. When we called the front desk to ask if they could send someone up we were told all the spas along the row of spa rooms were broken, they knew they were not working, and they were waiting for a replacement piece to arrive! When we requested to speak to a manager to complain we were told there wasn't a manager on duty and we would have to wait till the next morning.

We finally managed to speak with a manager the next morning and she stated there was no known problem with the spa in our room, or any other room, contrary to what the woman at the front desk said previously. After time spent arguing with her she agreed to reduce the price of the room to a non spa room.

Either someone was being deceitful selling us a spa room when they knew the spa was broken, or the manager
was totally out of touch with the state of the hotel she was supposed to be managing.

It spoiled our trip to Paso Robles, we were miserably cold in the room and spent quite a bit of that evening in a restaurant around the corner trying to warm up.

We would not recommend staying at this hotel whatsoever. They give Paso Robles a BAD name which is sad as it is a nice friendly little town full of great restaurants and cute boutique shops. We will keep our visits to lunch in Paso Robles while passing through from LA to better accommodation in other towns in future.

Room Tip: Don't bother they will rip you off whatever you choose, but certainaly don't pay for a spa r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwisLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here for a night at the end of December. We got a suite with mineral spring hot tub and the tub was actually a lot nicer than we expected. Yes, it smells, but the water was relaxing. The fixtures and decor are stuck in the early 90s and could use a clean revamp. The room was enormous but surprisingly lacking in furniture so all in all, it felt rather empty. For the price we paid per night I would expect a bit more. Perhaps if you can find a way to get 50% off the list price of the room, then it would be worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve15182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stay at the Paso Robles every Dec. just before Christmas. The rooms have been upgraded with flat screen t.v.s, nice bathrooms. They are a bit on the small side. The grounds are beautiful with koi ponds, nice pool/spa. If you dine in the restaturant there is free corkage for any wine bought from San Luis Obispo county. The town square/park is right across the street with numerous wine tasting rooms. Restaurant serves a nice steak, bar upstairs is a fun place to have a drink.

Room Tip: Some rooms have hot tubs on the balconies but some are just basic. Depends on what you want to spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryCarpinteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Paso Robles Inn is a historic hotel within walking distance of the heart of Paso Robles. Yes, there is a natural springs here that does emit the sulfuric odor that other reviewers have complained about but it adds to the charm of the hotel. It's not overbearing and the cozy rooms make up for it. The carpet was a bit old looking in our room but everything was clean with a nice little fireplace. The bar in the Inn was hopping and I felt as if I were in a lodge somewhere. The other customers were quite friendly. The inn has a great little restaurant of which we had breakfast. Very good and reasonably priced. If you want to experience a bit of history stay here! Friendly staff!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the older side of the inn or a room with a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We decided to stay at this hotel because of its central location. We'd read the reviews which had been good and bad... here's our story.

We arrived in the afternoon and got our room. The weather was clear but cold. When we went into the room, it was colder inside the room than it was outside. We attempted to turn on the heater (which was hung from the wall) and it did not work. We called the front desk and reported the problem. They sent a maintenance man who was very curteous, but could not get the unit to work. So he called the front desk and recommended a room in the building next door. While waiting for the repair man, my husband noticed that when to door to the room was closed you could see daylight under the door, which led to the outside. Also, this bathroom looked to have been recently renovated, but the room was worn looking, but appeared to be clean.

Our next room was "inside" and overlooked the park. It had central heating, which worked and was much nicer than our first room and also appeared to be updated My recommendation would be to only stay in a room with central heating that had been renovated. Also, request a room that is "inside" (inside hallway to the room, not an outdoor walkway to your room).

It is a great location though, walking distance to all the great spots around the square.

Rooms have a fridge & coffee maker.

The staff was couteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Again, ask for a room that require you take an inside hallway. The rooms with the outside hallway w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BeckyBAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
661 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
711 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paso Robles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paso Robles Inn

Address: 1103 Spring St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: £101 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paso Robles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and centrally located downtown Paso Robles, the Historic Paso Robles Inn is the perfect spot to enjoy Paso Robles wine country! Right across the street from the City Park, the Paso Robles Inn is within close walking distance of wine tasting, boutiques, restaurants, movies, specialty culinary shops and more! The hotel features 98 beautifully appointed guest rooms and deluxe mineral spa rooms offering a private spa tub on your balcony or patio fed by mineral springs that have attracted travelers for over a century. Relax in the stunning garden setting, enjoy the award-winning Steakhouse, Coffee Shop and Cattlemen’s Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paso Robles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paso Robles Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing