We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Challenging Walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ano Nuevo State Reserve

Ano Nuevo State Reserve
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Pescadero
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the largest mainland seal colony in the world.
Krum, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Challenging Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I feel a little sheepish after reading all of the reviews about the easy walk but we found the walk to be somewhat difficult. The hike starts off easy enough on level ground on a solid trail, but you come to a large sand dune and after climbing the sand dune you are walking in loose sand the rest of the walk. The Elephant Seals were awesome, the volunteer Docents were amazing, the walk was difficult for me. The day we were there we had a strong wind out of the north blowing the sand in our face, it was like getting a microderm abrasion. I'm not in the best shape but hiked all over Lassen, Yosemite, Kings Canyon, Redwoods, this hike was the hardest yet because of the sand. The seals are worth seeing and we wouldn't have missed it, but do be prepared. The Coast and other scenery and wildlife were wonderful also.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    48
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We came upon this park on our way to San Francisco and decided to take a break. We were told about the elephant seals that lived there and had there babies in the fall. It was a 4 mile round trip walk but well worth it. The scenery was absoulutely gorgeous. I would recommend taking the time to take the trail to the seals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank njs739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Long Walk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We took the self guided tour and saw alot of elephant seals but be prepared for a serious walk. If you're travelling with children you may want to weigh out the reward for the effort. Wear hiking boots as you will travel a significant distance over gravel and sand dunes to see anything interesting. There are people from the park at different points to explain what you're looking at. It was kind of interesting but I wouldn't recommend it unless you're a wildlife buff or you just love to walk.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam99354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if you are in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a fabulous place to stop along the coast when in Northern California. A very pretty and not very challenging hike out to the water to see the amazing seals. If you are lucky enough to go there when a docent is present, take advantage of your good luck and ask him or her all the questions in the world! Our interaction with the docent was the most memorable part of our trip there. And afterwards, take in a winery tour (I recommend Beauregard Winery) to congratulate yourself on all your hiking!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TallyLassie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot to View Nature!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is the time of year in which the elephant seals come to shed their coats and they sprawl out on the beach and bark and roll around. It is an amazing sight to see. You can view them by following the trails at Ano Nuevo.

The walk to the water is lovely, with butterflies and birds soaring overhead. In the morning the mist hangs over the mountains in the distance. It is quiet and peaceful. The sand dunes are a little difficult to walk through but it is well worth it when you get to view the seals and the ocean, as well as the lighthouse ruins on the island a distance away. If you love nature in its own setting you must come here. But be respectful of its inhabitants.

There is no admission fee, but you do have to pay for parking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ano Nuevo State Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Ano Nuevo State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing