We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much improved”

Basil Thai Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 196 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very much improved”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I had been to Basil on multiple occasions and been disappointed. However I have been hearing good things and decided to give it another try. I was very pleasantly surprise on the food had improved greatly and showed much more creativity and authentic Thai flair than previously. I will return. The atmosphere is and has been nice, now they have the food to match.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UziL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    73
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One Of The Best Thai Restaurants...”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Basil sits right on the park in downtown Paso Robles -- ideal spot to people watch and have a relaxing dinner. Fresh, flavorful thai food, seafood and a good wine list, showcasing the Paso wines. Have eaten here several times through the years and always leave with good memories!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanderllust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

A very good meal and reasonably priced. The salmon was superb as was the lamb shank. They seem to do quite a bit of take away. Always trust the locals. This a great place if you're in the mood for something different.

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We regularly enjoy having dinner at Bail Thai. The food is consistently excellent and the service is outstanding. Be warned, it can be very busy on weekend nights as it's located right on the park and is frequented by locals as well as visited by folks from out of town. A couple favorites on the menu are the pineapple curry which is prettily served in a pineapple shell and the param, a yummy dish with a great peanut sauce served on a bed of fresh spinach. The prices here are very reasonable as well. We've had thai food in many locations and this is one of our favorites.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryBlizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreckels, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our "Go to Thai" in Paso!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I enjoy sharing Asian cuisine with each other when we dine out. The portions here are large enough to split entrees and generally come with your choice of steamed white or brown rice. Try the Spicy Red Curry (seafood and chicken combination is our favorite)! TIP: We let them know if we're headed to the movies after dinner and always they get our food out quickly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVFarmGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil Thai Restaurant also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Basil Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing