We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for visiting wine country, staff very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great hotel for visiting wine country, staff very helpful”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

After days of searching for a reasonably priced hotel in wine country, liked the reviews and chose this one. Very pleased I did as even hubby was happy( and he stays allover the world on business). Do need to drive to get to petaluma although desk arranged a taxi for us one evening and service was excellent. Hotel restaurant was pleasant and there is a little italian restaurant within walking distance on main road that was also good. Petaluma is a lovely town to walk round with some great restaurants and bars. Only time I heard the freeway was when sitting by the pool. Would definitely stay again if need to be in this area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surreygirluk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    243
    108
    39
    28
See reviews for
116
277
30
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Even though I booked the hotel because the reviews on Trip Advisor were good, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. What we got was a great hotel with a great location pretty central to everything we wanted to see. For the most part I have a no eating at hotel restaurant approach, but given how tired we were from traveling from Monterey and then hiking at Bodega Bay, we simply were too tired to explore Petaluma for food options and am I glad. We had one of the best meals of our trip right at the hotel. I had pork and my mom had linguine and clams and both were excellent. The chef came out and talked to us and when the waitress heard about my birthday they brought my a candle in my bread pudding (the bread pudding was so good we had it in the bar again the next night). We also got good info at the hotel about how to get to Point Reyes which was a highlight of our trip and after we went to Yountville to go to a nice restaurant. We went to Bouchon and while I enjoyed it, I skipped dessert so we could have the bread pudding at the hotel again (even after looking in the tempting Bouchon Bakery). Also, the folks who made the latte's in the morning did a great job--and I'm pretty picky. All in all this didn't feel like a typical chain hotel experience from the free parking to the reception at the restaurant to the helpful front desk. I loved the Sheraton Petaluma and am really glad we chose it as our home base for visiting the area!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amymichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We have stayed at Sheraton Petaluma several times. If you are going to spend time in the Sonoma valley, Santa Rosa or Healdsburg this is a good hotel, but be prewarned it's not the most convenient location. There is nothing in Petaluma and you will have to drive about 30 minutes to Sonoma or 40 to Healdsburg. The hotel sits on a marina close to the highway. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and will take the time to give advise on things to do, places to go and things to see. As gold members we have always been upgraded to Club level floor which has a nice albeit ordinary lounge with a great variety of breakfast offerings and evening orderves, wine, beer and beverages. We stay at this hotel for the great staff and amenties we receive.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ualsdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My daughter and I have stayed 3 times at the Sheraton Petaluma because we were visiting the Sonoma State campus and she attended freshman orientation. It is easy an easy drive by freeway or side streets to the campus. The hotel is very nice and comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. I like that it is near the 101 freeway and the historic area of Petaluma.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxmgarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lummi Island, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Great location located just north of San Francisco and at the threshold to the wine country. great service from check-in, local wine and champange selection wth great room overlooking the Marina.... Had a great bagel and lox breakfest iin the pool side restaurant in the morning and off to explore Sonoma and Napa in the afternoon. ( Sonoma much preferred over the traffic and density of Napa.) Kinda like a good bottle of wine and Sockeye Salmon over King Salmon) both are great but usually you have a preference.

Have been in Wine County many times.. but not for he past few years and wish I could stayed much longer... You won't be dissapointed in booking a few nights at the Sheraton in Petaluma...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandycliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I was feeling burned out and my night at the Sheraton was just what I needed. The rooms and hallways smelled fresh. The concierge welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and cozy. I took a luxurious bath and sat in the cozy chair and read a book. I woke feeling like my old self again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Wonderful room , great service... Napa is so upper crust.. See the wineries but stay here!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfkinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
1.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
9.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Property: Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Address: 745 Baywood Dr, Petaluma, CA 94954-5388
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing