We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caffe Giostra

Caffe Giostra
Ranked #13 of 263 Restaurants in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really nice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

So, I just happened on to this little place. Staying at a cheapo motel nearby, and did not want chain food. It's in a shopping center, but entering transports you to a neighborhood Italian restaurant. The menu was inviting, the room was cordial, and just noisy enough to make for very comfortable dining. I had a nice Sangiovese by the glass and started with the Giostra salad, basic, but done oh so well. The breads were delicious and some Sicilian olives were a nice touch. The olive oil for the bread was soooo good. I asked but was told the nothing was infused into it, but it sure tasted so. I had the Pasta Pescadoro, or whatever the seafood pasta was called, and it was delicious. What cinched that choice for me was that it was in a red sauce, ie not a white. I cleaned my plate, I ate all the olives; I ate all the bread and had no room for dessert. Perfect. This place is very very good and considering the choices around this area...well, there is no choice. This is it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    34
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“little Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

this restaurant is just like being in Italy! they are totally authentic, and the prices are great, treat yourself to a night out and try ir

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ss1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistantly Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Been going to Caffe Giostra now for several years. While they changed ownership a year or so ago the quality has been maintained if not improved. Food is always hot, fresh and ample portions. Never have had a bad meal. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Centermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An Off-the-Freeway Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Outside seating, heaters, friendly very Italian service (everyone's Bella), huge menu, many specials, awesome ample food. (don't tell, but everyone got a glass of Port after dinner).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

In a town like Petaluma to survive in the Italian restaurant business you have to better than good and this one is exceptional. We go often and have never had a bad meal. Special every night supplement a full Italian menu. A limited but good wine selection. It's amazing what comes out of the tiny kitchen. Seating is limited so reservations are definitely recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alysson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Giostra also viewed

Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Caffe Giostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing