We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic retreat surrounded by Anderson Valley Vineyards”
Review of The Madrones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Madrones
Ranked #1 of 4 Philo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat surrounded by Anderson Valley Vineyards”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The Madrones is perfectly situated between Boonville and Philo for that wine tasting overnight or just a peaceful escape from the hub bub and fast paced daily life. Owned and operated by accomplished interior design pro, Jim Roberts, The Madrones 4 guest suites are all tastefully decorated and uniquely appointed. Think interior design magazines! Each suite has an ensuite bathroom and all the necessary appliances and amenities including free wireless Internet. Making the experience perfect are the retail spaces below including 3 tasting rooms: Drew (outstanding Pinot Noir), Bink and coming soon Knez. Jim operates a gift shop, Sun & Cricketts with an amazing collection of uniquely eclectic wares. Of course the retail closes at 5pm assuring restfulq quiet sleep. Jim is wonderfully gracious and will do anything to make your stay perfect. The capper, the surrounding fields and hills have some of the best Pinot and Alsatian wines in the U.S. Make your reservations early for any event weekend.

Room Tip: They are all great. One two bedroom only. For couples ask for one of 2 rooms that have window overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
80
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed at the Madrones for three days over Thanksgiving while visiting family in the area and found it to be a wonderful choice. We had the two bedroom suite even though we only need one bedroom but enjoyed the luxurious spacious living and dining area and the first class well equipped and supplied kitchenette. No daily housekeeping service is offered but the unit was so well supplied that was not a problem.

The hospitality and helpfulness of the host Jim Roberts was outstanding. He even telephoned us prior to our arrival to confirm that our expectations would be met.

All of their four units are on a second level with stairs that might challenge a disabled person but were not a problem to us, and we are in our eighties.

The furnishings, views, and general amenities were superb, the best in Anderson Valley in our experience. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Where to start...maybe the host himself, Jim.One of the most accommodating and gracious hosts we've encountered ever, and one can see where it comes from when you meet his mother, RoseMary. The room was gorgeous and huge - we had the large suite #4 with exquisite furnishings and a beautiful view over the adjoining vineyards. It doesn't get more fun than driving in, stopping downstairs to meet the delightful wine associates at the adjoining tasting rooms and then walk up to prepare a light meal (all accoutrements provided in-room) to enjoy on the enclosed terrace listening to the fountain and dreaming of Italy...without flying! Top-flight breakfast items are stocked for a private leisurely breakfast. This is not a fussy B&B/Hotel with staff, it is a private estate type atmosphere, perfect for the independent traveller. Ideally situated to take advantage of fantastic wine-tasting, organic apple farm visiting, hiking in the redwoods, visiting Mendocino, a short drive away. This is a jewel, book early, the word will continue to spread.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed, the beds excellent. There is a 2-bd w/efficiency kitchen f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was a beautiful and special place. The owner Jim is a great guy, very friendly, and easy going. It feels as though you're a guest, as opposed to just another customer at a hotel. The room was impeccably decorated and very clean. The bed and sheets were sublime in regards to comfort and softness. We also loved the little touches, such as the granola, fresh coffee, milk, yogurt, croissants, and juice that made it really easy to sleep in and relax in the mornings. We also must mention that the units are new and they feel like high end condos. Finally, the garden onsite was beautiful and would be a great place to enjoy the sun when it gets warmer.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I'm the kind of person who loves to keep a good thing a secret but after we were treated so well, I wanted to share accolades for The Madrones and owner Jim Roberts. I'm a "research junkie" when it comes to travel and in fact my wife often makes fun of me for my lack of spontaneity. I stumbled across The Madrones while looking for wine tasting rooms to visit in Anderson Valley and found Jim's facility. It not only offered multiple wine tasting rooms, but a great boutique and guest quarters, which was a great fit for my wife and I traveling from Wisconsin celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary. What impressed me while researching was to find that concerns that were expressed online by previous guests were addressed personally by the owner. I felt that this was a place where the owner takes pride in the experience of his guests. We were not disappointed.

The grounds are beautiful, rooms are thoughtfully designed and setting is very intimate and relaxing. Jim is available to offer great advice for wine destinations, dining and places of interest in the area. My wife and I had planned to stay 2 nights at The Madrones and then finish our trip in Sonoma. We were having such a wonderful time, we skipped Sonoma and stayed at The Madrones. If you're looking for full service hospitality, this probably is not the place for you. If you're looking to uncork and breathe, you have discovered as I did, the right place. I think the best accolade I can give is that we can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDrewber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here. This is not a hotel or B&B but rather a "guest house". The decor was beautiful, however, there are no services, including a place to empty the garbage, the "kitchen" is a fridge and a coffee pot, no way to get extra towels, the thermostat is in the hallway and is shared between the two rooms, no book in the room with any information on where to get anything, we had to find it outside in the hallway, you must park your car on the highway and walk around the gate. If we had only stayed one night, I would have rated this higher, but after two nights the lack of hospitality service was noticeable. Note: we rent houses on a regular basis so I assumed it would be like that with extra towels, a place to dump the garbage, etc. We were gone all day sightseeing/winetasting and had no way other than to call the owner late at night, whom we only saw for 30 seconds the first day, that we needed more towels? Wish I could be more positive because we had such high hopes.

Room Tip: If you only need one night, it would be fine, but make sure to get the key that opens the french doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmersheart, Owner at The Madrones, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Hello and thank you for taking time to post your review of The Madrones, we take the feedback very seriously. I think it is so important that when traveling to a place that the destination meets your expectations. Some people arrive her and after seeing the facility, expect high touch service, but you are absolutely right we do not offer that on the property. We are only four guest rooms and I state that as clear as I can on the website. We always tell guests that we are here if you need anything, including extra towels, in addition to the two sets we provide each guest. The guest book indicates where you can place the rubbish, but we are also happy to do that. There is only a full kitchen in the two bedroom suite, as stated on the website. The others have just a fridge, coffee pot and few things to get you started in the morning. I truly wish that you had communicated some of this to me during your visit, I am so eager to provide a comfortable environment for those that are staying. I will continue to improve the communication upon check in. Sometimes on late arrivals, I do keep it very brief and refer back to the book since I sense they maybe tired from the drive in. I'm working on a small orientation card for arrivals this winter. Hopefully that will help. Thanks, Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Honestly have to say this was one of my most wonderful "Inn" experiences. I had visited Mendocino County a number of times in the past, but usually on day trips. When investigating this trip, a friend recommended The Madrones as the perfect place to unplug. My friend was right.

I'll start with the property itself. Gorgeous building, easy to find. Wonderful tasting rooms nestled on the ground level (love that they're right on the property!) and a great little shop. Then got to my room, which was even more spectacular. The view was stunning... vineyards in the foreground, tree covered mountains in the background. The furnishings were splendid. The bed was as comfortable as any I've ever slept in (the sheets were AMAZING). There was a sitting area, with TV and Cable (never turned them on), coffee counter with great coffee, a true coffee maker, granola, jams. Yogurt, water, juice, milk, cream in the fridge. I liked this room so much, that the first morning, I actually didn't leave it until after 11 a.m!

Jim, the owner, couldn't have been more kind or accommodating. Definitely makes you feel welcome and special. I'm really not much of a B&B person, especially when I'm on a mission to unplug. Jim was un-intrusive, and yet available for recommendations, etc. He is clearly well connected in the community and has a wealth of knowledge of things to do, especially as I was visiting in the "off" season.

Thank you for a great stay...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC-NYC-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmersheart, Owner at The Madrones, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you so much for your review and kind words about your stay on the property and visit to the valley. As you mentioned, your visit was during the off season when we have some weather up here, so I'm glad the guest quarters was a comfortable place for you to relax and get a slow start to the day as you choose to. Hope to see you again on a future visit!

My best,
JIM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philo
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indian Creek Inn
Indian Creek Inn
#2 of 4 in Philo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
19.5 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
22.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madrones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madrones

Property: The Madrones
Address: 9000 Hwy 128, Philo, CA 95466
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Philo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Philo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As seen in Sunset, Food & Wine and Departures Magazines, The Madrones is an Agriturismo style destination which offers just four luxurious guest quarters for travelers who seek something unique and intimate in rural setting. This is not a hotel or B&B, so the service is very low touch...no daily maid service is provided. Perfect for travelers looking for a place to get away without someone hovering over you. If you are looking for accommodations rich in amenities, such as spas, restaurants, room service & breakfast, this is probably not a good fit. Surrounded by vineyards and wineries in the heart of the Anderson Valley, this Mediterranean styled compound which was originally a home and private business has garnered prestigious national awards and recognition. The property has four separate tasting rooms offering local small lot wines, as well as a curiosity store, cheese counter and private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Madrones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madrones Philo, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing