We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This probably used to be a good place to stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paso Robles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paso Robles Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This probably used to be a good place to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Front desk staff wasn't friendly and exchanged no pleasantries. I had mentioned that we were on our honeymoon in our reservation, but no mention of that was made. The staff spent more time warning us about the stinky water and fumes we should expect from the mineral springs-fed bath tub. When we got to the room, it was the top floor, but the view was of a wall and across the roof of the building. The tub had disgusting stains in it, presumably from the mineral water. The main wall, over the bed, had mismatched shades of white paint from a poor job of patching an A/C unit installation or repair. And the stink! OMG, they weren't kidding about that, so we went back to the front desk to request a room without a hot springs tub. We got one, much, much smaller than the first room and they offered us no discount on the rate. This room was unbearably hot. The pilot light for the gas-fed fireplace seemed to keep the room extra hot. The A/C worked terribly and was loud. We never got comfortable in this room and were not impressed. The next morning, we thought we might get a cup of coffee in the lobby, but there was none to be had without paying. (We couldn't even get a book of matches to light some candles we had brought along; they suggested we walk down to the gas station to buy a lighter at midnight.) They didn't clean our room until well into the afternoon. Upon checkout, after two nights, we inquired about the room rate, since the room was so much smaller than the one for which we had originally reserved. Finally they admitted we could pay less and also added in the AAA discount, which, of course, had been part of our reservation in the first place. We will never stay in this hotel again. It may have the downtown location (though that is of dubious value as half of the store fronts in Paso Robles are sadly empty) and it has some history, but otherwise there is nothing worth recommending about the Paso Robles Inn.

Room Tip: Don't book any rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
I want to personally apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is our goal that every guest's experience exceeds their expectations.

Hospitality and guest service is of the utmost importance to us. Providing a caring and friendly interaction is our number one goal and it appears that we have failed. I am reviewing the manner in which you where treated during the check in process with our guest service agents. We absolutely should have acknowledged your honeymoon at check in. I would also like to apologize that the discount you received for changing room types was not offered from the start; this should have been given to you without you having to require about the discounted rate. Please trust that these issues have been strongly addressed with all front desk staff.

As you can imagine, our vast Historic Inn requires a lot of care and upkeep and we work diligently to maintain the grounds and rooms. The natural hot springs is sulfur, so there is a high mineral content that can be seen after the water has drained. We are currently in the process of updating all our spa tubs with a more modern look and feel; this is a large project and we are hoping to have it completed by next year. Along with updating our spa tubs we are also in the process of updating the interior and exterior of the property while maintaining the historic charm and character of the Inn.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me, it is through your feedback we can improve. I would like to invite you back so we can provide you with a positive memorable stay; one that reflects our usual standards. Please contact me personally so that I can ensure your stay meets your expectations.

Again thank you for taking the time to tell me about your recent stay.

Sincerely,

Erica Renkert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    451
    193
    79
    58
See reviews for
182
684
28
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Another great stay at the Paso Robles Inn! Important things you need to know about the hotel:

- Proximity to the downtown square **SUPERB**
- Clean and comfortable
- Quite room
- Accommodating staff
- Happy Hour
- Relaxing balcony in the bar where you can 'people watch'

The downside:

- When the A/C would come on at night the room got REAL COLD REAL QUICK! So we would wake up to kick the covers off then later to pull them back up.
- Had to leave to drive back home

All-in-all a GREAT stay!!! As for some reviews that comment about how 'smelly' the hot tubs are...please note that they aren't your standard hot tub with 'spring water' but are 'natural sulfur springs' so yes they WILL smell. And despite the fact that we had a room above the 'sulfur tubs' we did not notice any smell but no one was using them at the time either. People need to do their research BEFORE staying at ANY property, don't just look at the pretty pictures folks! =0)

Room Tip: If you want a quite room in ANY HOTEL you have to ASK FOR IT!!!! If it is at all possible the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THE_Martini_Maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

It is nice to hear we were able to provide you with such a positive experience during your stay. I’m also glad to see you were able to enjoy all the tasty food and drinks we have to offer.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Sincerely,

Erica Renkert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had the good fortune of spending long weekend in Beautiful Paso Robles. It was Beautiful wine country and we stayed in the lovely Paso Robles Inn. We had a standard room which was comfortable, well appointed and right off of the beautiful gardens and pool area. The bed was very comfortable, and the water pressure in the shower was perfect. The pool was lovely with a large hot tub.
The location of the Inn could not be better! We were able to walk to the downtown square area for Farmer's Market on Saturday morning, as well as to some wonderful restaurants at night.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the center gardens and pool would be a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariasatterlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I’m so glad you were able to return and enjoy the historic Paso Inn. We put a lot of time and care into maintaining rooms and the gardens. I’m so glad to hear everything meet your expectations here and the property and that you were able to enjoy all the wonderful things the Paso Robles Downtown has to offer.

I look forward to having you as out guest again real soon,

Sincerely
Erica Renkert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Considering the price of this hotel I expected alot more. The location is really good but it goes downhill after that. The service was very robotic. I felt like they couldn't wait to get rid of me. The hot tub was so smelly that the entire room smelled like boiled eggs even when it was off. I understand that it is spring water but the smell was awful. Beds were the only other plus... They were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chan605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me, your feedback is greatly appreciated and it is through feedback we can continue to improve.

I would like to apologize that you found a Front Desk associate robotic during your stay. Providing a caring and friendly interaction is our number one goal and it appears that we have failed. I assure you this has been addressed. I would like to invite you back so we can provide you with a positive and memorable stay; one that reflects our usual standards. Please contact me personally so that I can ensure your stay meets your expectations. Again thank you for taking the time to tell me about your recent stay.


Sincerely,

Erica Renkert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Pretty hotel with beautiful gardens and pool right in the centre of town. Rooms needing a bit of a refurbishment, but comfortable and good size. Friendly staff, although breakfast service a little slow. A good stop over close to other amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We take a lot of pride in maintaining the historic charm and charter of the Inn. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the grounds and where able to dine in the Steakhouse. You will be happy to know for your next visit that the property and rooms will be under going a refurbishment. The rooms will be refreshed with paint, carpet and bedding; we are excited for the refurbishment.

Again, thank you for taking to time to leave feedback. I look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Sincerely,

Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

After years of visiting family and staying with them, we finally took a long weekend and stayed at this beautiful hotel. We were busy sightseeing and didn't take advantage of all that the hotel has to offer but we truly enjoyed our stay. The pillows were very comfortable and plentiful so the previous guests should come back and try them out. The room was comfortable and quiet. We did get to walk through the grounds and were not disappointed.

The front desk staff was too eager too please when we checked in late on Friday but they were very friendly. The lounge was busy and it seemed like everyone was having a good time.

The hotel was reasonably priced considering the area and its location. I wouldn't mind coming back and spending another long weekend at the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I’m so glad you were able to enjoy our Historic Inn and you enjoyed the comforts of your room. Paso Robles and its surrounding areas are truly beautiful and I can see how you would get busy sighting. Again, thank you for your feedback.

I look forward to having you as our guest again real soon.

Sincerely,
Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I thought this place had great character. The beds were fine the bathrooms were nice enough and you were right downtown so could walk to everything. We were with friends and all rooms were similar. Had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruisesetc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We take pride in maintaining the historic charm and charter of the Inn and I’m so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Again, thank you for taking to time to leave feedback. I look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Sincerely,

Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paso Robles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paso Robles Inn

Property: Paso Robles Inn
Address: 1103 Spring St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paso Robles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and centrally located downtown Paso Robles, the Historic Paso Robles Inn is the perfect spot to enjoy Paso Robles wine country! Right across the street from the City Park, the Paso Robles Inn is within close walking distance of wine tasting, boutiques, restaurants, movies, specialty culinary shops and more! The hotel features 98 beautifully appointed guest rooms and deluxe mineral spa rooms offering a private spa tub on your balcony or patio fed by mineral springs that have attracted travelers for over a century. Relax in the stunning garden setting, enjoy the award-winning Steakhouse, Coffee Shop and Cattlemen’s Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Paso Robles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paso Robles Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing