We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest location to Dodge Ridge - RV rocks!”
Review of Pinecrest Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinecrest Chalet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pinecrest
Reviewed 9 March 2008

We had stayed here before in 02/07, in the honeymoon suite (which was really great) so we called a little over a week before we wanted to have a ski weekend at dodge ridge. All of their full kitchen cabins were sold out, but Karen the co-owner, emailed me right back letting me know that they also rent out a few RV's. She was not able to provide me any pictures of it which worried me, but for $96 a night and their pet friendly policy, we said what the heck, lets make it an adventure. $20 extra flat fee for pets.

The RV was awesome! We stayed in the RV right near the proprty as you drive in, which concerned me that we'd be able to hear the traffic speeding by, but that wasn't a problem at all. Totally nature surroundings, beautiful in winter.

It had everything she said it would from the master bedroom with queen size firm comfy bed, full kitchen (fridge took a while to get really cold but we had a cooler as back up), breakfast nook, really hot water, cable tv (2 one in sitting area and one in BR - no remotes though). Toilet you have to 'pump' to flush but its easy and always worked. shower is realy small but nice and hot. It was cozy but plenty of space for the 2 of us and our pug, i could see this RV comfortably sleeping 3-4 adults or a couple and a few kids. Heater works great, its so cozy to come back to after a day of skiing. It also has a built in stereo with tape deck that were were able to hook up our ipod through and jam our songs out in stereo thru the whole RV. You just need a radio converter for ipod to do this.

Management is very nice and easy to deal with. Fun place to sled on property.

Drive to dodge ridge is so short, you can't beat the location of this place to stay.

Improvements? the rountable in the sitting area is REALLY wobbly so it'd be nice if that could be fixed. but luckily the table in the kitchen is sturdy and sits 4. So next time if they are sold out ask about this RV!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sunchsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2007

The feedback we're getting from all of our family says that Pinecrest
Chalet was a hit with all that attended our June 50th wedding anniversary celebration. We had 30 family and friends there from CA, FL, OH and KS in Units B, C, D & H: two infants, three toddlers, four
pre-teen, and the rest adults. The 'kids', and parents, loved the play yard and the pool. The accommodations were first rate. Four kitchens, five bathrooms, the barbecues, the amphitheater and the 2nd
level outdoor deck were perfect for our needs. Everybody that needed a separate bedroom had one. The management was friendly and helpful with our frequent towel exchanges, frequent toilet paper requests and
our 'necessary' sheet and pillow exchange. Our guests were enthralled
with the local sights. Everyone went to Yosemite, some twice. They went to the Big Trees State Park, hiked around Pinecrest lake, went to Donnell's overview and the Sonora Summit Trail Head, Columbia State Park and to Ironstone for wine tasting. We hope that Pinecrest Chalet will not change for a long time to come. We'll be back for our 75th!

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank fixitmanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2007

We were pleasently suprised after reading the other review of this resort. We stayed in the "Cedar" 2-bedroom townhouse. It was beautifully furnished, clean, well stocked with everything we needed, kitchen, bedrooms and bath. We loved it and can't wait to go back, we're already panning another trip there.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pekatricka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

We stayed in Unit H at the Pinecrest Chalet from June 30-July 3. This unit is a studio unit and upon entering you walk into the bedroom with a queen bed and a bunkbed. The upper bunkbed had no railing to keep children from falling out of it so as a result, we ended up taking the mattress off at night and putting it on the floor. The carpet was very dirty and I wore my flip flops while inside the unit. The bathroom was small but adequate and is off the kitchen.

The kitchen area was not too bad with a cute table with 4 chairs and a hutch. Kitchen utensils were sparse and the toaster did not work. Upon arrival we unloaded our food into an apartment sized refrigerator. As soon as I opened it I could tell that it was not very cold inside; I figured perhaps it was that way because it was empty. I checked the temp setting and it was already on the highest setting. I put in our food and hoped that by the next morning it would get colder.

The next morning when I got up to make breakfast, to my dismay I opened the refrigerator and it was not any colder than it was the previous day. I sent my husband to tell the manager and he was told that when the refrigerator goes from empty to full, it takes some time to get cold???? They did not offer to check it out at all. He went and bought a block of ice and we proceeded to empty out the fridge and put our food back into our cooler. Mind you I had chicken breasts, hamburgers, macaroni salad, lunch meat etc.

I put some food in the freezer since it was colder than the refrigerator but not cold enough to freeze any of the food. We had a bag of ice in there from our drive up and it was starting to melt by the next day.

Long story short is that upon checking out, I told the manager that I thought we were due some sort of credit since the refrigerator did not work properly and that is part of what we paid for. I told him we had to buy a block of ice and put our food back in our cooler to keep it cold. The manager offered me $5 for the block of ice and was very rude to me.

He asked me "What am I supposed to do? Drive down to the store and get a part? I don't know how to repair the refrigerators."
When I told him ours didn't work he argued with me and said "yes they do" and he said that he recently had purchased 5 new refrigerators. I proceeded to tell him that he should go check the fridge out in our unit and he would see that it in fact did not work properly. He continued to be rude to me and argue about it. I refused to take the $5 and told him he was falsley advertising Unit H on the website.

Their customer service was extremely poor. I was not expecting a luxurious room but did expect to get what we paid for. At $139 a night, a working refrigerator is not asking for the moon, especially when it is advertised as part of the package. And yes, I do expect him to go to the store and get whatever was needed to fix the darn thing or else have a backup ready for circumstances such as ours.

Needless to say, we will not be going back to the Pinecrest Chalets.

Stayed: July 2006
13  Thank Lmccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinecrest
22.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
24 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
19.2 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Long Barn Lodge
Long Barn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Long Barn
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Strawberry Inn
Strawberry Inn
#1 of 1 in Strawberry
114 reviews
18.1 mi away
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
#1 of 2 in Bear Valley
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinecrest Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinecrest Chalet

Address: 500 Dodge Ridge Rd, Pinecrest, CA 95364
Region: United States > California > Pinecrest
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pinecrest
Price Range: £77 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinecrest Chalet offers a variety of units that can accommodate families and groups of different sizes. From our single room cottages that sleep two to four people, to our more spacious cabins and townhouses with two to four bedrooms, kitchens and living room areas, your mountain getaway can be modest or more deluxe. All units have wi-fi access, coffee service, and seasonal access to the swimming pool, sports courts and amphitheater. It's 1 mile to Pinecrest Lake, the closest lodging to Dodge Ridge Ski Resort, and is a gateway to high Sierra fun. We are delighted to introduce Ken Hutz as the Chalet's new Director. These are exciting days in Pinecrest and we look forward to having you join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pinecrest Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinecrest Chalet Hotel Pinecrest
Pinecrest Chalet California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing