We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Accomodating”
Reviewed 14 January 2008

I stay there four times each year, and I find the Staff more professional each time. Occasioinally I have special requests, and I find that they bend over backwards to help. It's clearly the best hotel in the area, but it just as clearly they strive as if the competition were keen.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Va48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    248
    108
    39
    29
See reviews for
118
279
30
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

My husband and I stay at the Sheraton regularly for a getaway. We last stayed on a Sat. night a couple of weeks ago and everything was wonderful, as usual. The lobby was decorated for the holidays and was very cozy. We had a drink in the bar, ordered room service and all was great. The staff was superb and kind. We'll be back again and again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

The Sheraton Petaluma is a great place to start a wine country tour or just for a little getaway from everyday life. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, dogs are allowed on the 1st floor, room service is good, tons of parking and a great trail that goes thru marshes and wetlands begins next to the hotel.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelsWithFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2007

Our realtor recommended the Petaluma Sheraton to us for a recent overnight househunting trip. Very professional and courteous service from booking to checkout. They have a great location on the marina and many rooms overlook the marina, for an extra charge. Check-in was quick and efficient, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the large screen TV had HBO. The room was very nicely appointed. Two complaints: they do not have a complimentary breakfast as so many hotels do now, and if you want to eat at their pricey restaurant be prepared to pay $6 for a bowl of oatmeal. Full breakfast is in the $12 range. Ouch! Oh, and our room was close to the maid's stock room, so all was nice and quiet until they came to work and then they chattered and shouted loudly to each other. Very inconsiderate to guests. We paid $129 plus tax for one night.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Nugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We stayed here as part of our 7-night honeymoon in Napa, Sonoma, and San Francisco. We had just spent the previous two nights in a small B&B in Napa so when we drived into the parking lot here and saw the size of this hotel it was a bit of a shock!

The hotel is only 4 stories but very long and spread out in various wings, bordering HWY 101 and the local marina. The parking lot is huge, never had any problems finding a spot even though the hotel was fully booked. We were there during the Audi Club of North America's meeting so there were lots of nice cars everywhere! Other reviewers have said the hotel is "isolated". I tend to disagree - sure there are not many things within easy walking distance, if you're visiting this area you surely have a car and there are lots of great restaurants within a 5 minute drive. We were VERY impressed with downtown Petaluma... the city has been revitalized and there was a wide selection of great restaurants - we had some our best meals of the week in Petaluma. Also pleasant walking around the downtown core. We paid extra for the view of the marina... probably wasn't really worth the extra money but it was nice to wake up, open the curtains and see docked boats and people walking around the marshy-area. As others have said, there is a view of a HWY 101 overpass in the distance, but it's not close enough to bother noise-wise.

The hotel itself was very nice. The lobby area is tastefully decorated, flows nicely. Elevators were fairly quick and a good size. The pool area was nice, there were towels there, hot tub was warm, etc. Hallways were super clean. The rooms were very nice and I would say on the upper end for a Sheraton. Personally I find the Sheraton brand to be inconsistent quality-wise, but this one was one of the best. Very clean, good-size bathroom and everything looked brand new. Clean tub with good water pressure/showerhead. The room was a very good size... nice arm chair/ottoman, the Sweet Sleeper Bed at its finest, new-looking drawars, huge desk and comfortable chair, big windows looking out to the marina. Rooms feature small fridges, which was handy! TV was good size but it wasn't flat-panel... maybe the one thing in the room that could use updating. We never heard ANY noise from neighbouring rooms even though the hotel was completely full.

The staff here was friendly but didn't blow me away - I'm a Gold Preferred Guest and I had to remind them to at least try to upgrade me when I checked in (they could not as it was full) and I really had to ask a couple of times before they agreed to grant me access to the club lounge for continental breakfast... which ended at 9:30AM and was extremely ordinary (but breakfast shouldn't keep anyone from selecting a hotel!). We mentioned to check-in staff that it was our honeymoon (again, hoping for an upgrade or something nice from them) and they didn't even say congratulations... again, not the end of the world - but as a Gold VIP on his honeymoon with no available upgrade, I would have appreciated a little something.

I would recommend this hotel. Clean, fresh, quiet, a 20 min drive to the town of Sonoma, about 20 mins to Sebastopol, and about 40-45 mins to San Francisco (easy drive down Highway 101 right next to the hotel). A smart alternative to some overpriced accomodations in this area.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank MTLSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

The hotel is well maintained and the staff is very helpful. We had a small meeting for about 50 people there. Meeting rooms were nice and food was good. The hotel did an opening reception wine tasting which was great and very well received. There aren't any restaurants or anything to walk to from the hotel. It is just kind of in the middle of nowhere. It is an okay jumping off point if you are doing wine country tours in Sonoma. It is pretty close and the rate is affordable.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank muckky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2007

This was probably the worst place we've ever stayed. It wasn't so much the hotel itself, even though it does have a view of the freeway. The managment was rude and refused to take care of service complaints. Service in restaurant, bar and front desk was terrible. Attitude of staff was not interested in our issues (noise problems, slow service, etc...). Paid a good amount of money for a very bad weekend.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roccoandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
136 reviews
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
9.3 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Property: Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Address: 745 Baywood Dr, Petaluma, CA 94954-5388
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing