We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but interesting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petaluma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Petaluma B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We chanced upon Cherry Hill as a cheaper alternative to Napa while on our way back to SF from Lake Tahoe, and felt se had cone OK. Michael is a good host, and allowed to us arrive early and drop off our gear before directing us to a local beach and then to a superb Italian restaurant for the evening. The room was quirky, with a high bed and lots of interesting curios, but we slept well. Breakfast the next morning was fresh strawberries and pastries, plus juice amd coffee which was fine for us after the huge food offered at other establishments. We had a good chat with other guests as wll which was nice. The only downside was that the wifi was difficult to find and connect to, and I failed to get a connection even in the dining room. No doubt persisting and getting Michaels aid would have rsolved the problem but we were in a hurry and found a connection at our next stop.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our recent stay at Cherry Hill was average at best compared to our past B&B experiences. The Pro's were that it was charming and quite artistic. It was also convenient to downtown Petaluma. However our room (the Lunchbox Room) did NOT have a lock on the door. And when I inquired about it - The owners just shrugged it off. The bathroom was a bit too rustic for my taste and the towels were never switched out during our stay. Breakfast was okay but would rather have a lock on my door and a decent bathroom experience. Won't go back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SilverLady32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent a lovely 3 nights at Cherry Hill B&B, as guests of the owners, Michael and Kathy. They were both welcoming and we enjoyed our conversations with them. Michael went into town each morning for delicious pastries, which accompanied fresh berries, freshly brewed coffee, and tea for breakfast. We stayed in the Butler Suite, which was clean, comfortable, and had a view of the garden below. Cherry Hill is located in the Historic District - a perfect location and close enough to walk downtown and enjoy restaurants, shops, and theatres. It was our home base as we toured and sampled cheeses from Sonoma to Point Reyes. We were only sorry that we couldn't stay another night, because Michael and Kathy were hosting a concert in their garden the following evening. I believe they do this on a monthly basis. Oh, and did I mention the most beautiful Akita named Ushi? He makes everyone feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasqwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

On our latest trip to Northern California we decided to travel to Petaluma. The town is charming with excellent restaurants, a walkable downtown district and a more laid back feel than San Francisco and the surrounding communities. Cherry Hill B&B is a beautiful old house in a residential neighborhood, walkable to the downtown district (about 2/3 mile). The host, Michael, is knowledgeable about the local area and much more. He is refreshingly opinionated for a B&B host. We stayed in the Lunchbox room - fittingly named for the adorning ring of vintage lunch boxes. The bathroom is recently renovated and fully functional. Breakfasts are perfect for our kind of travel - local pastries, coffee and organic fruit. A great start to the day, unlike some of the 2000 calorie breakfasts frequently offered at B&B's which make one want to go right back to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TardisEnvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spent 5 days at Cherry Hill. It is a small family style B&B with only 3 bedrooms located in a quiet part of town, a fairly easy 10-minute walk to downtown Petaluma. A beautiful historic home, Cherry Hill is furnished in Victorian style and decorated with several paintings by the artist/owner. While some B&B are more like hotels (i.e., daily room cleaning), this feels more like home and no one will come to your room unless you request a change of towels or bedding. The owners Michael and Kathy are very friendly, welcoming hosts who made us feel comfortable right away. They also have a beautiful gentle and mellow Akita dog. We did not hear him bark once during our 5-day stay. There is a good selection of area maps and guidebooks available for guests. For breakfast, they serve fresh local pastries, fresh organic fruits and juice as well as tea and coffee. We stayed in the Parlor room, which has a pleasant seating area by the bay window. The queen size bed was very comfortable. Adjacent to our room, we had our private but tiny bathroom with a small corner sink, a shower and a toilet. Only one person at a time in there! This bedroom has a separate entrance from the outside, which we found quite convenient. A good stay in the wine region.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sild-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a nice stay in this quiet neighborhood B&B. We stayed in the Parlor Suite and the Butler's Suite. The Parlor Suite was more open and had a nice sitting area, but we just as comfortable in the Butler's Suite, which had a larger bathroom. Both rooms were very clean which is important to me. We didn't spend a lot of time at the B&B since were visiting family, but it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LHJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

So, let me start by just talking about Petaluma - What a quaint and sweet little town! We went 4th of July weekend and had so much fun at the Marlin County Fairgrounds watching the fireworks. We also visited Lagunitas Brewery which was a lot of fun (live music, great beer, mediocre bar food).

We didn't spend too much time in Petaluma because our real purpose in visiting Sonoma was for the wine! As wine lovers, we enjoyed traveling along the gigantic nearby trail, and if you're traveling on a budget, Sonoma is definitely a better bet than Napa because the wineries are cheaper and you can find reasonably priced wine tastings ($5 - $10, or free with a bottle purchase).

Now on to the Bed and Breakfast. What a sweet place overall - Michael was friendly (a little chatty when we were trying to get out the door and kind of negative about the wineries, which I didn't like, since this was the whole purpose of our trip), but he was knowledgeable about the area and the local fare. He served great pastries in the morning with fresh coffee...I did miss having a full breakfast, especially because we were going to drink wine all day and left hungry most mornings.

We stayed in the lunchbox room which was nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. The shower head didn't really work, though and there are no locks on the room doors, which ended up being fine. Their dog also stayed in the room with us, which made it hard to shut the door since he kept coming in and out. I love dogs, but that got to be a little annoying.

All-in-all, the rooms were well-priced and it did the trick, but I would prefer to stay in a place with more privacy, more scenery (off of a lake instead of in a neighborhood) and a larger breakfast next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Emountain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petaluma hotels
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 9 in Petaluma
773 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
1.4 mi away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#3 of 9 in Petaluma
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 520 Galland St, Petaluma, CA 94952-2715
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Petaluma
Price Range: £112 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn, a boutique, 4 bedroom Inn, is the only Bed and Breakfast Inn located in Petaluma, CA, 40 miles north of San Francisco, in the heart of Sonoma County Wine Country, and a short drive to Napa Valley Wine Country. This 1897 Victorian is decorated with period antiques and the pleine-aire oil paintings of internationally renown artist, Kathy Mason Lerner. All 4 suites have private bathrooms, HDTV, Wi Fi and in room refrigerator, located on top of Cherry Hill, a short 5 minute walk to the center of Old Town Petaluma. Our newest and most romantic suite, the TreeTop Suite, has a private entrance, and its own large private deck with a spectacular view of Sonoma Mountain and the Sonoma Ridge. The large bedroom has a king bed, 50" HDTV & WiFi, adjoining a sitting room with a refrigerator, and a bathroom with a large sunken spa/tub. The Parlour Suite and Lunchbox Room each have their own private entrance and King bed, while the Butler Suite has a queen bed, small sitting room and large clawfoot tub/shower. We offer a Continental breakfast of Organic coffee or tea, fresh tangerine juice, fresh baked French pastries, and Organic fruit or berries. All of our body and bath products are locally made Organic EO hair and body products, and all of our cleaning and laundry products are only Mrs. Meyers with no chemicals or harsh fragrances. Cherry Hill Bed and Breakfast Inn maintains a very private, personably comfortable atmosphere just like your own home, with the highest quality in everything we provide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Bed And Breakfast Inn Petaluma, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing