We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinecrest Chalet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinecrest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pinecrest Chalet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pinecrest
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
218 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Pinecrest is a beautiful area and we were satisfied with our accommodations. We didn't have high expectations for our cabin, but everything was acceptable. Our room had a small fridge, tiny televison and a small bathroom and shower. The bed wasn't the most comfortable ever but wasn't terrible. The chalet surprisingly had wifi but coverage was definitely sporadic.

The grounds are simple but relaxing. The very scenic Pinecrest Lake is a 6 minute drive or 10-15 minute walk. There is a general store and other services close to the lake. We thought the value for the chalets was very good.

We recommend the Pinecrest area for a nice getaway and think the chalets are a good option if you prefer indoor accommodations over a tent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Rey, Ca.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The staff worked with us and we were able to stay in a beautiful Chalet. Even though there were kids running around during the day it was not an issue - the kids playing was a comforting sound. It was very quiet at night and we enjoyed the little creek running below our chalet.

Room Tip: Talk to the manager and She will give you the best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drewPlayadelRey_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

My children and I have stayed at Pinecrest Chalet three times, most recently just a week ago, Aug. 1-5. They never seem to let us down. You can't beat the friendliness of the staff: Nicole, Kim, and Gayle. So helpful and cheerful. Yes, the accomodations are rustic, but isn't that the point? The cabins that we stayed in did not have a kitchen (but some do), but did have a coffee maker, small fridge, and microwave. The bathroom is adequate and the beds are fine, not the kind you find at a Hilton, but if you're as busy as we are during the day, you will sleep just fine. We also love the activities that are on the property: Badminton, volleyball, horseshoes, and a nice swimming pool. It's a short hike to Pinecrest Lake, but wear good shoes on the hike for you're off the beaten path.
We are already looking forward to our getaway at Pinecrest Chalet next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 10Sgal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed for two nights in one of the small cabins with what is called a pyramid bed. The minimum we expected was a comfortable bed, but it had a very uncomfortable mattress. The shower was tiny, the toilet didn't flush properly, there was a mercury high intensity light outside our cabin that we could not shield from view. Now run by the UC Alumni Association, but my guess is that they have not changed anything from the previous owners. There are a variety of accommodations, and perhaps the larger ones are better, but we will not be staying in one of these dumps again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisa1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinecrest_Chalet, Manager at Pinecrest Chalet, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
We are delighted to introduce Ken Hutz as the Pinecrest Chalet’s new Director. With new management, a property-wide facelift, and a successful winter family camp program, these are exciting days in Pinecrest! Join us for you next personal vacation, wedding, group retreat, or family reunion to experience the new and improved Pinecrest Chalet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

If you are looking for a cabin near Pinecrest and have kids or don't mind other people's kids close by you might like this place. If you are looking for a secluded romantic getaway with your partner and wish to use the spa bathtub, I advise looking elsewhere. I came here in March 2009 to celebrate an anniversary with my partner and would not come back.
PROS:
1. Charm - Charming cabin, at least once you're inside.
2. Heater - Heater works well and keeps the room warm.
3. Mirror on the bed ;) - At least in the room w/ the spa bathtub

CONS:
1. Lack of seclusion - All of the cabins are so close to each other that there isn't a sense of seclusion, which I was hoping for on our romantic getaway. We had to keep the blinds closed on all windows except one for privacy. Other people staying in other cabins had kids that were yelling outside while running and playing around, which we could hear from inside the cabin - which is fine if you love the sound of children or have your own - but if you don't want the sound of children or want to build a snowman in peace look elsewhere. Perhaps there are times when there aren't many children, but I would doubt it because many of the cabins feature more than one bedroom, which is perfect for families. if there had been more space between cabins it would have been fine.
2. Location - Not close enough to Pinecrest Lake to be considered walking distance. Cabins are right on a busy road. I did not get a "cabin in the forest" feeling at all. They are not charming to look at from the outside at all.
3. Spa bathtub did not work - This was the reason I chose this place and this room. We get there and there was enough hot water to fill the bathtub up maybe four inches. I was looking forward to a relaxing soak with my partner and had to forego it. This was a huge disappointment.
4. Price - Overpriced for what you get.
5. Cleaning policy - We were expected to clean the place upon leaving! They literally leave cleaning supplies, broom, and a vacuum for you to clean! For the price they charge, they should clean the place after you leave! This bothered me the most about this place. Who wants to clean on their vacation?? I am already very conscientious when i leave hotels and never leave a big mess for anyone, but I have never heard of someone expecting you to pay a big price tag and then vacuum and clean counters and dishes before you leave. That final impression of the place was not a good one.
6. Service - Not bad, but definitely not good. The woman who checked us in was very quick and did not make any cheerful small talk. We did not feel welcome upon our arrival. She didn't even show us to our cabin, just gave us directions on how to walk there. There was no inquiry as to what we planned to do, or advice on what to do during our stay. We left our key in their box so we did not get a good-bye either.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed here in October 2009 with two friends and their 1 1/2 year old; so total of 4 adults and 2 little ones (our son was 2 1/2 yrs old). We stayed in the Northwood Cabin, which seems to be the newest one on the property. The cabin had a full kitchen, two bedrooms and a loft outside of the upstairs bedroom that had a queen and four single mattresses on the floor. They said the place sleeps 10. The grounds were rustic but clean and there is a pool (supposed to be heated but not when we went), basketball court, volleyball court (no net or poles) and a wooden play structure and small playhouse, which the kids loved. They also have a outdoor stage and seating area for campfires and camp show.

It was great to have a full kitchen (no dishwasher) to cook meals and a nice place to have the kids take afternoon naps. When we went, there were no very many other guest but I can see the place being very busy in the summer months. It was recently purchased by the California Alumni Association so they might change the place a bit later.

It was a nice getaway and we may rent again in the warmer months.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Lorenzo, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

We had stayed here before in 02/07, in the honeymoon suite (which was really great) so we called a little over a week before we wanted to have a ski weekend at dodge ridge. All of their full kitchen cabins were sold out, but Karen the co-owner, emailed me right back letting me know that they also rent out a few RV's. She was not able to provide me any pictures of it which worried me, but for $96 a night and their pet friendly policy, we said what the heck, lets make it an adventure. $20 extra flat fee for pets.

The RV was awesome! We stayed in the RV right near the proprty as you drive in, which concerned me that we'd be able to hear the traffic speeding by, but that wasn't a problem at all. Totally nature surroundings, beautiful in winter.

It had everything she said it would from the master bedroom with queen size firm comfy bed, full kitchen (fridge took a while to get really cold but we had a cooler as back up), breakfast nook, really hot water, cable tv (2 one in sitting area and one in BR - no remotes though). Toilet you have to 'pump' to flush but its easy and always worked. shower is realy small but nice and hot. It was cozy but plenty of space for the 2 of us and our pug, i could see this RV comfortably sleeping 3-4 adults or a couple and a few kids. Heater works great, its so cozy to come back to after a day of skiing. It also has a built in stereo with tape deck that were were able to hook up our ipod through and jam our songs out in stereo thru the whole RV. You just need a radio converter for ipod to do this.

Management is very nice and easy to deal with. Fun place to sled on property.

Drive to dodge ridge is so short, you can't beat the location of this place to stay.

Improvements? the rountable in the sitting area is REALLY wobbly so it'd be nice if that could be fixed. but luckily the table in the kitchen is sturdy and sits 4. So next time if they are sold out ask about this RV!

  • Liked — location to dodge ridge ski resort, clean and cozy RV, price is reasonable
  • Disliked — wobbly table that we were warned about, having to leave the cozy RV.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sunchsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinecrest
18.8 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
23.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
22.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Strawberry Inn
Strawberry Inn
#1 of 1 in Strawberry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
16.4 mi away
Wildwood Inn
Wildwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Twain Harte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinecrest Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinecrest Chalet

Property: Pinecrest Chalet
Address: 500 Dodge Ridge Rd, Pinecrest, CA 95364
Region: United States > California > Pinecrest
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pinecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinecrest Chalet offers a variety of units that can accommodate families and groups of different sizes. From our single room cottages that sleep two to four people, to our more spacious cabins and townhouses with two to four bedrooms, kitchens and living room areas, your mountain getaway can be modest or more deluxe. All units have wi-fi access, coffee service, and seasonal access to the swimming pool, sports courts and amphitheater. It's 1 mile to Pinecrest Lake, the closest lodging to Dodge Ridge Ski Resort, and is a gateway to high Sierra fun. We are delighted to introduce Ken Hutz as the Chalet's new Director. These are exciting days in Pinecrest and we look forward to having you join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pinecrest Chalet Hotel Pinecrest
Pinecrest Chalet California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing