We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Anderson Valley Lodging Experience”

Anderson Valley Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anderson Valley Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Philo B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Anderson Valley Lodging Experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Did a two night stay here and loved it! Very affordable, especially when compared to other options in the area. The owner was very kind and let us check in well after the cutoff check-in time. He made coffee in the morning for us, and even lent us his iron & ironing board before the wedding we were attending. It was a very simple room, but, very comfortable. No need for a lot of in-room amenities when you're in the beautiful Anderson Valley! Shampoo was provided in our room, as well as a very warm blanket & comforter.

Room Tip: Keep in mind, it's in a very small town and isolated area. Bring what you need, there may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Anderson Valley Inn for one night after a long road trip from Crescent City. The room was small and dark and very lack of facilities. No TV, no coffee or tea making facilities, no shampoo, no hair dryer and the wifi has a mind of its own...very intermittent!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here and it was a perfect in between location for wine tasting and even a quick trip to the coast. The area is very scenic and the locals are very nice. I was checking in late and they had no problems accommodating that. It is a small establishment so don't expect too many amenities but the charm of it and the value can't be beat. A bit close to the road noise but that's the same with Boonville Hotel down the way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingerita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at the Anderson Valley Inn for one night while visiting wineries in the area. The location for visiting the wineries around Philo is excellent. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The room was small and simple, but impeccably clean. It was 97 degrees the day we arrived and the rooms do not have air conditioning. However, it cooled down very quickly when the sun went down and the fans worked very well. The one criticism I had was that the outside area needed some tending. There is only one restaurant in Philo- a Mexican restaurant with decent food within walking distance of the Inn. Their spicy shrimp was probably the spiciest Mexican dish I've every had and I love Mexican food. There are other restaurants down the road in Boonville, just down the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Vermilion, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We found the Anderson Valley Inn on TripAdvisor while looking for a place to stay for a two day trip to Anderson Valley. We were intrigued by the description of "no tv or phone", "intermittent Wi-Fi", and the thought of sitting around the fire pit sharing a good bottle of Anderson Valley wine. And that is what we got. The room was comfortable and clean. There was a good supply of books. The fire pit was great and the wine was wonderful! AVI is conveniently located in Philo in close proximity to great wineries and restaurants. A gem in Anderson Valley.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent two nights at the Inn and enjoyed the quiet and attention to detail. We had a unit with a kitchen, which was great for coffee and cheese and crackers. There was big fridge, but no stove. The owner was great--friendly and informative. They use compact fluorescence bulbs and seem concerned about the planet, which we liked. The nearby vineyards were great to visit--particularly Roederer. Afterwards, sitting around the firepit at the Inn was great--wood provided. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

There seem to be a lot of reviews here lamenting the fact that AVI has no TVs, but for me that's the draw. No phone, no TV, perfect. Lovely rustic rooms, comfy beds and great places to sit outside, read a book and enjoy the sunshine. Spotty cell service is another plus! Spending time in Anderson Valley is about exploring wineries, checking out the brewery, eating the great local food and enjoying California in a way few other places can offer. Truly getting away from it all. AVI, please keep doing what you're doing, and if you ever want to sell and retire, let me know!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrfisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philo
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
499 reviews
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
0.6 mi away
Indian Creek Inn
Indian Creek Inn
#2 of 4 in Philo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Madrones
The Madrones
#1 of 4 in Philo
126 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
21.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Valley Inn

Property: Anderson Valley Inn
Address: 8480 Highway 128, Philo, CA 95466-0147
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Philo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Philo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi is now available for guests of the Anderson Valley Inn free of charge. Libby's Mexican Restaurant is within walking distance of the Inn. We welcome well behaved dogs. Children are welcome. Two of our rooms have two bedrooms and kitchenettes. Continental breakfast is served on weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anderson Valley Hotel Philo
Anderson Valley Inn Philo, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing