We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coq Au Vin - CLOSED

Coq Au Vin
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
USA
Level Contributor
290 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Spectacular ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Spectacular food in a wonderful setting. Add the gracious service and it makes for a perfect dining experience. Locals night menu was very satisfying, and we look forward to returning for the full menu.

Helpful?
2 Thank KAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shingle Springs, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing french food on a country setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We diverted from taking the shorter way to Fort Bragg so we could try this restaurant, based on all the great reviews we read on tripadvisor and yelp. It was well worth it!
From the moment of making the reservation Marie was very accommodating. I knew we're in for a great dining experience after listening to her sweet friendly voice. We made reservations for 6:00 pm. We arrived a few minutes early and we're met by Marie who again was very friendly and welcoming. She's amazing! She takes care of every customer by herself. I don't know how she does it.
She brought a basket of freshly baked bread that somehow disappear very quickly :-)
We ordered the French onion soup and the Escargot and they're delicious.
Next we had the Filet Mignon with peppercorn sauce, which was very tender and tasty and the Beef Bourguignon which was incredible as well.
We were not going to order dessert, but when Marie mentioned the Bread Pudding with Peach sauce we could not resist and order a portion to share with coffee. What a great way to finish a meal! We normally don't eat dessert, but I'm glad we did this time :-)
As we find with all great French restaurants, the prices are a bit steep, but well worth it. As they say, you get what you pay for and we're extremely happy with what we've got. We'll definitely be back on our next trip to Mendocino.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sail4peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for Special Occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife brought me here for my Birthday. From the moment we sat down we knew it was going to be memorable. The wait staff, owners, food, and location were as wonderful as they were generous. We will certainly be returning both with friends, and for another "couples getaway".

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rsb_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This Place could give lessons to a Michelin-Starred Restraurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I have eaten in some of the best 3-star Michlelin restaurants in France, so we know something about what to look for in a great restaurant: Great food, impeccable service and unparalleled attention to detail. This little restaurant just outside Philo has it all!!! And, they truly epitomize the best of a family-run place. On the night we arrive, we're glad we have reservations because there's a note on the door that says, "All tables are spoken for tonight, please join us another time." Once we enter, we are greeted by Marie, the matron of the family, who (we learn later) will make it a point of visiting every table regularly to make sure everyone is happy -- at every possible moment! Once seated, she's on us immediately, asking what we'd like to drink. Not surprisingly, we hesitate and, in that pause, she's telling us about a local wine that she says is a perfect way to start our evening. Within seconds, she has a bottle out and a glass where she immediately makes a generous pour. We all taste it and agree to get a bottle. Then, she does something totally unexpected!!! Instead of pouring our wine from the fresh bottle she just opened, she opens another new bottle and brings us four glasses (for our party of four). The first glass she poured stays on the table as a gift!! Even the French (which Marie's family is from Normandy) aren't that generous! Now, put in a very happy mood, we all order appetizers to taste and share. The french onion soup is to die for! And, the clams, unbelievable! For our entree, we decide to split (a good choice). The signature dish, Coq au Vin is outstanding and the lamb shank is falling off the bone tender. Again, we're given several wines to choose from for dinner with the offer to sample any before we buy. Out of courtesy (and self-protection) we opt out of tasting and just go with Marie's suggestion. When it comes time for desert, Marie doesn't even give us a chance to decide, she just brings out a sampling of her three best deserts, AND a late harvest riesling to compliment the selection. By this time, her son -- Chris -- the chef for the night has the time to come out and greet us. He looks familiar because he also works at one of the local wineries on the weekend pouring tastes. Between his mom and Chris, we had one of the finest experiences we've ever had in a restaurant!! Everything they did was to make sure we had THE BEST time of our lives. The emphasis was never on what they could sell us, it was always on how they could make our experience more memorable (for the skeptics, we were amazed at what they did not charge us for and surprised at how reasonable their prices were!!) For example, their bread was exceptional! So much so that we offered to buy a loaf to take home. Marie's answer was, "Let me see what we have left at the end of the evening." When we left, she presented us with a -- fresh from the oven loaf -- all neatly wrapped (no charge!)

I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant! In 40 years of eating in some of the best restaurants all over the world, THIS one was clearly my best experience!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unusual location but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Dinner here was very good and service excellent. I'd rate it excellent were it not for it seeming rather heavy, lots of sauce and dressing. Salmon a bit dry which is not common since salmon fishing is not far away. Be prepared to come away too full. We realize French cooking can be heavy and it was the case here. None the less this is a very unusual location with nearly no population in the area. Not far from excellent restaurants so they had to compete. If you are driving on the 128 between the Napa Valley and Mendocino you cant beat this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coq Au Vin also viewed

Philo, Mendocino County
Philo, Mendocino County
 
Philo, Mendocino County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing