We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Philo Apple Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Philo Apple Farm
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

An excellent pit stop between Mendocino and San Francisco is The Philo Apple Farm. The working farm and cooking school has an honor-system stand where you can pick up delectable jams, ciders, and chutneys.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was looking for a getaway that included wine tasting in Anderson Valley over Labor Day weekend. There aren't a whole lot of rooms between Boonville, Philo, and Navarro especially with a large destination wedding in the area.

Karen at the Philo Apple Farm confirmed availability in the Room with a View for one night (it was booked the rest of the weekend) for three of us that included our adult daughter. The room was very comfortable with all the critical amenities. Breakfast was delicious coffee and fresh made scones with their house-made jams in the kitchen where they host cooking classes. In the morning, we bought farm grown apples and pears along with their chutneys and jams to capture the memory of our delightful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGastwirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mendocino
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you would like to truly relax in a sophisticated yet rustic and comfortable environment The Apple Farm is for you. Three gorgeous cottages set amongst a working orchard you feel a part of something special. The staff including the animals are friendly and efficient. The breakfast served in the farmhouse kitchen was simple and excellent, homemade jams with toast, yogurt and granola and pressed coffee. For me it doesn't get any better than this.

Room Tip: There is not a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culinaryescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is very homely with very friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable, with beautiful flowers and grounds. The restaurant was excellent with a fantastic breakfast. We were made very welcome and wished we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: They are arranged motel fashion but don't let this put you off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandNicholsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here last year (see earlier review) and could not wait to return. We ended up coming on a cooking weekend that was not quite full so Karen let us partially participate as we had some other plans. It was wonderful - they either raised or knew where all the food was sourced......everything was outstanding, my preference is simple food prepared well...every meal fit the setting perfectly and they were more than generous with the wine....luckily it is short walk from the table to your very comfy bed...so one could indulge. It is the perfect setting for a weekend gathering, weddings, special birthdays etc. one of the other guests had originally come to wedding and then has returned several times, often to cooking weekends.

Gentle reminder...this is a working farm and the experience is not for those who want room service and a chocolate on their pillow. But if you want a slice of real California in the beautiful Andersen Valley, this is the place for you. It speaks to a place in my soul.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CACuriousVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I attended a wedding that the farm put together for my neice. They were fantastic!
I spent two nights in the "Green Door" cottage. It was so cute and adorable. Fresh flowers were in my room when I arrived, along with my key. I did check out the other cottages and they were all decorated nicely and had different layouts and bath configurations.

I would call this super luxe camping. Since this is a working farm they are busy working and you may not see much of the owners. If you do encounter them, they pretty much leave you be to enjoy yourself. Strick up a conversation with them and will talk with you.

In the mornings they will leave a light breakfast for you in the kitchen. Ours had fresh rasberries and peaches, yogurt, fresh jam, rolls and lots of coffee and apple juice.

Feel free to walk around the property and explore, They have farm animals and dogs. The cutting garden is cute and the patio area near the kitchen is a nice area to sit and enjoy what ever food you brought with you to eat during your stay.

Do not expect TV's or internet or a phone in your room. Bring some games or read a good book and relax. The area outside your cottage is lit. Venture off the property at night and the roads are dark and curvy.

Room Tip: The Red Cottage has a bath tub and an outdoor shower. I personally am glad I had the Green cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ziggy1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed for two nights, for a family wedding. They did a wonderful job with the wedding!
We stayed in the "Green Door" cottage, which is also the handicapped room, it has a ramp leaving up to the door.
Its very nicely appointed, the cottage is adorable, and the furnishings have more thought put into them than some hotels I've stayed at. Like other's have said there is not TV or Internet.

This is a working farm, so they aren't really there to attend to your every need, but if you do need anything, all you have to do is ask, once you get them talking they are all really lovely people. Be prepared to bring any food and drinks with you, it's a bit like luxury camping, except they serve a light breakfast in the mornings, coffee, apple juice, bread,farm fresh fruit, yogurt, preserves.

If you make reservations, you don't have to check in or anything you can just drive straight up to your cottage, it will be open and ready for you.
There are lots of animals on the property, cows, goats, chickens, sheep, friendly dogs which patrol and protect the property in the evenings and at night so you might hear them barking if something's rustling around at night that's not supposed to be there.

Also it get's pretty cold at night, so an extra blanket never hurts, be prepared to dress warm.
There's a few tiny spaced out towns and wineries, and a redwood park near by, but not much else.

The apples are amazing, as is the black berry jam and apple juice!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelawhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philo
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
501 reviews
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
2.9 mi away
The Madrones
The Madrones
#1 of 4 in Philo
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Indian Creek Inn
Indian Creek Inn
#2 of 4 in Philo
22 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
20.8 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philo Apple Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philo Apple Farm

Property: Philo Apple Farm
Address: 18501 Greenwood Rd, Philo, CA 95466-9416
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Philo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Philo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Philo Apple Farm Hotel Philo
Philo Apple Farm California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing