We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old California” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Petaluma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Petaluma
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
East Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Loved the old elevator. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean, looked out on the street (a bit noisy on Saturday night, but not much). Overall very comfortable and perfectly located in this historic city.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPetalumaH, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Petaluma, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review Hotel Petaluma. We appreciate your understanding of the Saturday evening noise and we are working to create a solution around it. The original elevator from 1923 is a treat and a miracle that it works so well, a true testament to the quality of products from that time. We hope to have you stay again as we continue to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    38
    20
    16
See reviews for
34
54
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Made a quick visit on a whim. Petaluma has a unique feel, very lively, young Friday night club action. Hotel is clean, old-fashioned layout, large rooms and quirky. Staff very friendly and helpful. Not fancy, but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schwanewede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPetalumaH, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Petaluma, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Our front desk staff put in a great effort to make the guests stay enjoyable and we are glad they were able to help you during your stay. We hope to have you come stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

If you want a hotel that is right in the middle of downtown Petaluma, this could be the place for you!
Also, if you want a hotel experience that will leave you upset, scared, and wondering how on earth they could use the word "hotel" in their name, this is definitely the place for you!

Here are some truths that describe our experience/nightmare of a stay:
1) There was no phone in the room. This is absolutely unsafe.
2) When I noticed there was no shower soap or gel in the room, the hotel worker _poured us a paper cup full of shampoo_ from a gallon bottle of blue liquid.
3) The room keys are actual metal keys with the _room numbers written on them in sharpie_. (Meaning that anyone can get a copy of the key, and any previous guest could have had access to our room)
4) The room itself was a converted old apartment, with many items in disrepair, and a mini-fridge in the closet that was facing the back wall. ????
5) There were two baseball bats at the hotel desk, and when I asked about them, the lady working there said "We had to take those away from an unruly guest...don't worry about it."
6) The shared bathroom in the hallway, with a sign on it that said "Ladies" that had a piece of blue scotch tape over the sign that said "Men" was dirty and the only toilet in it was clogged.
7) The only thing similarities between the online pictures of the rooms and the actual room condition were the industrial carpet squares and the dimensions of the room. The furniture was different, (shabby) and there were no decorations or art in the room. It looked like a hospice room where people go to die.
8) There is no staff on the property _at all_ for the entire night, and no way to contact them (no phone in room, and no number posted). You're adventures/problems at night are your own to deal with.
9) To make a reservation, you call a Google voice recording, and then if they feel like it, someone calls you back. Wow.

This hotel looks great from outside, but you can quickly tell once inside that it was a hastily converted low-income long-term stay location for locals. There is no front desk or lobby. The elevator is ancient and strange. The place is unsafe, with no security for your items (no safe), your person (solid metal keys and in our room, evidence that the door had been pried open before) and there is no service that one would expect from any kind of motel/hotel in America.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelreviewmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPetalumaH, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Petaluma, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory stay at our hotel. I would like to clarify a few points in regards to your review.
1) We do provide shower products, which are environmentally friendly, natural products, unfortunately, we were in the transition process of receiving the shipment during your stay.
2) As the hotel is a historical building, the keys are metal which not uncommon in small hotels unlike commercial chain hotels.
3) The reason for the mini-fridge being placed in the closet to make the room feel more welcoming and less like a living space. I am sorry you would have preferred the fridge to be a more focal point of the room, but it is purposefully placed in the closet, out of sight.
4) One cannot know expect an average looking guest to act out, and unfortunately, we had to ask a guest to leave. They left their property, baseball bats, behind which we held for them until they were able to pick up their property rather than throwing them away.
5) The common bathrooms are being upgraded with modern amenities. We look forward to this upgrade, as we are sure our guests will enjoy the improvements.
6) Part of our renovation process, besides purchasing new pillow top mattresses for the rooms, is replacing the industrial carpet by refinishing the original hardwood floors, which look beautiful. New photos will be up this week for you to explore.
7) We do not have on-site 24-hour reception but an emergency contact number is and has been posted on both office doors since ownership changed in October 2012.
8) Our phone number is (707) 762-4531.

We look forward to completing our renovations of the hotel and providing clean, comfortable and updated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel has alot of history, has been a hotel a residency ect..
the room was very basic we had a private bath, bring your own shampoo and soap.
no TV, but who cares it's a place to put your head down to sleep.
good location, across the street form downtown Petaluma. nothing fancy, basic inexpensive place to crash.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPetalumaH, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Petaluma, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have recently finished the install of our new HD flat screen TVs, refinished the original hardwood floors in many of the rooms, and provide environmentally friendly, natural bathroom products. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

The Hotel Petaluma is a little piece of history the town of Petaluma. Built in 23' this historic brick building is like that of the era. The HP is currently undergoing a refurb and with that a complete change over (currently the residential tenants have a 30 day notice to vacate). The rooms I stayed in (I had to change rooms midway through my trip) are comfortable and clean. No frills as the price I got on airbnb was a STEAL! (200 for the week for 3 weeks). Currently the internet is only in the public areas and the cable tv is still being worked on. There are big screen tv's in the rooms but can't be used w/o an antenna or cable hookup. I was in the area shooting a film and I needed to be near a place I could shop for the crew, and in this area near Bodega Bay and Dillon Beach the choices are kind of far. So staying here made sense. I discovered a lovely town, rich in history. The place actually looks like it could be in the north of England. Very similar in weather and architecture the people are lovely and the shops quaint. There is a Starbucks a stones throw away as well as a yoga studio (yogaonepetaluma.com ask for Shy), an upscale gourmet market (Petaluma Market), several top class restaurants (try Issan Thai) and a few music venues.
I feel like Jessica and Ricky (the managers) are making honest efforts to make this hotel a great place to visit and stay when in the wine country, Sonoma County. I recommend them highly. Remember, this place is in transition. Keep an open mind and you'll be happy you did. I will add photos soon.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private bathroom. The cost is a bit more but if you care about privacy its a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loldhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
0.6 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Petaluma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
9.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petaluma

Property: Hotel Petaluma
Address: 106 Washington St, Petaluma, CA 94952-2929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Petaluma 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petaluma proudly offers comfortable, private rooms in the renovated Historic Hotel built in 1924. Nowhere else will you find such convenient access to the heart of Downtown Petaluma, San Francisco & Sonoma County wineries. Restaurants, markets, and transit options are literally steps away from this beautiful historic gem. All rooms have private en suite bathrooms, flat-screen televisions, Keurig coffee makers, full-sized ironing boards, irons, hair dryers, clock radios, fans, extra blanket. The Hotel Petaluma is currently being renovated. Our rates are reflective of these conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petaluma Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing