We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Petaluma Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I agree with the other comments. The rooms are large and clean. Pretty dated as far as decor but I didn't expect a Best Western to "wow" me anyway. It was close to family members we were visiting. It served the purpose for our visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler2835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    260
    97
    26
    14
See reviews for
195
178
45
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed 6 nights as a base for the wine country and San Francisco and really enjoyed it. Very good continental breakfast and very clean rooms with plenty of accessories. Rooms a good size. Pool area very nice. Staff friendly and helpful. Close to amenities e.g. a couple of supermarkets and a few restaurants and charming downtown is about a 5 minute drive. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I have stayed at this property three times in the last 18 months. In the off-season the I paid $60 for a room with two queen beds. On season I paid $100 for the same room. These prices are very reasonable for the area. The property is in very good condition. It has all the usual amenities that this price class has. The rooms are very spacious and clean, and the beds are very comfortable. Even though the property is right on the corner of two busy streets and has freeway frontage, it's surprisingly quiet. I brought earplugs but I did not use them, and I'm a very light sleeper. It's only a 5 minute bike ride to downtown Petaluma which is super convenient. It's a 15 minute drive to downtown Santa Rosa when there's no traffic, so it;s an excellent location.
Some people have been especially tough on this property because of the quality of the breakfast. I personally don't even bother with the breakfast at this price class, and I don't think that's an issue. There's a Peet's and a grocery store directly across the street which is very convenient if you travel with kids.
Overall, the location, price, and quality of the property make it the perfect home-base for a trip to the Petaluma area. I highly recommend you stay here, but book early because the place fills up quick.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room that faces the pool because it's the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Very clean and very large room. Only complaint is that the TV stations were full of snow or static. Otherwise, nice cont. breakfast, clean and VERY large room. I would be nice if HVAC unit would contiguously run to mask outside noise. Close to downtown Petaluma, CA. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JN889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

On our trip down the California coast we stayed in 6 hotels in 7 days. I had to think back about this one because nothing stood out other then we paid the most for this average room. It was OK - clean and comfortable bed but not much else. The ladies at the front desk were nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SukiJamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is a Great Hotel for the Price & Location.
We stayed 12 days & due to the location were easily able to make Wine Country rides, Bodego Bay seashore, trip to the Avenue of the Giants & San Francisco without the hassle of constantly changing hotels - means having only to unpack once.
Very friendly Staff - average rooms but clean with abundant parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J French R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotts Valley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here overnight while on a road trip through Marin County. We found the accommodation to be quite acceptable for our needs. Our room was clean and adequately furnished. The bathroom was nicely remodeled. I think that it's nice to be able to drive up to your front door as was the case. Makes for an easy in and out.
Motel is well located just off the freeway. The breakfast was a surprise for a standard Best Western and on par with that we have received at other Best Western Plus locations. Waffles, fruit, donuts, yogurt, cereal, juice, hard boiled eggs...and the coffee was good! And, the wifi signal was strong, which we find is not always the case. We would consider staying at this property again. The only negative in our experience was the thinness of the walls. Some noise, not too bothersome, leaked through from rooms to the side of us and from the upper floor.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
1.2 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
744 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
9.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Petaluma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Petaluma Inn

Property: Best Western Petaluma Inn
Address: 200 S McDowell Blvd, Petaluma, CA 94954-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Petaluma Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Petaluma Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Petaluma Best Western
Best Western Petaluma Inn Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing