We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, informal and with a great view”
Review of The Bench

The Bench
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Pebble Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Lewistown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly, informal and with a great view”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

In Pebble Beach, there is high-priced golf, high-price shops and the high-priced Lodge, with a lot of high-priced people walking around.. However, on the ocean side of the Lodge is The Bench, a large, sun-lit room with indoor and outdoor eating overlooking the 18th hole of the links. The food is good, the prices are reasonable (I said "reasonable", not "average") and there's a good wine list. The atmosphere is informal and family-friendly. After you eat, you can go out and stroll along the 18th hole, if you like. I think for anyone visiting the Monterey Peninsula and Pebble Beach, this is perhaps the one restaurant that you should not miss for lunch, because of its good food and extraordinary view. Make a reservation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    81
    20
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We enjoyed drinks outside sitting around a gas fireplace watching the golfers finish their 18th hole. My husband said that this was one of the highlights of our trip (San Fran, Napa and Carmel). Previous reviews are right on. What more can you ask for...sitting in a beautiful location, enjoying a lovely drink, and sun setting in front of you. It really does not get any better!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathy081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Should be called The View”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

#1-You're at Pebble Beach #2-You're overlooking the ocean #3-You're at Pebble Beach! What do you think this place would be like?! Food is great. Service is top notch




Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hit its Stride!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We took our niece to celebrate her 30-the and almost nothing disappointed. Seated immediately and greeted warmly. Very attentive and very friendly service. From appetizers through to dessert virtually everything was spot on. The spectacle of the balloon bread is a fun start... Very fairly priced wine list. We had an Excellent Nero d'Avola for $38 that retails at $18-$20, for example. Chef Yousef checked on us as well and made great suggestions. Overlooking the 18th Green at Pebble at sunset with great food and great family is something that adds to the overall 'value' of the experience. Not inexpensive but worth every dime. (Minor flaw... Failing to provide a spoon for a mussels dish and forgetting the dip for the duck fat fries... Both rectified... So they comped a dessert. Nice)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Just delightful”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Sunday afternoon at Pebble Beach. The entire Lodge is elegant, and The Bench, one of the restaurants, just off the 18th green and fairway is perfect for eating outside on the deck, or inside in a sunny atmosphere. The service was perfect and the food was wonderful. I see another review commented on the roasted beets. We had them too and could not agree more. They are wonderful. My wife's salad was great, as was my sandwich. If you are anywhere in Pebble Beach, eating at any of The Lodge's restaurants would be a good choice, but The Bench is my favorite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bench also viewed

Pebble Beach, Monterey County
Pebble Beach, Monterey County
 
Pebble Beach, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to The Bench? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing