We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoiled beauty and great wine”
Review of Anderson Valley

Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Philo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A concentration of high-quality wineries north of San Francisco.
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Unspoiled beauty and great wine”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

There are a string of delightful small wineries along Rte 128, and an excellent microbrewery. Our favorites for wine (in no particular order) - Navarro, Baxter, Philo Ridge, Roederer, Breggo, Elke and Knez. You must eat real Mexican food at Libby's in Philo. The valley lacks good hotels/motels/B&B's - maybe the Madrones will change that. The real choices are to stay inland in Ukiah or on the cost in Mendocino.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuySeabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This area, Anderson Valley is a beautiful drive with lots of excellent vineyards and tasting rooms. If you are in or near this area, it is worth a visual visit!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wine, Apples, and Trees”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Driving to the coast through the Anderson Valley is a constant enticement to stop and get distracted--by the myriad wineries with their great Pinot Noirs and aromatic white wines. For beer drinkers, there is a brewery and tasting room in Boonville. In season, the apple orchards have gravenstein and other apple varieties. Plus, a stop off in Hendy Woods State Park will bring you face to face with old growth redwood trees, or you can enjoy driving through the second growth redwoods of Navarro State Reserve.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jzippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Almost Heaven”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I hate to share this because I don’t want this place to be “discovered”. The Anderson Valley is beautiful – winding roads through the hills, redwood trees and wineries – what more could you want? Not overly developed and commercial like Napa and Sonoma. Not once in the week that we spent there did I feel like I was in a tourist trap. The people are friendly and you can taste excellent wines without having to elbow your way through crowds. Our favorite memory of the week was a Boontberry Picnic at Scharffenberger Cellars. We didn’t expect much for $25, but were pleasantly surprised. Salami, 4 cheeses, olives, fruit, crackers, almonds and a loaf of bread. It doesn’t get better than this! We spent an hour or so in the garden with the picnic and a bottle of Blanc de Blanc. A great, relaxing way to spend a vacation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank msqare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“My Favorite Wine Region”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I am conflicted in writing this review because while I love this region but hope that it never gets any more crowded than it already has become.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_Designs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anderson Valley also viewed

Philo, Mendocino County
Philo, Mendocino County
 
Boonville, Mendocino County
Boonville, Mendocino County
 

Been to Anderson Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing