We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the Anderson Valley Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anderson Valley Inn

Anderson Valley Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anderson Valley Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Philo B&B and Inns
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved the Anderson Valley Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

My wife and I spent a few nights in April 2009 at the Anderson Valley Inn, and we enjoyed our stay very much. Not high-end accommodations, but the rooms were comfortable, clean, very nicely decorated, and a great value. They're located in the middle of the Anderson Valley with great access to many wineries. The hosts were very helpful with advice on wineries, restaurants and interesting things to do (like amazing redwoods) in the area. One example of caring service: we bought a bottle of local wine at the market down the street, but had no way to open it. We asked the host about a corkscrew, and he brought us not just a corkscrew, but also an ice bucket, napkin, and a pair of wine glasses. It was very relaxing sitting outside sipping wine looking out at the small but but lovely flower garden. We would gladly stay there again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rowjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

Although this place is pretty no-frills, it is a nice, clean, quiet, low-key place to stay up in the Anderson Valley. It's a perfect spot for exploring the vineyards in the Philo area. The hotel guy on staff when we were there was very nice in giving us a map and ideas for exploring. The hotel also has a cool garden with hummingbird feeders and cool plants, and really good strong coffee in the morning. I can't say anything bad about it!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTrav2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

Fantastic! I came with someone else who is a big fan of the Anderson Valley Inn and went along with his suggestion that we stay there. I was worried it would be too basic, but I really liked it and am already thinking of when I can come back.

So what's to like? They're across the street from Scharffenberg winery and diagonal from Libby's, the best Mexican restaurant in the valley. They're only a 10 minute drive from Boonville or any of the wineries north of Philo, like Navarro.

More importantly, the owners, Bob and Lydia, are incredibly friendly and will talk as much or as little as you want. They were always eager to supply tips and suggestions whenever we asked. Yes, they only have breakfast on the weekends, but that worked out for us. The breakfasts really are nice, with fresh apple juice and jam from a local orchard, bread from a local bakery, cinnammon twists, etc.

The inn is set up like a motor court, but the owners have refurbished everything, so you get new floral sheets, carpets, wood crossbeam ceilings, lamps, painted walls,etc. I was afraid it would feel like a Motel 6, but was pleasantly surprised. It really was fun, and though it wasn't as cheap as I would have liked, it was the cheapest in the area and well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DieHardTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmond oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2007

I traveled from Oklahoma to visit my son & his wife @ Navarrow Winery in Anderson Valley. The Anderson Valley Inn is certainly the least expensive of any establishment I could locate. It is also close to Navarro Winery, as well as all 50 plus winerys in the valley. The Inn is quaint and has been added on to over the years. My room was clean and very quiet. The inn keeper pleasant. There was no coffee available in the mornings, but the inn keeper did offer to make a pot of coffee around 8:30 if I wanted. My only complaint is that the room was not serviced everyday. It was disconcerting to come back to my room after a long day and have an unmade bed made and no fresh towels. (it appears they service everyother day) Anderson Valley is remote, most people come here to get away, so I should not have been surprised that there was not a television in the room, and only a few radio stations. But frankly after going all day, I was ready for bed anyway.

C. Wheeler
Edmond, OK

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank wheeler5160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2006

My husband and I just stayed at the Anderson Valley Inn. It was a lovely experience. The room was spotless, the sheets crisp, the blanket and feather comforter so welcome in the morning. Bob, the Innkeeper, is a gracious host and full of local lore about the surrounding area.Located across the street from Sharffenberger Vineyards and just up the way from Goldeneye Vineyards, it has a rustic charm and quiet beauty, which fits in with the rolling vineyards of the Anderson Valley. It is five miles south to Boonville, where most of the eateries are located, but it is a pleasant drive. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Liked — country setting
  • Disliked — no coffee on weekdays
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meeg1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2006

We called them 2 months ahead of our stay to make reservations. We were quoted a price for the rooms. When we checked in, our room price had gone up $25 each!!! We were told that because there was a beer festival that weekend the rates were higher. Unfortunately, all the other motels were sold out or were would have gone elsewhere.

The rooms were nice, but the stay was clouded because of the problem.

  • Stayed June 2005, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wkb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2005

Anderson Valley Inn is excellent for visiting nearby wineries, but it is a long drive from the scenic town of Mendocino (over 1 hour drive) and it's not really near Boonville either (10 min drive). It thus felt more like a stopover motor inn than a destination B&B. The rooms have been tastefully remodelled in a classic country inn style, with nice thick towels, cute bed linens and cedar chests, with books to read. No tv, telephones, CD/DVD players, coffee makers, or anything of that sort though. The biggest reason why I wouldn't return (other than for a stopover night on a long drive) is because there isn't a common lounge area or dining room. The rooms are a series of end-on-end cabins outside the main house which belongs to the innkeepers (and is private property). So, no cosy fireplaces to read by, no games to play. It does not serve meals so no dining rooms. In the mornings the innkeepers lay out in their yard a basic continental breakfast (organic juices, rustic breads, excellent homemade pastries) but there is nowhere to eat it except in the open air garden, very pleasant but the lack of a real "inn" feel makes this not a destination B&B. I would pay $60 a night for it but not the higher weekend/holiday rates.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJELLISON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philo
13.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
24.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Valley Inn

Property: Anderson Valley Inn
Address: 8480 Highway 128, Philo, CA 95466-0147
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Philo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Philo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi is now available for guests of the Anderson Valley Inn free of charge. Libby's Mexican Restaurant is within walking distance of the Inn. We welcome well behaved dogs. Children are welcome. Two of our rooms have two bedrooms and kitchenettes. Continental breakfast is served on weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anderson Valley Hotel Philo
Anderson Valley Inn Philo, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing