We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for your money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vic's Cafe

Vic's Cafe
Ranked #33 of 191 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redlands, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for your money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Went for breakfast with family -- kids enjoyed the specials they had which are very reasonably priced with the right portion size (most restaurants stack up the french toast and most of it goes waste). Service was efficient with the waitress calling me "Hon" -- which got a giggle from my daughter:) I told her that in some parts of the US, it is normal to be addressed as "Honey" or "Hon". Overall, very reasonable tab for a decent quality breakfast with quick service. The cereal choices could have been healthier -- but most restaurants don't have them (my daughter likes some protein in her cereal so I bought her Special K protein plus -- which she had with milk). Also, it would be great if they could offer a fruit plate/fresh berries -- after all, this is Paso Robles!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skywalker411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    20
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK Place to Eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Ate at Vic's for breakfast 5/26/2011. Waitress very friendly and efficient. Food average. Porftions small but enough. I had spinach/mushroom omelette and my wife had a grilled cheese sandwich. Except that we were travelling we could have done the same at home. Quality the same as Denny's, etc. This is not bad. Food was OK, prices a little high for what you got but it is a place I could recommend.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike59844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Traditional old time breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

If you are looking for traditional, down-home, local diner then this is the place. Our server, Sharon was pleasant and brought that touch of hometown hospitality (not to mention she has worked there for 32 years!).
We ordered oatmeal and cream of wheat as it was a chilly morning. Both were made fresh to order. It was our best breakfast by far on our trip up the coast.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pcoaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The real thing, an oldtime cafe with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

A real old time cafe, with booths and a counter. Many breakfast choices, some unusual such as linguica and eggs. Excellent service. Cases hold a large number of pie slices. A wine frig. is one modern touch. It's been there since 1942, and from the looks of the clientel, it must be a local favorite. WAE did not have dinner there, but it looks like old time substantial food on the menu.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shadow010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

Vic's Cafe has the best pancakes in town! We love coming here for breakfast. The service is friendly and the servers keep my coffee cup filled at all times (very important!). The owner comes in very early in the morning to make the biscuits from scratch, they are a must!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank californiapug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vic's Cafe also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Vic's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing