We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We traveled from Vancouver BC to Monterey Bay and stayed at several highway motels/inns along the way. The Quality Inn was probably our best overnight stop on the way down. While the rooms were pretty standard, there is absolutely nothing negative I could say about them. The staff were really friendly and the entire place was quite attractive. The breakfast was the best though, in the nice sunny eating area adjacent to the pool. If you're looking for a place to spend the night, outside of San Francisco, with very reasonable rates, I recommend the Quality Inn in Petaluma.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visuddhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    134
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
95
119
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel in room 720. Beds are not very comfy. Room small very dated. Lots of noise from other rooms and freeway. Interior hallways smelled of smoke and musty. Breakfast was good staff great. Would suggest another hotel but could do in a pinch.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Owner at Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dale R, thank you for your comments about your stay one week ago. I was wondering if you had thought about asking to be moved to another room in a different building? The building you were in, we have seven separate buildings on the property for those that don't know, sits right at the freeway on ramp and does get more noise. We actually get this kind of request all the time, and we are happy to move a guest, a number of times if need be.

Our hotel was built in 1984, so the design of the vanity/closet area of the guestroom is smaller than what you would expect now a days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel because it is close to the Lagunitas Brewery. The rooms are tired, hotel looks old - average hotel. I had booked a King Suite but my room was changed to 2 Queens without notifying me. The manager changed the price of the room but I would have appreciated an email or call to let me know, or to have someone let me know when I checked in instead of finding out when I opened the door to the room. The breakfast is ok - cereal, bread, eggs, bacon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank leighmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Owner at Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you leighmur for your comments. If a guest is not happy with their room or how they've been treated by staff then we've fallen down on our job. Our GM thought the solution you both agreed to was satisfactory to you. If it wasn't - and it doesn't sound like it was - you have all the right in the world to ask for a different solution. All our staff understands customer service, we want to go that extra mile to make your stay a happy and enjoyable experience. If there's a chance for a do over, we would be thrilled to show you we do care about our guests' experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
362 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Suite in building 1 - with jetted tub. Very quiet location. Staff was very helpful. Was recognized at check-in as member of Choice Hotels. Was given water and candy bars. Breakfast was a bit above the norm for a quality motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My boyfriend and I were in Petaluma on the Fourth of July weekend (this review is a little late coming). Up until then nothing had gone right on our trip and, continuing with the theme, every hotel in Petaluma appeared to be booked. When we stopped at the Quality Inn, Kristen was at the front desk, and although the hotel itself was booked, she spent half an hour calling every hotel in the area to see if there was a room for us. She was above and beyond helpful and was one of the highlights of our entire trip. I've never met a staff member who was so caring and understanding, especially to a couple that wasn't even staying there. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantel92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

From the get go, I knew this was a mistake.....manager and employee were having a loud discussion and ignored us for a minute while they finished.....even then were not friendly...felt like we were imposing......dog friendly, but obviously they don't clean it up, went to sit in the hot tub, and all you can smell is dog feces beside the building. Sheets were wrinkled before we used them.....hmmmmm???????? Traffic to South East at 5 in the morning was sooooooo loud, we just got up. Had we know this, we would have continued on. 4 Toy pillows per bed????? The auto lights blind you if you have to go to the washroom in the middle of the night, and wake everyone else up. The highlight of this stay, was happening on "Cattlemans" an amazing restaurant.

Room Tip: Just DON'T Definately find one away from the dog waste area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank itsallgood-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Owner at Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
YUM2013 thanks for your comments. One of the things I do is to talk to the people who you had contact with at check-out to see if you mentioned any of your observations to us at that time. Eureka! Our General Manager, Richard, is the one who closed your bill and asked you how your stay was. He remembered you because you traveled from Canada. You were very pleasant that morning.

Let me say that being a pet friendly hotel doesn't mean we allow pet owners to have their way with our hotel and allow their pets to do their business just any where. That's why we have two dog stations with poop bags available to use for free. The foul odor you smelled wasn't from any pet at our hotel but, as I've explained before in another response to a review, from the out lying area where Petaluma has it's dairy farms.

The size of the pillows, thanks to guest feedback, are horrible and over the months in 2014 we will be phasing in a substantially better pillow.

We can't please everyone but if you let us know what is troubling you while you are here, we will always try to make it better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
3.6 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#4 of 10 in Rohnert Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma

Property: Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
Address: 5100 Montero Way, Petaluma, CA 94954-6535
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern edge of Petaluma, one of the oldest cites in California founded in 1858, stands the distinctive Cape Cod style complex of buildings that is the Quality Inn Petaluma. Rated three diamonds by AAA, the 108 room hotel serves as the travelers comfortable and convenient hub to historic downtown, pacific coast beaches, wetland hiking trails, golf courses, wineries and family farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Petaluma
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma Sonoma County, CA
Petaluma Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing